Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the Classical Musicals. A super Collection., 9 Dec 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Wonderful collection of classic films with legendary performers. Available in great sound and stunning technicolour:
ANNIE GET YOUR GUN: Ethel Merman blasted out the stage version. Judy Garland was signed for the film but deemed unsuitable with her problems. Hence, Betty Hutton played the leading role, exceptionally well. George Sidney replaced Busby Berkley as director. MGM's biggest earner of 1950. Based loosely on 'No, No Nanette', Sidney obtains the best from a marvellous score. Simple plot of a love-affair between two hot shots attracted to two different Wild West Shows. Starring Howard Keel, Louis Calhern (Buffalo Bill) and J. Carrol Naish as Sitting Bull. The numbers include , 'Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better', 'Tea For Two', 'I Want to Be Happy', 'There's No Business Like Show Business', 'I Only Have Eyes For You'. How could it fail? Absolutely brilliant.

EASTER PARADE: Producer Arthur Freed replaced Gene Kelly with Fred Astaire after Kelly's ankle strain. This produced the year's best musical. Astaire (Don Hewes) is ditched by his partner (Ann Miller) when Ziegfeld lured her. Astaire retorts by claiming he can make a star out of anyone. He picks out chorus girl, Judy Garland. Despite initial friction, love blossoms. 'Easter Parade' strolling up 5th Avenue, 'Stepping Out With My Baby', 'A Couple of Swells' are amongst 17 Berlin numbers. Scripted by Sidney Shelton. Another perrennial delight.

CALAMITY JANE: Another MGM dynamo. Doris Day almost is saying to Betty Hutton, 'Anything You Can Do I Can Do Better'. In glorious technicolour, Doris is energetic to the point of frenetic. 'Secret Love' (Sammy Fain and Paul Webster) turned out to be Doris's greatest hit and best song Oscar. Howard Keel is magnificent. Other magical numbers include 'The Deadwood Stage'and 'Just Blew In From The Windy City'. Forget the plot this is joyous.

HIGH SOCIETY: MGM re-make of 'The Philadelphia Story'. Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Grace Kelly star in a to-and-fro love story between new to be husband and the ex. The performers dazzle under Charles Wright's direction. Louis Armstrong appears ('High Society Calypso' and 'I Love You Samantha'). Other notable numbers are 'I Love You Samantha', 'Well, Did You Evah', 'Another swell party'. Never dates nor who gets the girl in the end.

MEET ME IN ST LOUIS: A perfect St Louis family, 1902-3 (The Smiths). Vintage MGM. The musical numbers are outstanding. Starring Judy Garland, Margaret O'Brien, Mary Astor with Vincene Minnelli's direction outstanding. The basic theme is the changes in the household corresponding to the seasonal variations. Numbers include, 'Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas', 'Meet me in St Louis', 'Skip To My Lou', 'Over The Bannister'. The end is a little disappointing but does not detract from the film.

Five, five star films. Everlasting. Wonderfully filmed and recorded with top casts and numbers. Right at the top of the tree (Christmas or otherwise). Not much to place above them. Recommendation is obvious particularly at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 31 Jan 2012
By 
J. Bird - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a great collection of some classic musicals.

This collection comprises of:

Annie Get Your Gun, a sharpshooting, romantic romp starring Betty Hutton and Howard Keel. It boasts an Irving Berlin score featuring such classics as Anything You Can Do, I Got The Sun In The Morning and There's No Business Like Show Business.

Easter Parade, a colourful extravaganza of song and dance. The score includes Shakin' The Blues Away and The Fella With The Umbrella.

Calamity Jane, a rootin', tootin' humdinger with knock out performances from Doris Day and Howard Keel. Featuring plenty of high-stepping dances and the classic ballad, Secret Love.

High Society, a romantic whirlwind, as Grace Kelly plays alongside Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby. Featuring an excellent score, including songs performed by Louis Armstrong and his band.

Meet Me In St. Louis, a fun, fabulous feel-good film, with some brilliant skirt-swishing dances and a wonderful performance from Judy Garland. Including the classic tune, Meet Me At The Fair. This also features one of my favourite film quotes "Will you walk me to the next room, I'm frightened of mice."

All in all, a great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like musicals ..., 17 Feb 2013
By 
sleepyjac (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
just an amazing box set. It makes the perfect present for a friend, & an even better gift for yourself. Curl up on a sofa with a box of chocolates & either a glass of wine - or in my case a mug of hot chocolate with small marsh mellows, Mmmm - anyway just a divine way of spending winter afternoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Inclusive, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I had high hopes for this collection, and they were justified. Fantastic price for such a parade of memorable movies, perfect for a night in or to set the ball rolling on a huge blowout. Nothing like a musical number to get the pulse racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique collection, all amazing musicals, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I bought this for myself because it's a rare gathering of amazing musicals - and none I previously owned on DVD (and finding a complete collection without one musical I already had is very hard to find). The quality, sadly, is no better really than when I've seen them on TV or on the days of VHS, but still there wasn't really a need to go colour-crazy.

I bought this selection mainly for Easter Parade and High Society: two of my top 10 musicals. The only one I would have liked to have interchanged would have been Annie Get Your Gun (hereafter abbreviated to "AGYG"), but that is a personal preference; I prefer movies where the voices have less slovenly accents. I think I would have preferred Show Boat to have featured in this boxset; a musical I've not see group with any others on DVDs yet :( and a better showing of Howard Keel's talent than ANGYG. ANGYG should be with Rose Marie and other less-known musicals; I don't think it's on par with Easter Parade by any means.

As I said, the above statement is a personal preference. If you love all the others, it's definitely worth buying this set. I still watch AGYG but less often than the others.

Grace Kelly's final work before her marriage was High Society and one of her most beautiful roles. Any Kelly fan must have this movie in their collection.

Set includes:
Meet Me in St Louis (Judy Garland), High Society (Fred Astaire, Bing Crosby & Grace Kelly) Calamity Jane (Doris Day & Howard Keel), Annie Get Your Gun (Betty Hutton & Howard Keel, and Easter Parade (Fred Astaire & Judy Garland).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as advertised, 23 Jun 2014
By 
M. Beisheim "M.Buch" (Elk horn Iowa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I bought his for my mother who loved it. It had all her favorites and one she had never seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a great compilation of some great musicals and I'm looking forward to working my way through them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011], 9 April 2014
By 
L. Mcveigh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Amazing buy if you are a fan of musicals, i have played them over and over again, and enjoy them so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I loved watching these films again it is well worth the money. They arrived on time and in perfect condition and I would highly recommend buying the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Value, 2 Mar 2014
By 
S. Cook "stevetygertiger" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Value for money nice collection a good introduction to musicals for those just getting interested and a good mix for those already hooked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011]
Musicals: The Collection [DVD] [2011] by Judy Garland (DVD - 2011)
17.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews