Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing motherboard! 32gb RAM - Not 16gb
brilliant motherboard, wont find a better one anywhere for this price. one thing I will say is that this supports a maximum of 32gb RAM - not 16gb as stated here. there are 4 RAM slots each capable of 8gb RAM modules.
Published 20 months ago by L. Bradbury

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good mother board
i had a problem with this, the first one i got the pci express port was broken so i sent it back which cost me money that i did not get my money back from £10 because i contradicted myself in the message saying all parts are working except pci express port, so they said it was working when it wasnt, anyway they kept my ten quid sent me another one and its been working...
Published 18 months ago by Ryan watson


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing motherboard! 32gb RAM - Not 16gb, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
L. Bradbury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
brilliant motherboard, wont find a better one anywhere for this price. one thing I will say is that this supports a maximum of 32gb RAM - not 16gb as stated here. there are 4 RAM slots each capable of 8gb RAM modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great motherboard, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Nothing bad to say about this motherboard, does everything it says.
Good points are:
-It has an AM3+ socket for the CPU which will work with any of the bulldozer processors (e.g. amd fx6200 and fx8350).
-It has 4 slots for RAM, which means you can have up to 16gb of ram, although i've got 8gb and never used all of that.
-It has USB 3.0 at the back of the motherboard, meaning faster data transfer on usb 3.0 enabled devices.
-It comes with a disk with software which can monitor your cpu and motherboard temperatures, which is useful if you want to do benchmarks etc.
-under £50 and has all the above features, which is brilliant!

Bad points are:
-Nothing at the price it is. There are better motherboards out there which have enough slots for 2 or 3 graphics cards and stuff but those cost £150, which is way above my price range and many other people's!

This is a great motherboard which has everything a computer needs to have, don't hesitate on buying this if your CPU had an AM3+ socket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value & Performance, 4 May 2013
By 
Mojo "Gazza" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
This mobo was central to my budget home built music PC as for the price, it is a good performer with good specs. Asus have a good reputation for motherboards and this one is no exception. I was also pleasantly surprised that the RAM limit was not 8GB as I was led to believe but 32GB, which is brilliant. Although i5 and i7 CPU's are recommended for music recording, they tend to be more expensive and for the sort of music I intend to do are not strictly necessary, and the AMD Phenom II 4core black CPU I installed was about £100 cheaper than the Intel alternative. The extra cash saved was used to buy a SSD which has improved loading speeds considerably. With 10 x USB 2.0 ports and 2 x USB 3.0 ports this board can deal with all my peripherals without having to buy an additional USB expander. The USB 3.0 ports should deal with any future expansions. The six SATA ports are also good, although once an SSD, DVD drive and a couple of HDD's are installed it only leaves 2 ports free for future use. My only criticism is that the SATA ports are 3GBs instead of the faster 6GBs, but this is a mid-range board and the difference in speed would be hard to notice. The 4 expansion ports are okay and the on board sound and graphics are good and, as a music PC doesn't require state of the art graphics or sound (we use an external audio interface) upgrades are not necessary, unless you want to play top rate games. All in all a great motherboard for the money which has enabled me to build a well specified music PC for under £500.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Limited USB 3.0 support, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
If you have a case with USB 3.0 ports, be prepared for a surprise. The motherboard has only two 3.0 ports located on the back panel. There is no way to connect front or top panel 3.0 ports to this motherboard. The only solution is to downgrade them to 2.0 through a converter. While you still have 3.0 on the back of Tower, they are hard to access and used mostly for things that don't require high speeds (like mouse or keyboard). Other than that is a good value for money, but only 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money!, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Great value for money. I bought this for my first PC build after looking at the reviews and it has been very good so far.

I would say that it was a bummer that it doesn't have any external usb 3.0 ports for me to plug my front usb 3.0 into (it does come with usb 3.0 which are on the back of the motherboard so will be at the back of the PC).

That is the only downside to this motherboard that I can see, but for the price I won't complain.

If I were to build another gaming PC I would like to try something else (depending on price) but would recommend this motherboard to people looking to keep their build cost down.

I thought I would upload some pictures of my completed build so you can see what it looks like. My specs are:

Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard
2 of Corsair Air Series AF120-LED 120mm Quiet Edition High Airflow LED Fan - Red
G-Skill 8GB Ripjaws X DDR3 2133 Dual Kit - Red
WD 1TB 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive - Caviar Blue
SAPPHIRE AMD R9 280 Graphics Card (3GB, DDR5)
AMD FX8320 8 Core Black Addition.
Samsung 24x Retail SATA DVD Writer
OS - Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Generally a good board at a reasonable price. The only thing it could have done with is a bit more room for another PCI slot as a big graphics card will take up one of the slots and also would have been nice to have included a couple of 6 Sata ports. I have found this coupled up with a phenom II x6 1090T core processor an excellent piece of kit. The board does not allow you to tweak the fan speeds from the desktop and this has to be setup from the BIOS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Board, 3 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Got this paired with 8GB Corsiar Vengenance ram a Athlon 2 X4 630 processor and a XFX radeon HD6770. This board is excellent Speeds through USB 3 are good also USB 2 ports seem very quick as well. All in All good board also love the fact you can set a picture for when computer comes on and looks fine even on a high res 24 inch and 23 screens
Also computer seems a lot quicker compared to my old gigabyte board. BUY THIS BOARD IT IS AMAZING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 29 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
This mobo is superb value for money.
Core unlocking and overclocking and you can charge any usb powered or charged accessory even when not powered up itself.
Only deficiency is....... deficiencies.
Its got everything and happy are those who have bought this honest product.
AMD have the budget end tied up.
Great Processors at low costs and you dont need to keep changing the mobo every 2 years like Intel.
TRULY AMD ARE A FRIEND TO THE SELF BUILDER OF PCs.
May their star rise higher as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asus M5A78L-M/USB3, 7 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
I bought Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 the to run the AMD FX-6100, from what I have read people where talking about compatibility issues between the two. I will confirm now that there has been no problems with the set up, I have just used the disk provided by Asus and all is running well. So I will take it that the disks provided with the motherboard are up to date for running of the new FX series of CPUS.
The motherboard its self does every thing it says on the tin, which is grate for such a low price motherboard.
Great product, great price.
Would recommend this product to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for home servers, cheapest way to ECC RAM, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 32GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Good little board, ideal for an all-in-one home server.

I run Server 2012R2 on mine, along with HyperV. I have no problems with speed, and thanks to the 4 DIMM slots it can take 32GB RAM. It's also working perfectly with ECC RAM, the ECC function fully working. This is the great feature of AM3+ boards, they're less than a third the price of an Intel C2xx board which you need for ECC on Intel chips.

The BIOS is a bit antiquated, nowhere near as good as the modern UEFI BIOS screens on more recent boards, but everything is there including Easy Flash (just put the BIOS update file on a USB stick and flash the BIOS easily from the BIOS screen).
The Realtek 8111D NIC is just OK too, it works fine but it's no Intel. It's not even the most modern Realtek chip.

Finally, the top PCI-E 1x slot is very close to the chipset heat sink. They've cut a slot out of the sink for the card, but you need to be very careful with cards that have components on the back, as they could short against the heat sink, or get knocked off while inserting the card. My Intel Pro/1000 PT card has some inductor coils on the back which rest against the heat sink. I used a little electrical tape to insulate the two. It's not a massive problem, just something to be aware of.

For the money, it's a great board. I like it more than the Gigabyte 78LMT/USB3, which is a similar sort of board, but has one less SATA port and the addition of a useless PATA port. The Gigabyte does have a front USB3 connector, too, but it's USB3 is run off a terrible JMicron controller. The Asus uses an AsMedia which seems to work very well in my limited testing.

Spec of my machine:

M5A78L-M/USB board,
FX8320E 95W 8-core 3.2GHz
Artic Alpine 64 Pro heat sink (AMD's retail cooler is terrible)
2x8GB Kingston DDR3L-1600 ECC RAM
2x180GB Intel Pro SSD 1500 (OS and VM stores)
4x5TB WD Red (media storage)
Supermicro 731D case
Corsair CS450M PSU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews