Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great motherboard
Nothing bad to say about this motherboard, does everything it says.
Good points are:
-It has an AM3+ socket for the CPU which will work with any of the bulldozer processors (e.g. amd fx6200 and fx8350).
-It has 4 slots for RAM, which means you can have up to 16gb of ram, although i've got 8gb and never used all of that.
-It has USB 3.0 at the back of...
Published 22 months ago by George

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good mother board
i had a problem with this, the first one i got the pci express port was broken so i sent it back which cost me money that i did not get my money back from £10 because i contradicted myself in the message saying all parts are working except pci express port, so they said it was working when it wasnt, anyway they kept my ten quid sent me another one and its been working...
Published 14 months ago by Ryan watson


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great motherboard, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Nothing bad to say about this motherboard, does everything it says.
Good points are:
-It has an AM3+ socket for the CPU which will work with any of the bulldozer processors (e.g. amd fx6200 and fx8350).
-It has 4 slots for RAM, which means you can have up to 16gb of ram, although i've got 8gb and never used all of that.
-It has USB 3.0 at the back of the motherboard, meaning faster data transfer on usb 3.0 enabled devices.
-It comes with a disk with software which can monitor your cpu and motherboard temperatures, which is useful if you want to do benchmarks etc.
-under £50 and has all the above features, which is brilliant!

Bad points are:
-Nothing at the price it is. There are better motherboards out there which have enough slots for 2 or 3 graphics cards and stuff but those cost £150, which is way above my price range and many other people's!

This is a great motherboard which has everything a computer needs to have, don't hesitate on buying this if your CPU had an AM3+ socket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing motherboard! 32gb RAM - Not 16gb, 6 Aug 2013
By 
L. Bradbury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
brilliant motherboard, wont find a better one anywhere for this price. one thing I will say is that this supports a maximum of 32gb RAM - not 16gb as stated here. there are 4 RAM slots each capable of 8gb RAM modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value & Performance, 4 May 2013
By 
Mojo "Gazza" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
This mobo was central to my budget home built music PC as for the price, it is a good performer with good specs. Asus have a good reputation for motherboards and this one is no exception. I was also pleasantly surprised that the RAM limit was not 8GB as I was led to believe but 32GB, which is brilliant. Although i5 and i7 CPU's are recommended for music recording, they tend to be more expensive and for the sort of music I intend to do are not strictly necessary, and the AMD Phenom II 4core black CPU I installed was about £100 cheaper than the Intel alternative. The extra cash saved was used to buy a SSD which has improved loading speeds considerably. With 10 x USB 2.0 ports and 2 x USB 3.0 ports this board can deal with all my peripherals without having to buy an additional USB expander. The USB 3.0 ports should deal with any future expansions. The six SATA ports are also good, although once an SSD, DVD drive and a couple of HDD's are installed it only leaves 2 ports free for future use. My only criticism is that the SATA ports are 3GBs instead of the faster 6GBs, but this is a mid-range board and the difference in speed would be hard to notice. The 4 expansion ports are okay and the on board sound and graphics are good and, as a music PC doesn't require state of the art graphics or sound (we use an external audio interface) upgrades are not necessary, unless you want to play top rate games. All in all a great motherboard for the money which has enabled me to build a well specified music PC for under £500.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing motherboard!, 1 Dec 2013
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
The motherboard is amazing, the usb 3.0 ports work properly if you install all the drivers from the CD or download them from ASUS website. You can put up to a maximum of 32GB OF RAM not 16 as stated on this site. Its even got a piece of software to monitor your CPU and motherboard temperatures as well as the voltages too!

Pro's,

DDR3 RAM
PCIE
USB 3.0 x2
Easy to use BIOS
MicroATX form
Works with the latest AMD FX processors

Con's
Not got a USB 3.0 Internal connector
found nothing else wrong with it apart from the above :)

If you are looking for a budget motherboard and you want the best one for the price. Get this one, you will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 29 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
This mobo is superb value for money.
Core unlocking and overclocking and you can charge any usb powered or charged accessory even when not powered up itself.
Only deficiency is....... deficiencies.
Its got everything and happy are those who have bought this honest product.
AMD have the budget end tied up.
Great Processors at low costs and you dont need to keep changing the mobo every 2 years like Intel.
TRULY AMD ARE A FRIEND TO THE SELF BUILDER OF PCs.
May their star rise higher as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Generally a good board at a reasonable price. The only thing it could have done with is a bit more room for another PCI slot as a big graphics card will take up one of the slots and also would have been nice to have included a couple of 6 Sata ports. I have found this coupled up with a phenom II x6 1090T core processor an excellent piece of kit. The board does not allow you to tweak the fan speeds from the desktop and this has to be setup from the BIOS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Board, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Got this paired with 8GB Corsiar Vengenance ram a Athlon 2 X4 630 processor and a XFX radeon HD6770. This board is excellent Speeds through USB 3 are good also USB 2 ports seem very quick as well. All in All good board also love the fact you can set a picture for when computer comes on and looks fine even on a high res 24 inch and 23 screens
Also computer seems a lot quicker compared to my old gigabyte board. BUY THIS BOARD IT IS AMAZING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
sound sound sound motherboard, it's sound as owt sounder than sound can ever be like get this mobo m8 sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money., 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
Arrived a day early which is always a plus. ( delivered by a godddes - even better plus. :) )
Bought this as a replacement motherboard, did not come with mounting screws to attach to case but luckily i kept the old ones.
Otherwise it would be 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Limited USB 3.0 support, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX) (Accessory)
If you have a case with USB 3.0 ports, be prepared for a surprise. The motherboard has only two 3.0 ports located on the back panel. There is no way to connect front or top panel 3.0 ports to this motherboard. The only solution is to downgrade them to 2.0 through a converter. While you still have 3.0 on the back of Tower, they are hard to access and used mostly for things that don't require high speeds (like mouse or keyboard). Other than that is a good value for money, but only 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews