Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
If you loved bioshock 1&2 you'll love this, it feels very bioshocky though in a completely different bright experience compared to the dark world of rapture.

Buy it you'll love it :)
Published 4 months ago by Lemon

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising story let down by mediocre shooter game
This is an old-school first person shooter first, and story-driven game second. By "old-school", I mean the likes of 1993's "Doom". You will spend most of the game running and shooting goons which follow very simplistic tactics (mostly they will run straight at you, shooting). You can only respond with the same simplistic tactics, which quickly becomes tedious. And, no,...
Published 10 months ago by Olaf Barthel


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
If you loved bioshock 1&2 you'll love this, it feels very bioshocky though in a completely different bright experience compared to the dark world of rapture.

Buy it you'll love it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising story let down by mediocre shooter game, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Olaf Barthel "Harmlos" (Lehrte) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
This is an old-school first person shooter first, and story-driven game second. By "old-school", I mean the likes of 1993's "Doom". You will spend most of the game running and shooting goons which follow very simplistic tactics (mostly they will run straight at you, shooting). You can only respond with the same simplistic tactics, which quickly becomes tedious. And, no, you cannot avoid combat. The game will not let you move on until you have cleaned your plate, so to speak, even if the goons have not yet spotted you (which means that you have to draw their attention and then kill every last of them).

The problem is that the game is built on top of this simplistic first person shooter. Yes, there is a promising story underlying the game, too, but in order to control the pace of the storytelling, the game keeps throwing combat at you.

I am surprised how well-reviewed this title is. Yes, it is one of the most beautifully-rendered and art-directed games in years, and the interaction between your player character and the game's central A.I.-controlled character Elizabeth is both innovative and effective. But there is a striking imbalance in the game design itself. The shooting game mechanics are both too simple and too uninteresting to be given the weight they have been accorded. The game world itself, the story, and how the story is told, are much more sophisticated than the game's combat. They are worlds apart.

I daresay you can find much better first person shooter games today, but probably no game with a story as well-written as in "Bioshock infinite".

It's sad to see how the resulting game turned out to be so much less than the sum of its parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would have made for a great movie, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
I was initially very impressed by the game and the amazing attention to detail, but it just didn't live up to its hype. The plot and characters of Booker and Elizabeth were great but the game mechanics and choices offered by the game felt very linear and truly limited. This game could have been so much more but instead you feel almost trapped and forced into a single way of playing the game. Exploration of the city does not feel like it is encouraged, except for the collection of a few coins to buy almost useless upgrades for weapons. This combined with the limited interaction you have with the inhabitants of the game makes you feel as though you are just ploughing through a few levels of COD instead of getting in touch with the story and becoming involved in the world. Much of the time you feel as though you should have been offered the choice to have influence over certain things but are left with static environments and object. The city becomes merely a pretty backdrop for a half-arsed shoot em up and shatters the illusion of a story and involvement in it by you as a character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing? Or a Shackled God?, 1 May 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
A very tricky one to review, this.

Let me say right from the off that this IS a good game, and I do recommend it. It certainly makes you want to keep on playing. If you've never played a Bioshock game before, go out and give this is a try. It'll be different and well-worth playing.

However, if you're already familiar with Bioshock, this is where it gets a bit tricky...

(A quick disclaimer though: I haven't finished this game yet. I'm about two thirds through, so this is subject to an update. Also the following isn't a rant; it's just trying to illustrate a point...)

Bioshock Infinite is the gloriously sculpted, shiny chassis of a Ferrari Enzo bolted onto the misfiring engine of a mid-90s Fiat that's stuck in second gear. It is not anywhere near as good as it thinks it is - or at least, wanted to be.

OK, it has a beautiful new setting in Columbia. Yes, it has a not-annoying AI partner in Elizabeth and yes, it has a couple of nice new touches in the Skyrail system and the `tears' idea. As I say, it IS a good game. But if you look underneath the bonnet...

The Unreal Engine in BI is very dated. It cannot handle the scope of the game and you can see visually and mechanically that the Skyrail system is nowhere near as complex and intertwining as it was intended to be (they are essentially glorified staircases). The character designs (and textures) are not sufficient enough to convey the emotional axis that is supposed to be the beating heart of the story. It's functional, but not brilliant. For any normal game this would be fine, but for BI (or what Ken Levine envisioned it as), it is not up to scratch.

The gameplay structure is very dated. It worked in Bioshock 1 because of the awe-inducing environments. But here, battling your way through to the destination (door) only to be told you need to spend 1-2 hours re-tracing your steps (across naturally linear platforms - they are floating buildings) to find a `key' to open it (and then repeat) is not fun. If you wanted to be really cynical; it's tedious.

Mechanically, you can no longer hold things in an inventory, which essentially means that you have to investigate and search every `trash' can you come across in a system that is essentially `scrounge-and-pound' rather than `get-lost-in and admire' (a brilliant city).

There are other points too, which I won't go into in detail. But suffice to say the AI, Vigors (Plasmids), upgrades, Voxophones (Audio Diaries), map (there isn't one!) and even the menu systems are all far inferior to the original's versions.

Now, some might say that it has been streamlined into a more focused, combat-orientated shooter that is much more fast-paced, intense and in some places breathtaking. Valid point. Others might say the organic multi-layered choice of exploration-led gameplay has been completely removed in favour of `shoot and move and shoot and move and...' on a floating city. Valid point.

I'm not `taking sides', but for me Bioshock has gone from a perfectly-paced story-led adventure that used FPS as its delivery medium; to a blatantly stripped-bare shooter that has had a story of such weight lumped on top of it that it's actually broken the pillars the series was built on in the first place.

I won't comment on the full story yet as I haven't finished it, but so-far I think it is too brash. It is so apparent and so overtly oppressed onto you right from the start that `all is not what it seems', that you actually are expecting a twist or three, which completely defies the point of having a twist. I hope my opinion on this will change by the end, as many people are championing the story and the ending, so I look forward to that.

There is another valid point too which could be the crux of the whole thing/not important at all depending on your point of view, which I may put in the comments section later, but that is not within the scope of a review.

Now, I'm not trying to dissuade people from the game here. I'm in no way saying it's bad. It does have the `magic' that makes you want to keep playing. But ... I can't help but feel a little disappointed by Infinite. It feels ... hollow.

That said, the variety of enemies is much improved; the `Houdini Splicer' equivalent is a swine to kill and will cause you problems. And the robotised Patriot is a marvel. Praise should go to Irrational for giving us a game with balls - this is not easy and you'll have to think about what you're doing, which is an all-but-lost aspect of modern games.

But, it seems to me that no matter how many good things BI does or tries to do - and there are plenty - it's as if Ken Levine's original vision has just been bottlenecked into whatever the PS3 (or perhaps more specifically, the 360) is capable of outputting.

I know that all and sundry and saying it's the best thing ever and the `official' reviews are falling over each other to kneel at its feet, but any gamer worth their salt(s) can see that this game is compromised.

Ultimately, though, Bioshock Infinite is a good game whichever way you slice it, and please don't let the tone of this review put you off - that is not my intention. As I say, I am enjoying it, and you will enjoy playing it too. Just be prepared to not love it.

7.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bioshock stripped of everything that makes it so., 2 July 2013
By 
O. J. Mcshane (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
Bioshock Infinite is one of the most over rated games I have played mostly by people who have not experinced the rest of the games from the system shock and bioshock sereis.

Bioshock 1 was set up in a way where you couldn't play the same way twice, infact it says so on the back of the box on pc. It had alot of depth with the way you selected plasmids, if you wanted to stealth and had alot of morality choices and presented itself in a way which was almost an action RPG like its predecessor "System Shock". In Bioshock Infinite all choice is taken away, the exploration is very brief and unsatisfying. I always found it enjoyable to explore rapture creeping around feeling vunerable and trying to collect as many things to help me survive. And really if you've never played a Bioshock before you should play the 1st one, honestly I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone it is a brain dead shooter which you can pretty much walk through start to finish. Yes its cinematic, yes the graphics are beautiful but the gameplay is so bland.

There are a serious lack of plasmids, not only that but there is nothing to suggest why they are there or what there purpose was in this society its just super powers for the sake of it, you can only now carry 2 weapons at a time this does not add any depth it actually only restricts the amount of fun you have in fights. There is no hacking, there is no stealth, there is no resource management as your AI partner Elizabeth will pretty much throw ammo or cash at you whenever you need it. The game has actually boiled down all the resources from the first games to just lock picks and money.

Now people go on about the story and how amazing it is or how emotionally attatched they are to Elizabeth but honestly I couldn't complete this game, the story never gripped me, Elizabeth doesn't relate to me or seem human to me, she seems so artificial that I get confused why she is so well liked. There are a couple scenes yes were I did feel like she was a good character but for 90% of the game she's just there saying the same things over and over again. So you need to think what are you wanting a game for, do you want to play? Or do you just want something pretty with a blockbuster budget and story that you can just run threw with ease even on hard. If I wanted the latter I'd just watch a film.

Bioshock Infinite says alot about games these days, and its been interesting to see the system shock series slowly turn into something it never was, a big cinematic linear shooter with all RPG elements taken away. Thats all this game is another shooter, I had to watch my firend play the rest of it I just couldn't be bothered but after all the hype over the story i had to see the end. Its actually a really bad ending aswell and fills the game with massive plotholes, the last 30 mins of the game is just walking why the whole story is shoved at you in the end it doesn't make much sense. 10/10 reviews and peoples endless hype over a pretty average good looking game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apparently is best ever!, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
My son asked me to buy this so it was waiting for him when he came home from Uni for Easter break - loved the game, graphics amazing and quite engrossing even if you just happen to be in the same room. (Apparently though we should not shout out "behind you" as its annoying for the player)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice clash of FPS and Solid story telling, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
I played the original Bioshock and this felt in keeping with it, although without the shock and horror around every corner.

The graphics were excellent, the gameplay mechanics were fun and challenging. I particularly like the plasmid/tonic's and how you can make a fun unique build with them (my personal favourite was levitate then storm of crows!)

If your new to this franchise you should definatly try it out, it doesnt follow on from the previous games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colossal videogame, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
Fast shipping. Cheap price.
The game is a blockbuster, nothing more to say.
Reccomended to anyone who is looking for a fps-adventure of great atmosphere and plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
Came very quick and a exciting game to play something you won't get bored of which is good so I was very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars can't see why the hype!, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Infinite (PS3) (Video Game)
critics have given high ratings for this game and to be honest i preferred bioshock 1 & 2.
they've changed it around so it's a bit more like a first person shooter.
most of the game is played outdoors and swinging across hand rails etc.
if you're expecting something like bioshock 1 or 2, you maybe disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad965870)

This product

BioShock Infinite (PS3)
BioShock Infinite (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews