Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book
This book is excellent. The author takes you right into the story, it's like being there in the 16th century. I would recommend this book to anyone
Published 18 months ago by marie

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed
Have always loved tudor history and have read countless novels and non fiction books on the subject. I was really disappointed with The Reluctant Queen. This kindle edition is littered with " typo`s " including words repeated,spelling errors and poor punctuation. All of this could be forgiven in a well written novel but despite being a really interesting subject...
Published 14 months ago by s.cole


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
This book is excellent. The author takes you right into the story, it's like being there in the 16th century. I would recommend this book to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reluctant Queen, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book as I enjoy historical fiction especially the Tudor period. It was interesting to learn more about lesser known Tudors like the younger sister of Henry VIII. The book was easy to read and held my interest as long as you accept it is mostly fiction within a historical framework. I would recommend this book to fans of Phillipa Gregory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star read!, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Sheri A. Wilkinson (Princeton, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reluctant Queen: The Story of Henry VIII's Defiant Little Sister
by Geraldine Evans

This is the story of Mary Rose Tudor, King Henry VIII youngest sister. She is forced into marriage by her brother, to King Louis XII of France. Mary is less than happy about this arrangement, King Louis VIII is very old and sickly, she is very young and rebellious.

While married to Louis she is constantly pursued by her son-in-law Francis, which becomes an annoyance to Mary. Her heart is tied to Charles, she is forbidden to marry him since he is not of noble blood. She is determined to find a way to be with her one true love.

I really loved this story. I liked Mary, she was outspoken, which was very rare for a woman in that era. The story is filled with scandalous secrets, and a lot of family rivalry and drama. Although the story was fiction, some of the characters were based on Actual people. Those who love historical fiction (based on Royalty) should enjoy Reluctant Queen: The Story of Henry VIII's Defiant Little Sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like history you will like this, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
I love historical novels, so this book about a less known Tudor princess was an enjoyable read.It also gives an insight to what life was like during the time of Henry V111
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
This is a novel about Mary Rose, the youngest of Henry VIII's two sisters. I had heard very little about her, so I felt I'd like to know a bit more. She was sent off to France at 18, to marry the old and dying King Louis, it can't have been easy to be a princess in those days. The marriage only lasted a few months before he died, and she married the man she loved, risking the wrath of her brother. I've never thought about Henry VIII as a brother, we always hear of him as a tyrannical and much married king. Judging by this book he wasn't much different as a brother and Mary and her husband spent a lot of their life living in fear of what he could do. Mary seems to be a pretty but spoilt and strong willed young girl who later in life has learnt that there are consequences to her impulsive choices and that they also affect those she loves. Her husband lives his life with a chip on his shoulder because of his low birth and keeps struggling to please the king so he can fulfil his ambitions, and his family see little of him. It's an interesting book, also because we get Henry from a different angle to all the books about his wives. If you're interested in the Tudors I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good unknown history of Mary Rose Tudor, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this informative novel about Mary Rose Tudor as she is very often lost in King Henrys' history and his many wives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
Really good and very intresting,loved how the story unfolded and with her relationship to her brother and also her husband
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traded as a commodity, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
A very good book about Henry V111's little sister who was used in a political move by him even though he was supposed to love her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, love this book!, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
I love great story tellers and history - Geraldine Evans gives us the perfect mix with her Reluctant Queen. I felt like I was right back in the 16th centuary! Fab read Ms Evans! We want more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really empathised with Mary, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reluctant Queen: Tudor Historical Novel About Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little Sister of King Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Was very sad for Mary. Wasn't quite expecting it to end so abruptly and would have liked to have known what happened to the family after her death. Will definitely revisit it in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews