Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars48
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2000
A superb climax to the Tamuli series. Sparhawk and friends meet several others whose peculiar talents are utilised to the utmost. Aphrael and Sephrenia confront a long-held hatred and make a startling discovery about Zalasta. The final confrontation between Bhelliom and Klael is superbly written, and there are several analogies to the Mallorean (viz The Child of Light and Dark). All in all a thoroughly entertaining book which I have read at least 4 times and will continue to derive great pleasure from!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
Once again David Eddings has made the 3rd book of a Sparhawk Trilogy my absolute favourite.

The pace of this novel was brilliantly maintained all the way to the climax, and in the face of the difficult task of splitting the "Core Group" of 10 heroes into smaller parties. Rather than this becoming sluggish going over the same timescale with a different group, Eddings uses the chance to really develop the characters other than Sparhawk - I particularly like the relationship between Tynian and Ulath - so frequently referred to previously as "Moon-Faced, Powerfully Built" and "Blond-Braided" respectively in previous novels throughout the Elenium and Tamuli.

The only disappointment was the final showdown with Cyrgon - the Epiphany of Bhelliom's Child and duel with an Elder God seemed anti-climatic, and over all too quickly, especially when compared to the showdown with Azash in Zemoch from Sapphire Rose, The (Voyager Classics). This was made up for with the brilliantly hilarious Prologue, for once deviating from the "History Paper" of the previous 5 Sparhawk novels.

Definitely well worth reading, and yet frustrating that it is the only one of the 6 Sparhawk Novels not available on Kindle!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
The tale is as ever, epic....but the editing in the book is so poor that it detracts from the story. I had to read bits 2 or 3 times to get the meanings, as speech marks are missing, as are paragraph breaks, so locations and characters become very confusing as I was not too sure who was saying what, or when the tale had moved on to another subject. I can put up with this on the self published books - or even the free ones, but it is quite disgraceful for a book that was properly edited in print - and that you have to pay for in Kindle. So beware and read slowly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
If you liked the Elenium you will like this. It carried on in typical David Eddings style very similar to the previous triology.

None of this triology stands well on their own and all are best read in order.

This one is the better of the 3 Tamuli books. It has a faster pace but I feel the end is a little cluncky hence 4 rather than 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
I really enjoyed reading this trilogy again. There are a few glitches in the grammar in the kindle version but nothing that will stop you from enjoying. Lots of humour in the books and easy reading. The Tamuli trilogy is entertaining, funny, exciting and I would recommend to anyone who enjoys fantasy fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
A cracking good read and a good end to a fun series of books. The Sparhawk series of novels are fun, entertaining and a good way to sit and relax. The series of books are a familar and undemanding collection of books which you can return to every couple of years and reread with the same pleasure. A Good buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Classic reading and it's free. Gotta love Kindle! I am no longer able to read "real" books due to a lung condition (dust, mould etc) so Kindle has allowed me to re read some old favourites. Eddings was and is one of the best fantasy authors. Story lines to keep you gripped and you go back for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
This book had a good story line and was well paced and easy to read. The problem was there was no character development at all and all the characters seemed to be identical in speech and action and all sounded like stereotypes southern Americans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
Great story. Gripping and full of action all the way through. The characters and their interaction with each other are excellent. Couldn't put the book down. Highly recommend to all fantasy fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
I do not know how David Eddings does it but he writes great stories, the humour brings a smile and these books I cannot get back to fast enough, treat yourself if you have never read his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse