Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!
The bottom line is, it matters not whether you are a battle-hardened Halo veteran or a total stranger to the saga. This is a fine tribute to what is one of the best games ever made. I have completed the original more times than I can remember, and will do so again and again. You can switch between the original XBox version and the latest, which shows just how much work...
Published on 3 Aug. 2012 by Cherry Bomb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Game, New Tidbits
I never played the original, so nostalgia didn't kick in, however i had great fun with this game.

The Gameplay is exactly the same as the original, and with that is rather clunky, no where near the standard of Halo's 3 and Reach.

The Story however, is a good one, oddly realistic for a gentically enhanced supersoldier fighting aliens and other stuff...
Published on 1 Mar. 2012 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 3 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The bottom line is, it matters not whether you are a battle-hardened Halo veteran or a total stranger to the saga. This is a fine tribute to what is one of the best games ever made. I have completed the original more times than I can remember, and will do so again and again. You can switch between the original XBox version and the latest, which shows just how much work went into this remake. Buy it. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GAME THAT GOT ME HOOKED on FPS games, 18 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The first HALO game was the FPS that really got me into FPS games , thought it was awesome back in the day , and now with greatly improved GRAPHICS , CO-OP PLAY & SOME CLASSIC ONLINE BOARDS added - its now even awesomer , and it's still a joy to play through the campaign again , if you wanna see how improved the graphics are just hit the BACK button as you play through the campaign and it gives you a comparison VIEW of the OLD graphics vs the NEW IMPROVED look ,and there is quite a BIG DIFFERENCE

DEF WORTH THE MONEY ....... SO GO ON TREAT YOURSELF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Single player blew me away, multiplayer dissapointing..., 2 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Absolutely phenomenal remake of an already fantastic game. Switching between the old and new versions of the game with the flick of a switch is one of the best things about it, it's insane when you see the difference between the two. The graphics really are stunning and beautiful. So to sum it up the single player is just mind - blowing.

I was sorely dissapointed with the multiplayer however. This is purely just Halo: Reach with old maps on it. I don't understand. I used to play multiplayer on Halo: CE on my PC and it was just the best experience ever, I was so hyped up to play 'blood gulch' with new HD graphics - just imagine how annoyed I was when I discovered they had taken that map away and it isn't even the old game in any way. So multiplayer wise, if you play Halo : Reach then there is nothing new for you here - you might aswell just download the map pack for reach as it is basically the exact same thing.

Once I have completed the campaign on this, I will load Halo back onto my PC to play Blood Gulch, and try not to think about what could have been :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Class, 25 May 2012
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Released 10 years ago to the day on the 15th of November, Halo: Combat Evolved broke out into stores, vastly becoming the harbinger of Microsoft's first Xbox console and even luring away Sony's ever faithful Playstation gamers. The original, for me, was the main reason for getting an Xbox in the first place because the game looked and played far smoother than anything that was currently on offer on the PS2, fairly inexpensive and had many worthy 'Xbox Only' titles. Me and my fellow droogs enjoyed the odd System Link experience back in the day, running a large cable throughout the house, setting up numerous 4v4 battles of Slayer and Capture the Flag, with the most dedicated of us would go through the entire campaign on legendary (the most difficult setting). So although the remake initially took me by surprise being rather unnecessary considering the relatively small leap in graphical advancement, I still awaited its release with a certain level of expectation. Changing the simplistic plot, characters or even dialogue would be suicidal for hardcore veterans of the original Halo, as would including or removing weapons.. so just what is enhanced in this remake?

CHANGES
Thanks to a thoughtful introductory video, gamers witness a brief selection of in game footage, spanning through the 10 levels of Halo - both starting with the original appearance and then strafing to the new and improved look. Clearly there is a vast difference in graphical capabilities by the amount of additions to scenery but this lacks the stronger effort put in for new release such as Reach or at times Halo3. The dashboard is fairly similar, with a spacial background and the traditional, epic, musical score, however this time the game makes use of Halo Waypoint (a free application which charters your progress in all halo series games, as well as statistics for battles like Kill/Death Ratio). This inclusion is a mediocre decision - as Waypoint is relatively pointless, only offering insight to your capabilities (which were available online via Bungie long before) and small appearance modifiers such as new helmets for Reach. Loading time is easily bearable compared to the long winded wait of the old game.

The soundtrack to the game is slightly altered too, making better use of surround sound and just using reworked orchestral pieces, unfortunately though it seems a tad quieter and lacks the punch of 2001. Guns, armour and vehicles all get new paint jobs but remain unchanged in effectiveness, lovely. Some characters (Cortana, Johnson & Captain Keyes) are strong re-workings of what they once looked like with Cortana appearing as she did in Halo3. Enemies are smarter and make for tougher challenges. Of course the biggest difference is that the levels are not re-imagined/designer but given a new lease of life with more realistic detail and less blocky surroundings. However, despite my own extensive knowledge of the levels, the remakes model occasionally had me flustered a handful of times as to which way led to where and wondering wether the obstacle was in the original game.

ADDITIONS
Enter the Back button. Pressing 'back' switches you back and fourth from the new to the old game in the 2 second long blink of an eye. This impressed me 1. because it was a speedy way of essential playing two games at once and 2. it was a classy move, helpful to remind players of what used to be, where you are and how different the jump in technology. In this switch, practically EVERYTHING is as it was, the enemies look and behave as they did, voices are the same, glitches are there.. it is the original game thrown in. The use of skulls which varied gameplay in the 3rd installment are back but most be scouted out in game to be made use of: the likes of 'grunt birthday party' (which sees head-shots release a burst of confetti and children cheering) and 'Black Eye' are all there, mostly making things more difficult like removing the radar & HUD, making ammo scarce and enemies stronger. An interesting extra is the inclusion of terminals, scattered throughout the campaign that offer more insight into Halo's origins without going too far or ruining the atmosphere and reasoning, most using FMV's to display the history of Halo.

The 360 age also brings achievements to the party.. Now these can often be a distraction to gamers, especially as they usually detract from the games plot and point, but here they are done in style. Instead of just having level completion awards, there are custom ones per level to liven them up a bit. From avoiding medpacks and over-shields on legendary difficulty to killing a set number of Covenant and stubbornly avoiding ejection from the Warthog. Sure you can look them up first and set out to do them, but thats a legitimate way to go as it represents a new challenge for the aged gamers instead of marvelling at the new wallpaper. The multiplayer is were its let down though. Instead of making use of the fact that they had the original campaign awaiting at the push of a button, they only allowed a Halo:Reach type multiplayer. It could be that I wanted to bask in the nostalgia of the old fights (this time online) but it seemed that the old mechanic was far more addictive and to some extent smoother. Never the less, the co-operative choice is still there, allowing only 2 players to blaze their way through the game, this time with the handy choice of split screen or over xbox live.

EXTRAS
With a sense of occasion, the game comes in its own slick embossed cardboard suave case containing the real game case as if to be a special edition. Inside you are treated with a very small manual (its all in game now - save the trees and what not) 2 xbox live redeemable cards and the disc. The two cards are of particular interest as one allows for a 2 day trial of the Xbox Live service and the inclusion of a map-pack (which includes 6 classic locations and a firefight event over 1GB in size) whilst the other is purely superficial, an unlockable skull and two sets of armour for your avatar (male & female master chief uniform). Its also displayable in full HD and even 3D (yawn).

So my only gripes with the game are the lack of original multiplayer via xbox live and some slight overlapping with voice and image synchronization. Whats more is that on release, it was a staggeringly awesome price of just £25. Whether its because its a remake with no original idea or because its the games anniversary and they just felt like being nice for once, thats a bargain compared to other games and sets a precedent as to what can be done and how to do it. I was honestly expecting more butchery from Microsoft Studios and 343 Industries, but they pulled it off and Anniversary makes for a nice present to the gamers of a only decade ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HALO combat evovled, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
S. M. Bentley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It is a very good game.
I would reccomend this to a HALO fan
GOOD THINGS:
amazing online play
firefight matches are very good and hard
1 on 1 matches are fun
nice maps
Not too good things
campain is to cartoonish
1st level is boring
too few maps only around 6-9
basically no vehicles in online gameplay

But overall worth buying
well worth money
awsome

sihned sam aged 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed Combat Evolved, great game., 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Got two copies of this game so me and my boyfriend could play it together when he is not up at mine, I never actually played the original version but my boyfriend had. In saying that I really did enjoy it and he was impressed with it himself :) Reach was the first game I ever played on the 360, of all the Halo games I played, I think I enjoyed Combat Evolved the most to be honest, cheered me up to play this after Halo 4 which I had a few problems with. Loved this game and would recommend it, played a good few times now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halo 1 is Back with Online Multiplayer & Co-op, 15 Nov. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Halo 1 is back and what a treat it is. I've been playing the online multiplayer for hours and the new maps are so addictive. 343 have included multiplayer maps from both Halo 1 and Halo 2 with the classic gameplay. Pistols, with scopes are back, 3 shots and your opponent is dead.

Here is a complete list of the maps released so far:

.Beaver Creek (Battle Canyon)
.Hang 'Em High (High Noon)
.Damnation (Penance)
.Timberland (Ridgeline)
.Prisoner (Solitary)
.Headlong (Breakneck)

I've already played 15 games of Big Team Battle today. It's been amazing so far. The map full of forests called Timberland is great to play, especially with capture the flag. The warthogs feel great as well. This is been the best multiplayer experience I've had since my days of playing Halo 2 on original Xbox Live. Speaking of which, the Headlong map is an exact replica of the Halo 2 version, every polygon and every texture. I can't wait to play more of it.

I've been so absorbed in online multiplayer that I have yet to play the campaign. However I'm glad 343 included the option to choose the remastered visuals or the old xbox 1 visuals. Same goes with the soundtrack, either the remastered version or the classic version. The achivements look really good and it will take me alot longer than most other games to unlock them all, especially on Legendary, which is so much harder than Reach's campaign.

Also like to add that inside my gamebox came 4 codes. 1 code gives you free access to the DLC to play on your hard drive. 2 codes unlock an extra skull and an avatar, plus the usual 2 day Gold trial is included too.

Halo Anniversary is the best Halo game since Halo 3 was released back in 2007. 343 have already stated publically if Halo Anniversary is popular than (a) they will release more map packs from Halo 1 and 2 and (b) Halo 2 will get the full remake it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece., 29 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well there is not much else to say that the other reviewers haven't already said,but in my opnion this is the best Halo game since Halo 3.The graphics have been truly remasterd and I don't mean just a touch up, but a full work over. They are truly stunning,and you can, by pushing the BACK button on your controller,flick between at any time to the orginal version.The game play is unchanged from the orginal, so yes no need to worry there.Now the only con that I have found is that this game is a bit clunky in online CO-OP but maybe thay will fix that.There are also achievements too as well as terminals and skulls.So basicaly to sum up if you are a Halo fan or a shooter fan this is the game for you and at £30 its a steal.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good remake of a great game, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
Kevin Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I should start by admitting I was a huge fan of Halo when it first released on Xbox. I'd never really been into consoles and playing it at a friends made me decide to go out and buy an Xbox at the time. I'd always been a fan of PC gaming and never thought consoles could host a first class shooter; this game proved that very wrong and delivered (at the time) the best sci-fi shooter I had played.

Ten years on the game was remade. Fundamentally it's the same excellent game, with exactly the same campaign based around Master Chief and his battles with the Covenant but there have been some major improvements.

The most important for me was the addition of online co-op. Myself and a friend did find a way of using system link and gamespy arcade via our PC's to play Halo over the internet as if we were playing on a lan at the time but it wasn't too reliable for us. The addition of built in co-op over xbox live with the usual integrated voice chat and ease of use made a big difference and led to a wonderful few Thursday nights playing our way back through this.

The game also contains a bunch of classic Halo multiplayer maps, redeveloped in the multiplayer engine from Halo Reach Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) and playable over xbox live for the first time.

The other major change is a big overhaul of the graphics, bringing them closer to current gen standards. They're not quite cutting edge but using the back button allows you to switch between classic and new graphics and see just how far they have come.

Due to the improvements I'd consider this a worthwile remake of classic game. Perhaps not essential but well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, improved, 14 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If, like me, you are thinking about buying this game because you have previously completed the original Halo on every difficulty level (several times, and on both first gen Xbox and 360) and are still not bored of it, then you are in for a very, very special treat.

Quite simply, 363 have taken what, I believe, is the best computer game of all time and somehow bettered it.

No subsequent Halo matched the thrill of the original for me, and, despite completing them all, they left me strangely unfulfilled.

Indeed, I turned to Anniversary the day after completing Halo 4, thinking "why have they turned Halo into some generic Gears Of War copy with no decent plot? Seriously, the whole thing is about trying to save Cortana? Who cares? I want so save all of humanity again!"

Let down games often drive me to fish out my dog-eared copy of Halo, and once again, I needed a fix of the original Master Chief, but couldn't handle the dated look of Bungie's original.

Anniversary is the perfect answer. Hats off to 343, graphically, this is a total, yet sympathetic makeover.

Muddy, dark hues are replaced with vibrant, otherwordly tones. It is a masterstroke, like cleaning the Mona Lisa. Yet this is evolution, not restoration. Everything feels so much more alive, and the ability to flick back, at any moment during live gammeplay, to the original graphics simply by pressing the 'back' button is a genius touch. Old haunts take on fresh resonance. The effect is dazzling.

I was skeptical about this release and only bought it last week. I really wish I'd have got it sooner. I implore any Halo fan to try this. I guarantee you wou will fall in love with it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360)
£10.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews