Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning production
Having seen this production on TV, I eagerly awaited the DVD and was not disappointed. The series was shot in my home city of Wells, on and around the Cathedral Green, and many of the locations are very familiar (it did a very good job for advertising the beauties of the surrounding area of Somerset, and the city, Englands smallest, itself!) The story starts happily...
Published on 4 Sept. 2006 by Sally Denise Kirkpatrick

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars competently presented if rather silly story
This was a pretty production with lots of focus on moist lips and sad eyes but....Oh boy what a silly story! Did Trollope really write something so silly? or is is novel suffering from being poorly translated to the screen? Do I care enough to read the book and find out? no!

Basically young man falls in love and marries pretty girl but after a few years of...
Published 17 months ago by oto_jo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning production, 4 Sept. 2006
Having seen this production on TV, I eagerly awaited the DVD and was not disappointed. The series was shot in my home city of Wells, on and around the Cathedral Green, and many of the locations are very familiar (it did a very good job for advertising the beauties of the surrounding area of Somerset, and the city, Englands smallest, itself!) The story starts happily enough - a young couple, starting married life, in Victorian society, but the husband soon becomes suspicous that his pretty wife is not being faithful to him. Is he right, or is he wrong? He sets out to prove that he has has been cuckolded by her, therefore destroying all that he holds dear. I recommend this DVD to all because it is not only a stunning production, but a really good, involving story, based on a little known, very large classic novel, and the cast is superb. Listen for the cathedral bells ringing out too - magical, filling the air with music, combining with beautiful costumes, the acting which is second to none, and a cracking good story and you get your value for money. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Right Through, 2 April 2007
By 
Ian Millard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This production is quality through and through. It tells Trollope's tale of a young man and woman and their child, whose happiness is permanently blighted by what amounts to his neurotic and indeed paranoid obsession that his wife is having an affair with an old friend of her father. The plot is given extra piquancy by the fact that the old friend, a retired colonel and MP, is a rake and roue who fails to show sensitivity to the situation. In time, the marriage collapses and in the end the husband goes downhill mentally and in every way. Yet at the end, he still "knew he was right"...Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MUCH TO ADMIRE (BUT NOT HIM), 11 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 2004 BBC adaptation by Andrew Davies of Trollope's novel. Four one hour episodes. Oliver Dimsdale is Hugh Trevelyan, wrongly convinced his wife Emily is being unfaithful - he to become increasingly unhinged.

This sounds most grim, but here is an elegant production to have most viewers purring with pleasure. (The asides to camera, though, perhaps jar a bit.) Laura Fraser as Emily is a delight, whilst television veterans are superbly in full throttle - especially Geoffrey Palmer as a blustering father and Anna Massey as a formidable aunt. Additional treats (among so many) include Ron Cook as a private detective conscientiously observing but devastatingly misinterpreting and, hilariously, David Tennant as a creepy vicar seeking a young, as rich as possible, wife.

The weakness is that central character, apparently based on Trollope's own father who alienated all. One quickly loses all sympathy for Hugh and wonders why at the start he simply did not confront the mischief making colonel (Bill Nighy) and punch him on the nose.

The bonus is a bonus indeed - an hour long documentary on Trollope, narrated by Stephen Fry. Trollope, more than most, was truly "a man of letters" - he worked for the Post Office and gave us the red pillar box. It fascinates to think of him penning some of his earlier novels on the train to and from the office.

Recommended to all who like to sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English subtitles included, 4 Dec. 2007
By 
Teresa (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's important to point out that DVD includes English subtitles which is very useful for English learners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 24 July 2008
By 
Trionon (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Period drama adaptations rarely move me but this is wonderful, does the novel justice, brilliant cast, every one of them so appropriate for the characters they play, and a very sad and comical in places story and so glad that there is no happy-ever after feeling, but everything is just right as you would expect things to turn out in life really....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was right to buy this!, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved this Victorian drama.It has everything ,suspician,jealousy,romance and tradegy,but more than that a sense of realism ,especially in the relationship of Louis and Emily Trevelyan(played superbly by Oliver Dimsdale and Laura Fraser).Louis decends into depression when he becomes obsessed with the possibility his wife has been unfaithful with old family friend Colonel Osborne.Bill Nighy plays Osborne ,who seems to enjoy the hurt he is causing .A great cast including David Tennant and Anna Massey ,its well worth anyones time and money,buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Right is as right does, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
JMD1 (Bute, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Trollope classic given the treatment the BBC was once famed for before they dumbed down. Good quality disc transfer and unlike today's BBC sound, you can hear the dialogue! If you like good acting and Trollope, don't pass this by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY PERIOD DRAMA, 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story of one man's perception and refusal to believe the truth about his wife drives him near insane, is in part very real and in another way unbelievably infuriating that, despite proof she did nothing and only loved him he just wouldn't believe her or let it go, even when she said what he wanted her to say..

Laura Fraser gave another stunning performance as did the rest of the cast and it was great to see new faces who have gone on to more success.

I would highly recommend this dvd if you enjoy great literature and a just a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great drama, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
S. Carr "drama lover" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only recently discovered Trollope's novels, but this was a cracker, and so well done by the BBC - there is no competition for them in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars competently presented if rather silly story, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a pretty production with lots of focus on moist lips and sad eyes but....Oh boy what a silly story! Did Trollope really write something so silly? or is is novel suffering from being poorly translated to the screen? Do I care enough to read the book and find out? no!

Basically young man falls in love and marries pretty girl but after a few years of wedded bliss becomes wildly jealous and imagines all sorts of silly things about his wife based on little or no evidence. She refuses to compromise until he becomes mad to the point of death. So what was she hanging out for? I could not be bothered to work that one out.

To flesh out the silliness, there are side romances which perhaps are used to illustrate alternative views of love and wedded bliss: (1) heroine's sister and poor worthy young man, (2) greedy curate and two silly spinster sisters in competition for him, (3) worthy young woman and worthy young man.

I think a little bit of wit or a smarter script would have helped to maintain my flagging interest. I felt very sorry for the name actors in the production who have been involved in much better productions, but I suppose a salary is a salary and the clothes were pretty. For the rest... well I did not care very much by the end. Straight to the charity shop with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He Knew He Was Right (2004) - The Complete Series
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews