Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take It Away
Though he has already turned out a number of singles and remixes - many of which were for some very high-profile acts - this record marks SBTRKT's first long-playing effort (under this name, anyway - Aaron Jerome is another story). So was it worth the wait?

The answer is an unreserved yes. Much as Caribou did last year with Swim, SBTRKT manages to perfectly...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Crawton Leek

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Marmite alert
Sbtrkt's album is the opposite of a "grower". On first few listens, it seems very crisp, cool and contemporary. After a while, however, most of the songs begin to lose that appeal, leaving only Wildfire and Pharaohs as genuinely good tunes. Part of the problem for me is Sampha's "Marmite" vocals - you will either love them or hate them. Purely a matter of personal...
Published 8 months ago by Marchespie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take It Away, 27 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
Though he has already turned out a number of singles and remixes - many of which were for some very high-profile acts - this record marks SBTRKT's first long-playing effort (under this name, anyway - Aaron Jerome is another story). So was it worth the wait?

The answer is an unreserved yes. Much as Caribou did last year with Swim, SBTRKT manages to perfectly pitch his electronic offerings between the cerebral and the visceral. The tracks herein are far from cookie-cutter pap with identikit beats, yet they do not suffer from the smugness that dance music can all-too-easily adopt when it tries to get smart.

Instead, SBTRKT keeps his eyes on the dancefloor and his ears on the beat. The rhythms - whether they be built on dubby throbs or crisp snares - are all direct, purposeful and aimed at the part of the brain that sets toes to tapping and buttocks to jiggling. Clever it may be, but this is party music first and foremost.

As well as his knack for satisfying and catchy rhythms, SBTRKT's choice of collaborators has also served him well. Sampha contributes some very agreeable vocals to a number of the tracks - complementing the music without dominating it - whilst Little Dragon's sassy turn on `Wildfire' is a definite album highlight.

All in all, this is an assured release that should secure itself a place in many Album Of The Year round-ups come December. For those who like their electronica to exercise brain and booty in equal measure, it is a must-buy record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing album, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
every track on this album leaves me high. each track stands out on it's own and i wish the album was longer. genius work by sbtrkt and sampha - what a voice:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
Recommended to me by my brother, SBTRKT offers up an awesome style of music. Rather hard to describe but well worth listening :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TOP NOTCH, 4 April 2014
By 
T M. Brumby "Tom MIchael" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SBTRKT [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Exactly what it said on the tin. No scratches, blemishes or any other generally negative noun. Synth and bass sound sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Marmite alert, 10 Nov 2013
This review is from: Sbtrkt (MP3 Download)
Sbtrkt's album is the opposite of a "grower". On first few listens, it seems very crisp, cool and contemporary. After a while, however, most of the songs begin to lose that appeal, leaving only Wildfire and Pharaohs as genuinely good tunes. Part of the problem for me is Sampha's "Marmite" vocals - you will either love them or hate them. Purely a matter of personal taste, but I find his voice rather monotonous and that contiunial tone of barely-suppressed longing rather tiring. It's not that he's bad, just that I can't identify with it. Others will love it, as some of the other reviews make clear. I suggest you try a couple of the tracks with Sampha's singing (like Hold On) before plunging in with the whole album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sbtrkt (MP3 Download)
Brilliant songs and great production, one of the most original and inventive albums of the last few years. This guy should be headlining a Glasto stage not Chase and f%$^&*g Status!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SBTRKT, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
Great album. I went back to it after buying the Jessie Ware one which I thought was one of the best of 2012. And now its been out for a while you can't go wrong for five or six pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well I like it!, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sbtrkt (MP3 Download)
I only buy albums if I've spent a few weeks trawling their videos on youtube.
Seeing sbtrkt at Bestival last year was awesome, would highly recommend. Especially Wildfire and Hold on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
The music was a bit different from other works but really nice. I had to listen to it twice before really enjoying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracker, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
Loved this moody album from day 1 and you hear new things every time you listen.
Great to see live too if you get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sbtrkt
Sbtrkt by Sbtrkt
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews