Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take It Away
Though he has already turned out a number of singles and remixes - many of which were for some very high-profile acts - this record marks SBTRKT's first long-playing effort (under this name, anyway - Aaron Jerome is another story). So was it worth the wait?

The answer is an unreserved yes. Much as Caribou did last year with Swim, SBTRKT manages to perfectly...
Published on 27 Jun. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marmite alert
Sbtrkt's album is the opposite of a "grower". On first few listens, it seems very crisp, cool and contemporary. After a while, however, most of the songs begin to lose that appeal, leaving only Wildfire and Pharaohs as genuinely good tunes. Part of the problem for me is Sampha's "Marmite" vocals - you will either love them or hate them. Purely a matter of personal...
Published 20 months ago by Marchespie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take It Away, 27 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
Though he has already turned out a number of singles and remixes - many of which were for some very high-profile acts - this record marks SBTRKT's first long-playing effort (under this name, anyway - Aaron Jerome is another story). So was it worth the wait?

The answer is an unreserved yes. Much as Caribou did last year with Swim, SBTRKT manages to perfectly pitch his electronic offerings between the cerebral and the visceral. The tracks herein are far from cookie-cutter pap with identikit beats, yet they do not suffer from the smugness that dance music can all-too-easily adopt when it tries to get smart.

Instead, SBTRKT keeps his eyes on the dancefloor and his ears on the beat. The rhythms - whether they be built on dubby throbs or crisp snares - are all direct, purposeful and aimed at the part of the brain that sets toes to tapping and buttocks to jiggling. Clever it may be, but this is party music first and foremost.

As well as his knack for satisfying and catchy rhythms, SBTRKT's choice of collaborators has also served him well. Sampha contributes some very agreeable vocals to a number of the tracks - complementing the music without dominating it - whilst Little Dragon's sassy turn on `Wildfire' is a definite album highlight.

All in all, this is an assured release that should secure itself a place in many Album Of The Year round-ups come December. For those who like their electronica to exercise brain and booty in equal measure, it is a must-buy record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing album, 14 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
every track on this album leaves me high. each track stands out on it's own and i wish the album was longer. genius work by sbtrkt and sampha - what a voice:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marmite alert, 10 Nov. 2013
This review is from: SBTRKT (MP3 Download)
Sbtrkt's album is the opposite of a "grower". On first few listens, it seems very crisp, cool and contemporary. After a while, however, most of the songs begin to lose that appeal, leaving only Wildfire and Pharaohs as genuinely good tunes. Part of the problem for me is Sampha's "Marmite" vocals - you will either love them or hate them. Purely a matter of personal taste, but I find his voice rather monotonous and that contiunial tone of barely-suppressed longing rather tiring. It's not that he's bad, just that I can't identify with it. Others will love it, as some of the other reviews make clear. I suggest you try a couple of the tracks with Sampha's singing (like Hold On) before plunging in with the whole album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SBTRKT - an album review, 22 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. C. Mistry "Raven Hans" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SBTRKT (MP3 Download)
I bought the digital download of this album so that I got the bonus track. Overall I would say i'm pretty pleased with my purchase. I spend a lot of time driving and love listening to music in my car. As a fan of electronica, SBTRKT's album was a good blend of electronic vibes, deep bass but also has a pop feel about it. It's kind of near the crossover point to commercial music. I couple of tracks stood out for me and i'd recommend the download as the bonus track, 'Living like I Do', is one of my favourites. One thing I would say is invest in a decent sound system/stereo or you won't hear the full spectrum of sound on this album. Overall a good album for all electronica fans and those wishing to expand their musical horizons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A accidental discovery, 19 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
I wasn't aware of this artict at all, as this particular style of music isn't what I am used listen to, but I have to say after listening to the album samples several times on the MP3 playlist; I was compelled to purchase. Every single track is an extension of the brilliance and creativity of the artist. What I love about this album is the range of sounds and various through its entirety.
I look forward to listening out for what new creations Sbtrkt have lined up in the future.
For anyone who appreciates quality production, experimental sound and rythmic genius; this is must buy, I implore you to purchase if you haven't already do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good use of the cow bell, 7 April 2012
By 
Felix Jeffs (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
Nice sound. Nice rhythms and contrasts that fit together. To be honest I am not the biggest fan of Sampha's vocals but I think that is my personal taste and appreciate his talent. There are many other female singers on the album who I much prefer. Sometimes it is a bit too clean and "over-produced" and so I hope Aaron can follow this with a live album. Altogether, I like it - Pharaohs, Wildfire are top of my playlist. There are also some interesting remixes to be found and would recommend seeing them live if, like me, you enjoy this albulm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masked man delivers, 27 Jun. 2011
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
The masked man that is SBTRKT has released many EP's and remixed a lot of other artists but this is his first album proper. It's a catchy and rewarding listen with some excellent guest vocals on top of the beats and layered sounds.

The main guest vocals are provided by Sampha, Jeesie Ware and Little Dragon and they have been given quite a bunch of lyrics to bring alive - Sampha does a fantastic job on Hold On and Trials of the Past which deliver fantastic lyrics hauntingly delivered on top of memorable layers of dance beats and various electronics. Little Dragon is not left behind though as Wildfire demonstrates some skill. Jessie Ware is used very well on Right Thing To Do which seems to be at home on the dance floor or testing the bass of a car stereo equally. Pharaohs though is a really killer track. Vocals by Roses Gabor add much to this track that sounds airy, catchy and very danceable. This deserves to be played lots. The whole piece contains lots of tracks that will linger in the memory and will provide the soundtrack to many parties this summer.

Much mention above has been made of the guests but its the main man here who comes out on top. Mixing this together to deliver an album that feels of one piece and yet delivers many varieties of dance. Listen to the way that Never Never starts life like a clockwork soldier and finally delivers a soulful dance number. The only weakness could be the lack of an out and out anthem. But this is highly recommended as it delivers great danceable tracks as well as providing the launching pad for a new talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well I like it!, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SBTRKT (MP3 Download)
I only buy albums if I've spent a few weeks trawling their videos on youtube.
Seeing sbtrkt at Bestival last year was awesome, would highly recommend. Especially Wildfire and Hold on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SBTRKT, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sbtrkt (Audio CD)
Great album. I went back to it after buying the Jessie Ware one which I thought was one of the best of 2012. And now its been out for a while you can't go wrong for five or six pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SBTRKT (MP3 Download)
Brilliant songs and great production, one of the most original and inventive albums of the last few years. This guy should be headlining a Glasto stage not Chase and f%$^&*g Status!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SBTRKT
SBTRKT by SBTRKT
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews