Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revisiting yer youth can be rewarding.........
Sometimes revisiting yer youth can be rewarding,sometimes fraught with danger,i've recently revisted lots of things,music,film,even discovered an old time sweetie shop,fabulous stuff,the film 'Dark Star' well it was ok,not as funny as i remember,the music though,well that was fantastic,this newly remastered disc from Twisted Sister's debut 'Under The Blade' is a...
Published on 2 Jun 2011 by Mr Blackwell

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original mix? I don't think so!
This 2011 version of this metal masterpiece sounds nothing like the original Secret Records LP or CD. It's a much more cleaned up version... To my ears it's a mixture between the original 1982 mix & the Mark Mendoza remix from 1985. I'll keep my Secret CD and put this away.

Whats great about this set is the DVD disc that gives us live TS on top of their game...
Published on 3 April 2012 by Andreas Samuelsson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revisiting yer youth can be rewarding........., 2 Jun 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sometimes revisiting yer youth can be rewarding,sometimes fraught with danger,i've recently revisted lots of things,music,film,even discovered an old time sweetie shop,fabulous stuff,the film 'Dark Star' well it was ok,not as funny as i remember,the music though,well that was fantastic,this newly remastered disc from Twisted Sister's debut 'Under The Blade' is a marvelous reminder of how great this band was.

The cd contains the remastered album,truth be told back in the day it wasnt a great production sound wise,the remaster doesnt really redress this but what isnt in question is the fire that burned in the band,the ferocity of tracks such as 'Bad Boys..','Tear It Loose' & 'Shoot Em Down' is still evident and a joy to hear while the likes of 'Under The Blade' and 'Day Of The Rocker' wear their Priest/AC/DC influences on their sleeve with pride.

Also included is the original 4 track Ruff Cuts E.P., i bought this way back in '82 and its just as impressive today,indeed it still has a sinister,vicious aura to tracks such as 'Under The Blade/Shoot Em Down',while the anthemic 'What You Dont Know' never sounded better,indeed the debut album never really captured that sound,the cover version of 'Leader Of The Pack' has to be heard to be believed,outstanding.The disc is completed with an uneccesary live version of 'Shoot Em Down'(great though it is,its a bit out of place).

The Dvd is a fantastic slice of history showing Twisted Sister looking like a bunch of heavily made up Trannies dodgy bottles and various other missiles before winning the crowd over,i'd personally never seen this footage so it was a welcome bonus,its not perfect but its well worth watching.
The interviews are excellent with some genuinely funny anecdotes.

Oh aye and the sweeties I re discovered, 'OddFellows',hard wee B**stards,broke my F**kin tooth,see what i mean by fraught with danger,thankfully this disc is a godsend ,will keep me smiling while i save up for the filling ,ha ha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut from the bad boys of rock and roll, 16 May 2003
This review is from: Under The Blade (Audio CD)
This album is dirty, gritty and really sets the pace for future releases by the band. TS, despite hailing from New York, hit the scene around the same time as the New Wave of British Heavy Metal and this album has a distinctly British feel to it. Far more aggressive than their L.A. counterparts (Motley Crue) and with more make up than Kiss and Alice Cooper combined TS presented an unusual visual spectacle. Dee Sniders vocals shine on this album, the man has a voice that makes Bruce Dickensons' look feeble, and the guitar work, whilst fairly simplistic, is very gutsy. Check it out but remember, what you don't know sure can hurt you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's only rock'n'roll...and I like it, 7 Jun 2011
By 
J. F. Scott "frazs" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember staying up to tape the Rock Show in BBC Radio1 in 1982, fingers poised over play & record to capture something special I hoped. I got Y&T and Twisted Sister that night. Neither disappointed. Being able to watch that Twisted Sister performance on the DVD with this reissue is something truly special. Sister were full of energy, almost arrogant as they tried to put to the sword those jazz freaks and old time rockers in abundance at Reading in the 80's. Some must have been spluttering through there luke warm bitter and cider as this technicoloured nightmare hit the stage. It was fantastic....
Under the blade is a real 80's classic, the improved production on this reissue breathes new life into Bad Boys, Destroyer and Shoot em down. Was there ever a better concert intro song than 'What you don't know'. Motley Crue, Ratt, Faster Pussycat et al were only ever a pale imitation of Twisted Sister, the original SMF's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the remixed version of this album!, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Blade (Audio CD)
Great album! I had been looking for the 1985 "remix" of Under the Blade for a long time. But BEWARE! There are two mixes out of this album: the original Secret Records mix from 1982 plus bonus tracks on Armoury Records and the Atlantic Records remix from 1985 on Demolition Records. After their success with Stay Hungry Atlantic Records (and Mark Mendoza of TS) remixed the album so it got a more "Stay Hungry-like sound". I think the original mix sounds awful, very rough and unpolished and I can't stand listening to it (but a lot of people like it). But the remix is fantastic - good production and it makes a huge difference! The covers of the two albums are different: on the original mix the letters on the cover are printed in blue and on the remix the letters are printed in yellow and Dee Snider has one hand placed on the floor - but beware: If you download the album from iTunes you get the cover from the remix and the songs from the original mix - so don't do that! On the remix Day of the Rocker is left out in favour of I'll Never Gow Up, and that makes 9 songs on each album. I think that on the original remix on vinyl from '85 Day of the Rocker was included so the album had ten songs but I don't remember. So get your '85 remix copy from Demolition Records - and PLAY IT LOUD, MUTHA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever from The Twisters!!, 13 Jan 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Blade (Audio CD)
I had this album back in '82 when it was first releasd on the Secret Records label in the UK, it was a revelation to say the least!
It did suffer from a very weak and tinny production but this never detracted from the quality of the actual songs.
Luckily the album was remixed in '85 with a much MUCH heavier sound and joy of joys thats the version we have here!
The weekly ongoing feud between the Twisters and Manowar in SOUNDS at that time was compulsory reading for metal fans everywhere and this album will probably swing it favour of The Sister!!
It still sounds as fresh and ferocious as ever whereas BATTLEHYMNS by Manowar is hilariously corny by comparison.
If you missed out first time round buy this NOW, you won't regret it!
Limp Bizkit? MY ARSE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 2011 Special edition CD + DVD, 25 Jun 2011
This 2011 release of the Twisted Sister debut album "Under the blade" contains the original mix from the original 1982 Secret Records album. Not to be confused with the earlier CD-versions containing the 1985 remix of the album.
This album is full of raw energy, and killer songs, which instantly made me a fan of Twisted Sister back in the 80's. Here's everything from the slow, heavy Destroyer, via mid-tempo rockers like Sin after sin and Bad boys (Of rock n' roll), and the fast and furious Tear it loose, featuring a twin-solo by Jay Jay French and "Fast" Eddie Clarke of Motorhead.

Some people might not like the production, which can be described as raw and dirty sounding, yet powerful.
Still, I love the songs and the vibe and energy on this recording. A killer debut, and among my all-time favorite albums.
As a bonus on this CD, you get the "Ruff cutts" EP, a compilation of 4 demo-songs, and also a live version of the song "Shoot'em down".

As for the bonus DVD, it contains a recording of the band's performance at the 1982 Reading Festival, in England.
I was especially looking forward to this, but I was a bit disappointed.
The audio is full of overdubs, and most of the rhythm guitars is obviously re-recorded. I also suspect that the bass parts and some solos are newly added overdubs.
So I didn't get the "live" experience I was hoping for. Why not release the video/DVD with the original audio?
But it is great fun to watch the band in the days just before the rollercoaster-ride to stardom started.
Also, there are new interviews with the band members, telling stories from the Reading Festival and the recording of "Under the blade".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Trip Down Memory Lane, 15 July 2014
I had this album and the Ruff Cuts EP when they first came out and although the album has long been lost I never renewed it on CD. I even took it along to the local record shop, Listen in Glasgow, to meet them and have it signed. Decent bunch of guys if I recall that were fantastic live. Anyway, I digress.

The album is, as another reviewed says, very reminiscent of hard rock punk but with great vocal, skillful solos and fantastic riffs. The remixed version is far too bassy and boomy but it doesn't detract from the quality of the songs; fast, hard, in-your face riffs that still sound good after 30 years. The initial impact of What You Don't Know is still there with it's punchy chords and every song after that is a gem. Well, all of them apart from Bad Boys of Rock 'n 'Roll, which is a cheesy pop song but 8 song out of 9 ain't bad so it gets 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC 1ST ALBUM FROM DEE & THE BOYS, 30 April 2013
THIS WAS TWISTED SISTER'S FIRST ALBUM ORIGINAL RELEASED IN 1982 ON THE INDEPENDENT BRITISH PUNK LABLE SECRET X9 RECORDS. THIS IS AN EXCELLENT DEBUT FROM THE TRANSVESTITES OF ROCK & ROLL.
INCLUDES THEIR BREAKTHROUG HIT - SHOOT EM DOWN .
YEARS LATER IT WAS RE-RELEASED AS THIS VERSION IS ON THE ARMOURY RECORD LABLE.
THIS SPECIAL ADDITION INCLUDES THE CONCERT DVD LIVE! AT READING - ENGLAND 1982 WERE TWISTED SISTER HAD JUST MADE IT BIG! THERE ALSO IS BONUS INTERVIEW FOOTAGE ABOUT A COW S***ING HITSELF AS MARK THE ANIMAL MENDOZA STARTED TO PLAY BASS - VERY FUNNY INTERVIEW .
A GREAT ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Special Edition?! Hell Yeah!!, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is great! 'Under The Blade' + 'Ruff Cutts' EP + DVD of TS playing at Reading Festival in their prime AND interviews with the band! Simply a must for the discerning SMF! (Note: 'I'll Never Grow Up Now!' is not on this version of the album).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first is the best, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great debut album, heavy metal as it should be, Dee's vocals here are awsome.
I can't find any song who isn't good, most of the album will bang your head automatically.
It is evil, wicked, the sound is awsome, an album you must own in your collection.
That is why i like rock and roll, you can't find this experience in any other genre.
Buy it, you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under The Blade
Under The Blade by Twisted Sister
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews