Customer Reviews


292 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


634 of 645 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horses for Courses
Read around on the internet and you will find a fairly reliable consensus emerging on Bose noise-cancelling headphones. Audiophiles tend to hate them, because they are expensive but have low fidelity (compared to headphones in their price bracket); people who buy them purely for noise-cancelling tend to like them, and even think that they sound pretty good...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by Sordel

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well conceived but poorly executed [EDIT - they were fake]
[Turns out that the headphones were not genuine Bose - returned for a full refund with no fuss from Amazon]

As with any headphones there are 4 key aspects: sound, comfort, features and build.

Firstly sound: there are no two ways about it; the sound from these headphones is superb and the noise cancelling doubly so. I cannot fault these headphones for...
Published 16 months ago by Mr James M Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

634 of 645 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horses for Courses, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
Read around on the internet and you will find a fairly reliable consensus emerging on Bose noise-cancelling headphones. Audiophiles tend to hate them, because they are expensive but have low fidelity (compared to headphones in their price bracket); people who buy them purely for noise-cancelling tend to like them, and even think that they sound pretty good.

NOISE CANCELLING

Audiophiles who want noise mitigation tend to go for the passive attenuation used with IEMs (in-ear monitors, like the sort that performers wear on stage). I have some Shure IEMs, and they are very good at blocking out external noise, but at the cost of inserting something into your ear canal. Worse, in an environment such as a plane, you are often interrupted and have to pull them out of your ear canal, meaning that you have to keep struggling with refitting. (Yes, you can get a microphone unit to avoid this, but that's pretty inconvenient in itself.) Let's not even talk about earwax!

The Bose headphones are very easy to move and replace, so what you lose in absolute attenuation is more than offset by convenience.

The attenuation itself is very good. Without noise cancelling turned on, the headphones do a good job of muffling the external world, but when you turn it on there is a clear "silencing" effect. I haven't tested other noise cancelling headphones, but from reading reviews I'd say that it's pretty clear that Bose are technically the best and - even though these headphones will not silence the external world or even come clear to it - once you actually start playing music your brain tends to go along with the process and exclude any distracting noises that might make it past the active cancelling.

It took me a while to get to try these in a plane, but there is absolutely a reason why the QC15s are so popular with air travellers. I always assumed that the audio output from plane seats was very poor, but once the environmental sound has been reduced from a rumbing bass roar to a comparatively benign mid-level hiss you can enjoy a film far more ... or your portable music player, if you'd rather. For a substantial part of the flight I was completely unaware of ambient noise.

Note that the lower listening volumes possible with these headphones, together with the passive attenuation in the earpad designs, means that these headphones have very little leakage. They are certainly kinder to other people in the room than any other headphones I have used.

BUILD QUALITY & COMFORT

Bose are often criticized on build quality: certainly the QC15s are very "plastic" in feel and you may be disappointed compared with some other headphones in the price bracket, which employ expensive or exotic materials. The "leatherette" headband and ear pads are functional, no better. My AKG K701s, which cost about two thirds of the price of the QC15s, look and feel like a much more expensive headphone.

That said, the QC15s are very light and surprisingly comfortable. Rather than being directly above the crown of the head, the headband is angled slightly forward, meaning that they are not going to move about when you lean back in your seat, and although the clamping effect against the ears is strong enough to result in hot ears, it is perfectly comfortable to wear spectacles at the same time as these headphones.

There are also some nice design touches in the QC15s. The battery compartment is very easy to access (yet secure) and takes one AAA battery (unlike the QC3s which used a special rechargeable battery). The cable snaps into the headphone on a special proprietary coupling. This means that the cable should be fairly easy to replace if it becomes damaged. (In any case, in the UK Bose give you a second cable included in the price: it's the cable for controlling Apple devices, which has a microphone on it, a volume switch and a pause/answer button.) The cable also has a slider on it so that if you are using the headphones on a plane you can set it to a higher resistance in order to compensate for the high gain circuits used in flight cabins: the difference is not enormous, but it is definitely helpful. Oh, and the cable is very light and straight: you might feel that it is flimsy, but actually I think that a light cable is very practical.

Stated battery life from one AAA battery is about 30-35 hours. You can't run the headphones at all without battery power, so battery lifetime is important. Fortunately, the operation light on the side of the headphones gives you very generous warning when the battery is low: it starts flashing when you have about five hours left. Some reviews have pointed out that it would be nice to be able to run the headphones passively without engaging the sound cancelling circuit (for example, for listening at home in a quiet room) but my feeling is that, in the real world, you are unlikely to be caught without a battery.

The QC15s come with a clamshell case that is really quite nice. The ear units fold flat against the moulded inside of the case, and it seems to offer enough protection that you could stuff it in a bag without worrying, although do bear in mind that overall the headphones in their case are a similar size to a hardback book, so they do take a toll on space in your hand luggage.

SOUND QUALITY

The QC15s are not neutral: they can sound airless in the highs (although this may be a feature of the noise cancellation itself); they sound slightly thin (I could almost say "tinny") in the mids; they boom in the lows, giving a likeable but not natural bass, and their bass extension is okay, but nothing special. You'll notice their weaknesses most on drums and acoustic or electric bass, which can have decent volume and boom but lack the impact and weight that you would get from a really good headphone. That said, the stereo image is good and the QC15s can be quite impressive on music that has sustained bass notes: what you lose out on attack is made up for on sustain.

You can compensate for the lack of punch by turning up the volume, but I don't recommend this. These headphones drive very easily and can be played at absolutely deafening volumes, but (in addition to being very bad for you) this is completely contrary to the entire design: these are intended to be listened to at comparatively low volumes, where their sound characteristics makes them a natural "loudness" circuit. If you listen to the QC15s at (very) high volumes the sound gets very muddy and uncontrolled.

Although it may sound as though I am really down on the sound quality, if you listen generally to popular music, classical or jazz, these headphones are easily good enough for dedicated home listening. They definitely struggle on hip hop, where their bass coloration and lack of real weight clashes horribly with the artificial EQ on that music. To be honest, though, unless you live on a constant diet of bass-intensive music you will be fine, and many owners will be trading up from headphones that may sound nowhere near as good as these do.

One big surprise with the QC15s was how good they are for surround sound. For interest, I tried the QC15s out of a Creative DDTS-30 (which is a little pocket-sized decoder that can provide a Dolby Headphone output) and they do a wonderful job with DTS sound such as the Steven Wilson mix of King Crimson's Starless and Bible Black. The colouration of the QC15s is also spot-on for gaming, with a lot of volume and a very good "out of the head" performance. It's a rather niche use for Bose headphones, but definitely worth trying.

I also tested these headphones with an iPhone and the Apple-compatible cable and was impressed how well the QC15s handled a phone call: the two people talking in the room with me were nicely "muted", the headphones were much better than the iPhone's built-in speaker at reproducing the voice of the person I was talking to, and the in-line microphone seemed to do a good job at picking up my voice. I don't have much use for this aspect of the QC15s, but it's something to bear in mind if you have a need for this functionality.

You should also note that I did listening tests for this review against the AKG K701s out of a headphone amp in a quiet environment. The K701s are a lot more difficult to drive than the QC15s, so if you are using headphones primarily with, for example, an iPod then the QC15s will cope a lot better than many "hi-fi" headphones.

OVERALL

These headphones are designed to be used in noisy environments, whether that means a plane or just a living room where someone is watching a television. As such, it isn't fair to complain that they don't have the same sonic fidelity as other headphones at their price point; the simple fact is that the Bose will sound much, much better than a high-fidelity headphone because you can hear them much better at tolerable volume settings. These headphones are absolutely not "jacks of all trades": they serve a practical purpose and the price premium that they carry reflects how well they do that.

There seems to be a lot of room for improvement in the QC15s but, at time of writing, they are pretty clearly the class leader for what they do and I didn't want to subtract a star since (on a major investment like this) most readers would be seriously put off by the suggestion that these are anything less than a five-star product. Bose has got the key things - noise cancelling, comfort and technical design - right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing., 15 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
I never thought I'd call a gadget "life-changing". It sounds like the hyperbole of intelligence-insulting marketing. But I think it's fair to call these headphones just that.

I have a middlingly horrible commute through central London in my working week. An hour each way on two of the Tube's busiest lines. All the research shows that commutes over 45 minutes significantly overall life satisfaction. But now, most days I look forward to this commute, thanks to these headphones. The noise-cancelling is good enough to turn the grimmest part of my week into a couple of hours of self-indulgence, of proper concentration on the music and audiobooks I love.

Then, in my highly distracting open-plan office, I listen to hours of music, or recordings of background noise like birdsong and rivers to help concentrate and block out colleagues' conversations. Sometimes I just have the near-silence of the noise-cancelling. Although earplugs can do this for just a few pence, they represent a passive aggressive rebuke to everyone around you that will give you a reputation as an angry loner. By contrast the headphones mean you can pass yourself of as someone who just really likes his or her music. Such things are important.

So, five out of seven days in my week have now been improved significantly by theheadphones. Life changing by any measure.

It's important to point out that the noise-cancelling does not totally block out the sound of a rattling train or most other intrusive noise. But it's equally important to try the phones properly, for at least an hour, before making your judgment. Having shelled out over two hundred quid you may get annoyed to hear any background noise over your music when out and about. But wait and you'll learn something interesting about the human brain: if the distraction is below a certain threshold, it gets totally edited out. These headphones, crucially, get the background noise of trains and aeroplanes below this threshold. Even for classical music, which has many quiet or silent bits, the noise-cancelling is good enough for you to enjoy it in most everyday scenarios.

They are also very comfortable. I've gone several hours wearing them without my ears getting hot and painful. And the single AAA battery lasts a weirdly long time. I listen for several hours a day and seem to need to change the battery only every four or five weeks. This is longer even than the manufacturer's estimate of battery life.

They are expensive, but in terms of pleasure per penny spent, I've never owned anything better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Product - well worth the money!, 25 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
I managed to snatch a pair of these headphones when Amazon was offering a slight price reduction, just short of £230 if my memory proves right. However, like all Bose products, whatever store you go to, it's going to be the same price.

Anyway - on to the review. I did a lot of research on these headphones, and in my opinion you can't go wrong. WhatHiFi gave them a "Best noise-cancelling headphones Award", so they must be pretty good. Granted, they're not flashy and if you're looking for something like that (with mediocre sound quality) you'd best go for the Beats. However, Bose have kept to their standards with this fantastic pair of headphones. It comes with a hard-shell carrying case, perfect for throwing in a bag and for storing them safely. They also include two separate audio cables (as the cable is detachable), one includes an in-line microphone and button set which is compatible with Apple devices and some select Android handsets, the other cable is just a standard one. As Bose always seems to advertise this product for the airline traveler, they include an airline adapter, but I must admit they fit very well in all normal situations!

The sound isolation is very good. I was able to block out the vast majority of outside and ambient noise. I've tested them in a car as well and they worked amazingly well. If you've never had noise isolation/cancelling headphones before, it might take a while for your ears to become adjusted to it - but I suffered no problems with this.

All in all, a fantastic product and a fantastic buy at any price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly amazing products - utterly amazing company, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
This isn't actually a review about the QC-15 as I have a pair of the QC-2 - but bear with me because what I have to say is about my long term experiences having owned 2 QC-2s for over 6 years (one for me and one for my wife). 95% of people putting reviews on here will be able to tell you how good their headphones are after a month or maybe 6 months or even a year but how many can tell you just how long these things last? Just how good the build quality really is?

So... I don't normally write reviews on products but I felt compelled to let people know just how different and amazing Bose are. I bought their quiet comfort 2 headphones about 6 years ago - needless to say they were/are utterly amazing. I've literally heard new instruments on songs that I'd never heard before - and yes they really do make things quieter when travelling.

However, when you pay that much money for a pair of headphones they really should be good... that much is a given.

No... the reason I'm writing this review is because after 6 years of almost constant use they are STILL working absolutely fine - the only thing that's gone wrong are the ear cushions which have finally given up the ghost and fallen apart having been an almost permanent feature of my head for 6-8 hours of every day, day in day out... I've had things that break after just 6 months of use! In fact, 90% of the electronics I've ever bought in the last 10 years have died after about a year or two - be it from Sony or Panasonic. Nothing lasts these days.

My beautiful and trusty headphones are THE only electronic item that have managed to keep on going. When I asked the customer care person how long their headphones are expected to last as I was contemplating just buying new ones instead of replacing the cushions, he said 10 plus years is quite normal, and then... this is the bit that really shocked me. If I DO get a problem with the headphones, even though I am way outside the warranty period, I can hand them back and upgrade to the new QC-15 for just £109.00... I was utterly gob-smacked. That's about 1/3 of their retail price. This would be like going back to BMW having driven their car for 6 years and saying hey can I trade in my old and now broken 1 series and buy your new model for just £10,000?

YES you pay a premium. But what do you get? Something which ACTUALLY works - something that was BUILT TO LAST - and should it fail, incredible customer care.

This is how things should be. I WILL BUY EVERYTHING FROM BOSE FROM NOW ON... simple as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting headphones, Worth every penny if you want a quality sound and top class noise cancellation, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
Bose have engineered a very clever pair of headphones here, they are quite a few years old but no product can match it's capabilities. The price of the headphones are higher than what most would be prepared to pay, however there is a justification for this. At a retail price of 259 pounds, no matter where you look; the price of a Bose product will always be the same.

Build:
The headphone feels and looks very smart, constructed of high quality plastics which are reasonably strong. The leather and padding of the headband is very comfortable, the same applies for the leather ear cups filled with memory foam. The leather is of a high quality and is very durable, meaning that you could get away with using the headphones for extreme periods of time without having to replace the leather or padding. My previous Bose headphones: Bose AE2 had tear in its ear pad leather due to accidental damage; however I got on to bose and told them what had happened and they replaced both ear pieces- free of charge! I must say Bose's customer service is very helpful and will deal with your questions/issues swiftly. The carrying case is very durable too, meaning when you put them in the case; the case will take a good battering without effecting the headphones.

Noise cancellation:
These headphones are known to be the top of it's class in this department. What Hi-Fi and many other critics magazines will say the same, to this day; even now on the 17th of July 2014 no product has yet been able to match it's noise cancellation powers. I will say the noise cancellation will leave you amazed. It is literally one of the most amazing feelings you can possibly receive. We've all been in a position where the environment around us is noisy, and is getting in the way of your personal audio experience. Specially engineered to block out engine and wind noises, such as aviation, train and motor vehicle sounds. It all starts when you put them on your head, you begin to realise the difference, then you turn them on; A sudden blockage of outside noise, leaving you much more relaxed in your own little acoustic room. it is truly amazing.

Sound Quality:
The sound of the headphones is impressive. While not sounding completely flat, all genres of music sounds lifelike and accurate presenting a lot of sounds which you may not have discovered in a song before. They are also very well balanced with all types of music, fast, snappy timing also impresses. Treble sounding sweet on every cymbal crash while not sounding overly sharp, the midrange is accurate; perhaps not the very best in the price range, however will not leave the listener disappointed and most will not notice my opinion. The Bass is very punchy, without being boomy or skull rattling unlike the products of monster dr.dre beats. There is plenty of bass for anyone here, unless your one of those who prefer very heavy bass; but I personally prefer to listen to a song how the artist intended it to be. Bose has added a little more bass here, though, and this is what I mean by these headphones not being completely flat. As sound quality goes; you can get a better sounding headphone without paying as much as this; but do you really want to be without it's class-leading noise cancellation?

I hope my review will help your decision. Very happy with my pair.

Please note: They do require AAA batteries to work; no batteries= no music or noise cancellation. Be sure to keep a spare in the carrying case provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for frequent flyers., 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
Lets start by stating the obvious. These are expensive and they don't work as earplugs. So if you want to totally isolate everything save yourselves 279 pounds and buy earplugs instead. Same thing if you don't need noise reduction. Buy a cheaper set of headphones and you should be fine.

BUT if you are a frequent flyer or commuter and you want to travel and hear music or watch a movie without getting all this annoying engine and background noise then you need to buy these headphones. When turned on they almost eliminate all engine noise. I was seating in a window seat next to the engine and the only thing that I could hear was a minor hum. When I took the headphones off I was surprised by the amount of noise they were cancelling.

But what about people voices? Well you can still hear them but as if they come from far away. Remember these are not earplugs. To totally eliminate them play some music in low volume (20 - 30%) and everything disappears. And if you want to watch a movie there is no problem at all. This was the first time that I managed to hear everything crystal clear.

So what is the verdict? 5 stars by far! The only thing that I regret is not buying them earlier!

Update 1.

The iphone cable also works with android. You just need to go to Google Play and download any headset button configuration application. It will not support up and down but you can still change tracks and volume with the middle button.

The comfort is great even for long periods.

The isolation (meaning other people not been able to hear your music) isn't the best one but is good enough.

The case is just perfect.

The battery lasts for more hours that you will ever need and they also run on rechargable ones so just buy a pack and you will never need to worry again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey, but worth it, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
I have had this product for almost a year now. I don't use it a huge amount and I hardly fly anywhere (which I think is one of Bose's key markets for this product). However, whenever I use this product I am always impressed.

I use this product in my office to cut down the surrounding noise, and also when I am working in noisy server rooms. I suppose a server room is a similar sort of "thrum" as you would get on a plane. It won't totally stop sudden noises (for example fireworks), but it will reduce the volume of them considerably.

In short I think this product is excellent - it takes an oppressive, tiring environment and turns it into easily bearable near-silence.

I find them fairly comfortable, but I see how some people would feel that they were putting pressure on their ears. I think this is an area where you just have to see how it affects you. They do make your ears a little sweaty after a while, but you will find that both of these situations occur with any closed back headphone. I suppose the answer is to take them off for a couple of minutes every half an hour - which can only be good for you.

In terms of sound quality, I am used to high end hi-fi at home (so I know what I am listening for), and yes, these headphones would be beaten by an equivalent-priced pair of Sennheisers or Grados. However, they produce a very good overall sound that I don't think anyone should really complain about. Remember, you are buying these headphones because you want to isolate the outside and have a bit of tranquility for yourself - so why would you want to replace that outside noise with thumping heavy bass?

I think Bose deserves two thumbs up for this product - technically they are well thought out (they even have a nice slim 3.5mm connector that will fit into a smartphone without fouling the smartphone case). I have the Bose Stereo upgrade (with noise cancellation etc) in my Audi and I am suitably impressed with it as well.

The main criticism that I tend to read is about sound quality - if you are nit-picking, yes, you can find better, but in terms of the way it transforms a tiring nightmare environment into a near-silent foundation onto which you can lay your favourite tunes, I think these are a very tough act to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing for everything!!, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
"I utterly love these and they have absolutely the best noise cancelling of any headphone I've tried. They are comfortable but quite warm, and compared to the AE2s (which I also have) they are a little heavier and seem to squeeze a little more. On a long flight my ears did get hot - but that's a necessary part of the design I guess. They need a battery in order to work - no battery no sound at all! The sound is excellent too, and I don't notice the "whoosh" that you get with some other noise cancelling sets.

If you are going to travel regularly by aircraft, or even bus or train, or really want to use the noise-cancelling function then I don't believe there's a better set of cans out there. However for "lighter" listening or longer-term stuff (say, every day at work) I'd sooner choose the Bose AE2 model for comfort, weight, price and coolness. I went a bit mental and ultimately bought both - I'm glad I did as they are both quite different."

So I wrote the above on 13th Nov 2011, so Amazon tells me. And here we are in 2014, where I feel compelled to update you.

I STILL love my Bose QC15s, in fact I love them even more! Originally they were just for aircraft use but I had a midlife crisis and am now back at university. I have to work in a library with irritating noisy people and these are totally my salvation! Tunes on, ahhhhh solitude. I'm in London now and they're brilliant for noisy screechy tube. In student accommodation they block out most of the irritating noise. Also if I decide to work in a cafe etc. the same applies - block out the irritating outside world and get on with my work. In my work bubble. Win.

They are quite big to carry to around, and I did try normal in-ear ones in place, but no. These are worth effort of carrying around as they are peace and solitude in a box!

If you have the cash please BUY THEM!! Cannot recommend highly enough - they keep me sane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
Does the job what I bought them for to block out aircraft noise very good would recommend to anyone for noise cancelling any occasion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Bose ® QuietComfort ® 15 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black/Silver (Electronics)
What a wonderful item. Really impressive, sound quality superb, nice carry case and really comfortable to wear! Wish only that the branding wasn't so visible on the side of the earphone which I am sure would not pose a problem sitting in a business class airplane cabin but potentially a tad more problematic on the London underground!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews