Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but to the point
Although this novella was only 90 pages long, it delivered quite a punch. With a slow start describing Mimi's life as a lawyer in America, the book opens out to describe her past as a child in Saigon before it fell to the Communist North, and the difficulties of escaping from the country.

Mimi's escape was traumatic enough and she was devastated to leave a much...
Published on 20 Oct 2011 by DubaiReader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories
Although a small book. It was very interesting from the author's perspective. I reminded me of the vivid scenes on TV of the people trying to escape Vietnam
Published 22 months ago by Irene Farquhar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but to the point, 20 Oct 2011
By 
DubaiReader "MaryAnne" (Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although this novella was only 90 pages long, it delivered quite a punch. With a slow start describing Mimi's life as a lawyer in America, the book opens out to describe her past as a child in Saigon before it fell to the Communist North, and the difficulties of escaping from the country.

Mimi's escape was traumatic enough and she was devastated to leave a much beloved grandmother. But many were even less fortunate and suffered as the 'boat people' that we heard so much about on the news at the time. With storms, pirates and often refusal on their eventual arrival, this was an hugely risky way to escape.

The postcards of the title arrived from Thailand without return addresses, signed 'Nam'. At first Mimi could not fathom who they could be from, but when she finally realises the identity of Nam she is forced to remember suppressed memories from her childhood.

Mimi interviews several survivors, to relate a piece of history that has probably slipped from many memories.
Although this is the third of a trilogy, I did not feel I should have read the other books first. Having read Postcards From Nam, however, I would very much like to read the previous 2 books.
Written in a slightly awkward style, I would still recommend this for its powerful content.
For an alternative read based in Vietnam, I would also suggest The Man From Saigon by Marti Leimbach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Crafted Writing, 31 Aug 2011
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I chose this book from the Amazon Vine newsletter, the premise of the story really appealed to me, and I've not read many novels set around Vietnam before - so was interested to learn a little more. This is a novella really at just 100 pages long, but every one of the pages contain words that really touch the heart.

Mimi is a succesful lawyer based in America, she is a Vietnamese immigrant who has americanised both her name and her lifestyle. Mimi's family were lucky enough to be able to leave their home in South Vietnam just before the North took over. Other family members and friends were not so lucky though, and Mimi has distanced herself from the memories of her past. Then, out of the blue, postcards begin to arrive. Beautifully, hand drawn postcards that are personal to Mimi, and to her past. Who is sending them, and why? What do they mean?

After speaking with her family, it becomes clear to Mimi that these cards are being sent by Nam. Nam was a childhood neighbour back in Vietnam and Mimi has heard nothing from him for years. Determined to find out more about the cards and about Nam, Mimi tracks down refugees and learns through them, of Nam's ordeals over the past years. He has suffered dreadfully, yet still he remembers her.

There are some haunting passages in this short novel, the terrors suffered by Nam over the years are harsh, yet his love for Mimi never dies and his art work iives on.

This is a beautifully crafted story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 16 May 2012
By 
D. Pearce "djarmhp" (rainham, kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is more of a Novella than a novel, but it doesn't suffer from this brevity. Many novels outstay their welcome but this one knows when to stop before leaving the reader wanting less! The postcards of the title are sent to a lawyer called Mimi who has settled in America after escaping from the Vietnam of her childhood. They bring back memories of that time and each one is simply signed 'Nam'. Clearly Nam knows her but she doesn't know Nam. Mimi goes on a search for him, but will she like what she finds? This is best read in one sitting and will reward the reader with a deceptively emotional story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this unusual read. It was quite short but a good read, ideal for a long train journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Kindle Edition)
Although a small book. It was very interesting from the author's perspective. I reminded me of the vivid scenes on TV of the people trying to escape Vietnam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and feels unfinished?, 2 Sep 2011
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a short novel of appoximatly ninety pages and is the third installment of a trilogy. It explores some meaningful issues from the Vietnamese point of view after the US-Vietnam War giving voice to the Vietnamese Boat People and the Vietnamese immigrant communities. This is a short novel and further padded out by a ten page postscript written by a friend of the author who attempts to interpret its meaning praises the author's creativity talent. Not a bad read but not one I would go back to and came away wanting to know so much more detail than what was delived about the characters and how they developed. Maybe a forth novel in the series will deliver this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Novella, 17 Aug 2011
By 
HJK (Gomersal UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a Novella in less than 100 pages and is a work of fiction.

Mimi (Mi Chau originally from Saigon) starts to get Postcards from Nam in Thailand in 1988.

Mimi at first cannot remember Nam - then memories slowly start to surface and flood back - memories that have been suppressed for many years and it takes her a decade to find out what became of Nam and looks at the tragic events in their lives from the end of the war in Vietnam.

The Novella leaves you wanting to know so much more and yet it does convey very much in its short format.

This book leaves you wanting to learn more about the history of Vietnam. The author has written 2 other books both recently published in March 2011: Daughters of the River Huang & Mimi and her Mirror. I think this is the same Mimi and if so would like to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this book although different to my usual genre. Well written and interesting look at a piece of modern history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Goes no where, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Kindle Edition)
really disappointed. the history is piecemeal and you don't really learn anything. Mimi doesn't have many redeemable features so there is no reason to become emotionally involved. Too short to be good and Mimi is irritating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Postcards From Nam (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the first half, but the novella lost coherence and momentum towards the end, which is a great shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Postcards From Nam
Postcards From Nam by Uyen Nicole Duong
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews