Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2011
Don't buy this if you're looking for a comprehensive guide to the etymology of English placenames, but it's a brightly written introduction to the subject. Taggart takes a pretty arbitrary selection from different parts of the country and sketches out some of the more common occurences and gives a little history here, an amusing anecdote there. As a resident of the city of the followers of a dark-age cheiftan called 'Snot', I'd recommend this for a casually interested reader or beginner.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
Take a journey into England's past in this county-by-county guide to the meanings behind the names of our towns and villages. Caroline shows how deciphering place names reveals how generations of our ancestors lived, worked, travelled and worshipped, from Viking invaders and Norman conquerors right up to the Industrial Revolution; and why so many place names have tall tales and ancient legends attached to them. Whether it is Indian Queens (was it really visited by Pocahontas?), Sixpenny Handley (not named after its perceived value), Gatwick which means `farm where goats are kept ("not any more, it's not," comments Caroline), Good Easter or Westward Ho! (the only place name in Britain that ends in an exclamation mark), Caroline uncovers many interesting and informative meanings.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
I love this book. Bought it on hard copy then downloaded a copy to my kindle. I refer to it regularly. Engrossing subject, extremely well written. Love Caroline Taggart's humourous writing style. Makes a fascinating subject even more enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
Informative and interesting. Quite a history lesson in the origins of the place names! Great fun looking up places of special interest or just looking at random.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
Informative tome but I was disappointed by the lack of small villages in this book.Perhaps there should be books moretoo a specific areas.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This book is okay for many town and village names, but I was surprised to see how many were described as unknown-why put them in if you don't know. It got a little irritating after looking up the fifth unknown...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
It's okay, but very selective in what places are mentioned. I would have expected more places to be included, but I'm still glad I've got it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Reviews indicated this was an introduction and rather elementary. As such it suits me well. Amusing, well-written and adequately informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Some useful info in here and great for reference purposes. Some place names could have done with a bit more detail
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Does the job what i needed it for - so informative and very easy to read & follow the information
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)