Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never seen that before!
The kindness of strangers? Or just a great way to make money? Who cares!

How wonderful it is to have so many "unofficial" KATE BUSH DVDs available to us now ... and this one is a real winner!

This DVD contains a number of amazing KATE BUSH performances that I have NEVER seen before, in particular, the breathtaking live performance of "The Man With...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by Michael Young

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars obscure dvd to find on amazon
This dvd is a selfmade issue but with semi professional artwork. The footage is quite rare and in very acceptable quality.
1. Wuthering heights, filmed during a Festival in Italy, 1978, on stage in front of thousands of people. Their is some colour difusion but still very acceptable. The audio is taped from the cd and layed upon the video footage, so although fully...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by A. RANDSDORP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never seen that before!, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Michael Young (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
The kindness of strangers? Or just a great way to make money? Who cares!

How wonderful it is to have so many "unofficial" KATE BUSH DVDs available to us now ... and this one is a real winner!

This DVD contains a number of amazing KATE BUSH performances that I have NEVER seen before, in particular, the breathtaking live performance of "The Man With The Child In His Eyes" on top of a grand piano ... WOW!!!

The audio and visual quality of this DVD is great. It looks like they are taken from the original studio tapes, and it is fantastic to finally have "The Line, The Cross And The Curve" on DVD. It seems like we will never get these treasures through "official" channels!

If you love KATE BUSH, you will love this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you've been looking for "The Line, the Cross & the Curve" - buy this, 'cos it's included, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
When the DVD first arrived, my initial thoughts were that quality of the sleeve and disc printing were not exactly top notch - didn't look very different to the DVDs you would buy at a Bangkok street market, but as soon as I put the disc in the player all that was forgotten, met by a collection of Kate's performances which are very hard to find. The quality is a little inconsistent throughout, the `Hammer Horror' video in particular was not the best. So, a very welcome collection of Kate videos - which is well worth buying. And in case you're wondering, I think the only video which is also on the "And So Is Love" DVD is the live performance of `Running Up That Hill' (on stage at the London Palladium with Dave Gilmour) - so why not get both !

Includes the two versions of the "Don't Give Up" videos made by Godley & Creme .... The one with Kate cuddling Peter Gabriel, and the other one with their faces super-imposed over a film of some townsfolk in times of despair.

Interestingly, this product also includes "The Line, The Cross & The Curve" which was a 44 minute film Kate made back in 1993, hard to find a non VHS version these days. Along with a mono-brow'd Miranda Richardson as the mysterious Red Shoes dancer, Kate performs the six songs listed above intertwined with a short story. Her acting is not quite on a par with her singing, but the quality of this part of the `Rolling' DVD is very good, - Kate singing Moments of Pleasure on a large modern flat screen TV looks sensational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bootleg Beauty!, 25 April 2012
By 
L. D. Campbell (Burnley,Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
This is a wonderful collection of Kate's early T.v appearances mainly from foreign climbs, which some fans may have seen on youtube, but that still does not detract from the joy of being able to watch them at your leisure!
I am eternally grateful to the person who compiled this for including The Red Shoes Video album,which will bring tears of joy to any of Kates fans who missed it first time round, as well as all of us who now can no longer play our video version.
The picture quality is as crisp as virgin snow & the packaging is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars obscure dvd to find on amazon, 26 Mar 2012
By 
A. RANDSDORP (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
This dvd is a selfmade issue but with semi professional artwork. The footage is quite rare and in very acceptable quality.
1. Wuthering heights, filmed during a Festival in Italy, 1978, on stage in front of thousands of people. Their is some colour difusion but still very acceptable. The audio is taped from the cd and layed upon the video footage, so although fully sync, it is obvious the two are not related. It is nice though to see Kate do a playbacked performance in this early stage of her carreer. Enjoyable.
2. Wow, filmed at the San Remo Film Festival, in Italy, 1978. Filmed on a tiny stage with fine black background to make Kate stand fully out on front. Filmed with multicam visuals. You see some little deformation (camera cannot keep up with Kate's movements so you see some unwanted leftovers of images). Kate is very sexy and focussing on the camera. Great stage act, but again playbacked and with the cd version copied upon the video. No audience sounds like cheering or clapping have been allowed in the mix.
3. Hammer horor, filmed during the same show. Kate dressed up in black. You see colour blocks due to the digitalizing of the orignal tapes. Great dancer in black behind here to make additional movements. It is almost an official clip. Audio trademarks like previous 2.
4. The man with the child in his eyes. With the hair as on the back of Lionheart. Lying on top of the piano featuring real live vocals. Never saw this footage before. Great piano playing and other musical support. Exquisit performance by all involved. Breathtaking for kate fans, really.
5. Them heavy people. Real live performance on US TV. Dressed up in the yellow brown rain coat we know so well from the Hammersmith appearance.
Kate is blocked in her movements by having the mike in her left hand all the way, but still it is a great performance, but not as great as she has stand still on the same spot the whole time.
6. Babooshka from a french tv show is really something unexpected. At the background you see Christmas season greetings cards, and Kate has beautiful hair and black/blue make up. and a fantastic green dress. Never saw this one either. Haven't said this so far, all videos are not in HD quality, but they are full screen and enjoyable to watch on modern HD television sets.
7. Running up that hill. 1987, with david Gilmour. Very well known live version you can find on several bootlegs and on internet. Kate is beautiful with her Hounds of Love haircut and a bit fuller in the face which make her even more beautiful. David Gilmour on guitar, at Amnesty International's Secret Policeman's Third Ball concerts.
Very eighties haircuts from all participants haha.
8. Don't give up - a forgotten video clip you sometimes find on bootlegs with ugly red/blue backlight and a yellow moon. Apparently Peter and Kate felt the same. Still this one did get released somehow. Kate is very beautiful again.
9. Another obscure version with historical elements in it. I like this video very much.
10. Start of The line, the cross and the curve, a film by Kate for the RED SHOES album. Audio level is much lower here, I had to turn it up here a bit. You can find it on internet, but you always will get copies of the dvd.
I find the quality quite good, shame she never (re)released this on dvd. She starts with the videoclip of Rubberband girl.
11. Wonderful clip of And so is love, In my opinion the best track of the album. It ends with some acting and continues with the Red Shoes song.
12. The video proceeds with Lily. I find the acting not so strong but who care if you see kate in great shape with songs who grow on you with every litsten, especially after the release of the Director's cut..
13. Moments of plesure. Did I say that And so is love is the best track of the album. I must have forgotten on this one. With an amazing and wonderful video clip. Absolutely excellent.
14. Eat the music. Feelgood last song of the cd and the video. I still find the whole story board somewhat aquard but the images during music pieces are great. Great director of photography has been involved.

Well that's all folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD., 22 Mar 2014
By 
John Mcdermott "John" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
I agreed with all other reviews. Great to see the line,the cross and the curve again, really good quality DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
Great to see Kate in all her glory. Brings back memories. She's on great form as ever. Pity it's all old stuff though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DVD didn't work, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
DVD didn't work...could not watch it in my DVD player. It seems that it's not an official DVD. I can see from the other reviews that they didn't had problems, but unfortunately I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kate bush the best, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
Having been a fan for many years and hopefully many more I recommend anyone to listen to her
style of singing and excellent lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good way to obtain a DVD copy of 'The Line, the cross & the curve', 7 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
I bought this because I can no longer watch my video edition. I wouldn't normally buy a bootleg but there doesn't seem to be any other choice available. It has a collection of live tracks and videos too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what fans want!, 31 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kate Bush - Rolling (DVD)
...and why on Earth can't things like this be released by the artist themselves? There is a wealth of Kate Bush footage out there, and yet we don't have a single official DVD version of her videos, her Tour of Life concerts, Kate Bush on BBC2 (with the incredible performance of Roy Harper's "Another Day" with Peter Gabriel), her many TV appearances on TOTP and other music shows and so on. My VHS copies are getting old now, and I would hate to lose the means of watching this incredibly talented artist performing.

A huge thank-you to the creator of this DVD. I have been waiting to get The Line, The Cross and The Curve on DVD for many years, and the quality of this film on the DVD is very good indeed.

Kate - get this sorted. Your loyal fans WANT this stuff on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kate Bush - Rolling
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews