Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars2
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2011
This is book 8 of the series and brings together a storyline that began in book one as it features the niece of Kate the female lead in book one. Although this is the culmination of a relationship that has been simmering throughout the books - the first connection between Veronica, Michael and Wolf occurs as a result of desperate circumstances Veronica and Kate found themselves in back at the beginning. To get the most out of this story and understand the relationship with the other characters I would advise having read the other books in order as they do develop chronologically. However you could read this as a stand alone. All of these stories deal with a forbidden (and often unacknowledged) love between two men, and how the love each of them have for one woman helps them come together. But it is set in a back drop of early nineteenth century England, where such love is punishable by death, and many of the other rigid norms that society of the time conforms upon people. Samantha Kane evokes the rigidity and power of social mores brilliantly as well as the passion between all the characters borne out fear and need in their early experiences as soldiers in the Peninusula War with Napoloen. Each book deals with different psychological, emotional and physical problems, but they are very clearly romantic love stories at heart. This one more than the others brings in a flavour of the prevailing politics as it links to events in America as well as suffrage and slavery in England. There is a lot for each of the three leads to overcome before they can fully come together. It is a painful and bittersweet process, but well worth reading. I thoroughly recommend the whole series (start with The Courage to Love (Brothers in Arms, Book One) and look forward to further books in this engaging series.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)