Customer Reviews


1,864 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,513)
4 star:
 (203)
3 star:
 (64)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


304 of 317 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special features for all the Movies
Great set!! There are enough normal reviews here, so I just wanted to point out something important to some. Each of the first four movies have special features also. Just that they are located on the disk along with the movie, instead of on a separate disk. This isn't a reduced feature set like some were thinking. There are special features for all the movies.........
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected more from these Blu Ray discs.
I know that Blu-Ray wasn't around in those early Harry Potter films, but I expected the video quality from Blu Ray discs would be much better than watching from DVD discs. I watched them on my Sony PS3 with a high quality Monster HDMI cable connected to the Sony XBR TV, and the video quality in those early HP films was only okay.
Published 4 months ago by Paul Wong


‹ Previous | 1 2187 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

304 of 317 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special features for all the Movies, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great set!! There are enough normal reviews here, so I just wanted to point out something important to some. Each of the first four movies have special features also. Just that they are located on the disk along with the movie, instead of on a separate disk. This isn't a reduced feature set like some were thinking. There are special features for all the movies.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


787 of 841 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just To Clear Up The Audio Issue, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
PLEASE NOTE - THE REVIEW BELOW WAS WRITTEN FOR THE ORIGINAL BOX SET RELEASE WHICH WAS IN CIRCULATION UNTIL NOVEMBER 2013. WARNER IN THEIR INFINITE WISDOM, HAVE DECIDED TO SWITCH THE DISCS AND THE NEW DISCS ONLY CONTAIN ENGLISH AS AN OPTION IN DISCS 1-5 THE AMAZON LISTING ABOVE HOWEVER IS STILL INCORRECT AS USUAL - THE MAIN AUDIO TRACK IN DISCS 1-5 IS PURE PCM 5.1 UNCOMPRESSED SOUND - SELECT IT FROM THE AUDIO MENU IN CASE YOUR PLAYER AUTOMATICALLY DEFAULTS TO DOLBY DIGITAL AS THE AMAZON PLAYER OBVIOUSLY DID AND SO THE DINGBAT WHO WORKS FOR THEM WROTE DOLBY DIGITAL ABOVE AS THE MAIN AUDIO TRACK
ALL DISCS ARE REGION FREE
I received the box set this morning 30th november.
The discs in this set are identical to those that have appeared in previous incarnations of HP Box Sets up to an including the box set HP 1- 7 part 1.
Please note i'm talking about the basic box set not the 66 box set with the extra fancy packaging.
The audio on films 1-5 will default to dolby digital 5.1 , you have to enter the set up audio menu and select the PCM 5.1 sound option to get fully blown away by pure uncompressed cinematic sound , the highest quality there is out there.
Film 6 "Half Blood Prince" is best seen (and heard) with the Dolby TrueHD 5.1 audio option selected. Your player may default to this automatically but it's best to check in the pop-up menu audio options.Dolby TrueHD can be decoded to also play lossless uncompressed sound by your player/av receiver.
Both the Deathly Hallows films have dts-hd ma 5.1 audio as the best sound option. Check the menu to make sure you have it selected.
The discs also have a bewildering array of other audio and subtitle options with up to 15 audio options and 30 subtitles available.
FULL AUDIO & SUBTITLE OPTIONS

1) PHILOSOPHER'S STONE
Audio:
English (PCM 5.1)
English , French (Quebec) , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Chinese, Danish, Flemish, Swedish. ( All at Dolby Digital 5.1 448 kbps )

Subtitles: English , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Latin Spanish, Portuguese,Portuguese(Brazilian), Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

2) CHAMBER OF SECRETS
Audio:
English (PCM 5.1)
English , French (Quebec) , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Latin Spanish, Dutch, Chinese, Danish, Flemish, Swedish. ( All at Dolby Digital 5.1 640 kbps )except Dutch Japanese Swedish (448 kbps)

Subtitles: English , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Dutch, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Latin Spanish, Portuguese, Portuguese(Brazilian), Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

3) PRISONER OF AZKABAN
Audio:
English (PCM 5.1)
English , French (Quebec) , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Latin Spanish, Dutch, Danish, Flemish, Swedish. ( All at Dolby Digital 5.1 640 kbps )except Dutch Danish Catalan Swedish (448 kbps)

Subtitles: English , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Dutch, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Latin Spanish, Portuguese,Portuguese(Brazilian), Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

4) GOBLET OF FIRE
Audio:
English (PCM 5.1)
English , French (Quebec) , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Latin Spanish, Dutch, Danish, Flemish, Swedish. ( All at Dolby Digital 5.1 448kbps )

Subtitles: English , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Dutch, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Latin Spanish, Portuguese,Portuguese(Brazilian), Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

5) ORDER OF THE PHOENIX
Audio:
English (PCM 5.1)
English , French (Quebec) , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Latin Spanish, Dutch, Danish, Flemish, Swedish. ( All at Dolby Digital 5.1 640 kbps )

Subtitles: English , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Dutch, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Latin Spanish, Portuguese,Portuguese(Brazilian), Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

6) HALF BLOOD PRINCE
Audio:
English (Dolby TrueHD 5.1)
French, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Latin Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese, ( All at Dolby Digital 5.1 448kbps )

Subtitles: English , French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Latin Spanish, Portuguese, Portuguese(Brazilian), Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

7) DEATHLY HALLOWS 1
Audio:
English (dts-hd ma 5.1)
Spanish, Catalan, Czech ( All at Dolby Digital 5.1 640 kbps )

Subtitles: Japanese, English, Spanish, Arabic, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Slovakian, Swedish,

7) DEATHLY HALLOWS 2
Audio:
English (dts-hd ma 5.1)
Spanish, Catalan, Czech, Slovak ( All at Dolby Digital 5.1 640 kbps )

Subtitles: Japanese, English, Spanish, Arabic, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Slovakian, Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I CAN'T BELIEVE IT!!!!, 1 Dec 2011
By 
I just can not believe it.
I first loggged on to Amazon.com here in the United States, and I was about to order the Harry Potter Collectors Set, however, before placing my order, I started reading some of the reviews, some of the the people were giving very poor reviews/ratings to the U.S. released version of the collectors set.
I read one review from a man that said he was a U.S. citizen living in London, and he said that the UK version was so much better that the US version, OH MY GOSH!!, was he ever right.
I don't know why we in the United States are offered such a poor eqivalent, but we are.
If this set (UK version) is all that it is supposed to be, then I have made the right choice.
I placed my order at Amazon.co.uk, and I just can't believe how easy the whole purchase process was, even with the shipping.
I was equally amazed at the low price for everything, I was even given a currency conversion chart to show me the difference between British Pounds and U.S. Dollars.
YOU BRIT'S KICK ASS!!!!!....... I'm not sure what the British slang eqivalent to this phrase is, but believe me, it means VERY, VERY GOOD!!
I am supposed to receive my package by Thursday, December 7th, so, if I do, I will post an update and let you all know how it turns out.

Sincerely,
A Very Happy Texan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Myself and my partner love Harry Potter! The price is incredible considering it is all 8 films and on blu-ray. They would make a lovely Christmas present and affordable. Very happy with this purchase and we've watched all 8 already! Also delivery time was very quick and I received the box set within a few days after ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is exactly what I was looking for. It cost half the price to get this product shipped to America from England than just buying the American version...it also has more discs of special features than the US version and the box cover is even better. Finally it's completely region free so it will work wherever you take it. Buy this and be happy with yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


183 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Limited Edition Boxset, 30 Nov 2011
I just got this in the mail today (in case you're wondering, I got number 10,746). We all know how good the movies are, and if you're looking to buy this, you obviously like them a fair amount, so I won't bore anyone with a review of the movies. Despite there being 13 reviews here already about the movies or comparisons to what the US gets, I thought it was worth reviewing the actual boxset.

The box itself is very nice. It's hard and sturdy, certainly not a cheap job. You'd have to put quite some effort in to break it. You open it up and you get two fold-outs of discs and a nice little photo book. The book is quite nice. It's full colour, hardback and very nicely presented inside. Certainly nice for collectors. The first fold-out is labelled 'Years 1-5' and has a Blu-Ray disc and DVD disc for Philosopher's Stone, Chamber of Secrets, Prisoner of Azkaban, Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix. The second fold-out is labelled 'Years 6-7 part 1 and 2' and contains a Blu-Ray disc of each of the three movies, a DVD disc of each of the three movies, and a Blu-Ray disc for each of their Special Features.

However, despite my 5-star rating, it's not perfect. As you're probably thinking, there's no Special Feature discs for the first five movies, only the last three. The only other bad point is there's no kind of latch to keep the box closed. The lid just flops open when you place the box on it's side on your shelf. Prop it up against other DVDs/Blu-Rays/Books and you should be okay, but a bit annoying nonetheless.

Outside of those two bad points, it's a solid box worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Works perfectly on US PS3 and for an amazing price! Have viewed all films and special features without a hitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy box set, 30 Nov 2011
By 
A. ODowd (Margate, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received this box set today - two days early - so thanks to Amazon for that surprise - and I am not disappointed. In case anyone is interested, I got number 5,429 out of the 25,000 copies of this limited edition.

The blu-rays and DVDs are presented in a sturdy and attractive box which should protect them well. The photo album inside is also well produced with glossy pics of the cast from all eight films. The cover is flat with some very slight embossing and does not have a raised shield as the product picture kind of suggests it would.

Only one small gripe - you have to peel off the paper cover stuck around the outside of the box to be able to open it up, which is fiddly and means you will have to unstick that cover every time to get access to the discs unless you are happy to throw away the paper cover - which you are unlikely to want to do.

Apart from that, the product is good and having watched some of the discs already, the picture quality is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Potter Fan, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
There is no question that I enjoyed the movies! I've wanted the complete collection in Blu-ray since it was announced that there would be a movie for each book. I've watched 5 of the 8 discs and so far they have all played perfectly. What really amazed me was how quickly I received the collection - I live in the US and I received the collection from the UK in less than 2 weeks! I would and have highly recommended this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a fan like I am, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I absolutely love the Harry Potter books. I don't like everything about the movies, but this collection was the right price for me. I particularly love that it's region free since I'm in the UK now but will not be forever. This is a must have for anyone on a budget who likes the movies but doesn't neeeeeed all of the extras. Bigger bonus is that they are on Bluray. At the time of this review, the DVD set is only about 6 GBP cheaper. Might as well splurge on this set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2187 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5e6eec4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews