Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 30 Sep 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
Ace seem to dominate the market in pre-Beatle rock and roll and 'The Birth of Surf' shows their expertise. Carefully selected, these tracks are all from different bands, are presented in chronological order, and are accompanied by detailed track notes and plenty of photos. Surf is one of those odd genres that grows alongside mainstream pop and came at a time when the first flush of rock and roll had been flattened by a watered down version. Sometimes featuring three guitars or two basses and usually a sax or two, these bands are partly characterised by often being six or seven strong.

The title 'Birth of Surf' hints that 'surf' is an arbitrary tag, a suitable analogy nevertheless for a thrilling ride through what is basically rock instrumental music. Whereas The Shadows were supreme technicians with a stack of great melodies, these bands tended to sacrifice precision in favour of all-out assault. Even so, there are some beautifully-crafted tracks alongside the manic ones.

The first few tracks were probably recorded before the surf label existed. Significantly, they are mostly by artists who enjoyed mainstream hit success: Duane Eddy, Johnny & The Hurricanes, The Fireballs, The Ventures and Link Wray. Their influence on what followed is however clear. The obvious selections are all here too: 'Wipe Out', 'Pipeline' and the legendary Dick Dale's best-known track. Two further tracks that were resurrected for 'Pulp Fiction' are also included, but The Centurions and The Revels are not represented.

At first listen, many of the tracks sound much the same but on later hearing are nearly all are distinguished by something a little different. The Astronauts' percussive 'Baja' is especially impressive as is the helter skelter tempo whipped up by Eddie & The Showmen on 'Squad Car'. The latter band, incidentally, featured Howard Kaylan and Mark Volman, later the brains behind The Turtles, on saxes. The album finishes with 'Surf Creature' a slow, spooky ramble years ahead of psychedelia.

I've played this album so much that I've begun to look for albums by the artists featured. I was surprised to find that at least half of them have been subjected to CD reissues or compilations. 'The Birth of Surf' is a collection of infectious and often imaginative music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
Anyone who enjoys guitar based music would appreciate this collection of songs! From the more well known tracks like Dick Dale & the Deltones 'Miserlou' (featured on Pulp Fiction' and Wipeout by the Surfaris to more obscure ones. One of my favourites is 'Squad Car' by Eddie & The Showmen :)

I always dismissed Surf music as a relic of days gone by and would only be appreciated by people older than me, but if you love rock and roll or play guitar yourself you'll love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 12 July 2007
By 
The Bogie Fan (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
I've wanted a surf instrumental compilation for years, ever since i got the Pulp Fiction soundtrack.
This contains several of the surf tracks from Pulp Fiction plus 20+ others and is a great CD.
Admittedly you could always argue that they are all a muchness of a muchness but there really isn't a bad track on it and if you just want a surf instrumental compilation you really can't go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this cd if you are not sure where to start with surf., 23 July 2009
By 
P. Metcalfe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
I heard some random surf instrumentals in a friends car and wanted to hear more. I took a chance on this and there really was no better choice!
The more you listen the more you hear, the guitar sounds are wonderful and the inlay notes are great with some excellent pictures. This cd did not leave my player for 3 weeks. There are some tracks you will of heard before (mostly in Pulp Fiction) but son you will know them all. Basically I like it very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars birth of surf, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
Its a great c'd with many great hits that takes you back in time well worth giving it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong?, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (MP3 Download)
As with all compilation albums, there are some super driving, rocking star tracks and some dross, but with 170 of them, you can't be robbed at the low, low price. This has introduced me to some new (old) artists, but also provided a reminder that even successful artists like the Beach Boys have produced some duffers. This is a well mastered album with good and consistent volume, giving clear reproduction. So, lets all Dance With The Surfin' Band - (Hal Blaine & The Young Cougars). Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for newbies to surf, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
I've always liked the surf rock style but never really knew any particular bands so this is a perfect complication of good tracks to listen to. You can then pick any favourites out and look up the rest of their songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before The Beach Boys & Jan & Dean Was The Birth Of Surf., 25 May 2009
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
From Ace Records this is 26 surfing tracks from 1958 - 1963, original artists and original recordings, all in chronological order and no rubbish in sight.
The best for me is The Chantays' Pipeline and The Surfaris' Wipe Out.
Some better known artists like Duane Eddy, Johnny And The Hurricanes and Link Ray are mixed in with some rarities like The Fireballs, The Gamblers and The Blazers.
It's a brilliant collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the first wave, 10 May 2012
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
While Duane Eddy and other rock'n'roll instrumentalists have nothing to do with Surf as we know it these groups were the prime influence as you'll realise if you ever get the Belairs'CD The Origins of Surf Music 1960/1963.This CD on the ILOKI label comes with a 76 page booklet written by founder member Paul Johnson who explains just how their own music began the surf craze by nothing more than a remark by a surfer that "it sounded like you were on a surf board"
In time Duane Eddy and the Ventures were cutting their own surf albums but the Belairs made no more than one well antholgised single Mr Moto.However they led to the Challengers and Eddie & the Showmen.The above mentioned CD is of 26 tracks from home recordings and unissued stuff
The middle picture shown here is from a CD called Rare Instrumentals and is on the Deltone label-sleeve autographed by Dick Dale.
Johnson's notes about films which showed surfing made in the mid 50s say that the soundtracks were usually Cool Jazz to tie in with the beatnik origins of the music and the fact that beatniks were people who lived on the beach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HANGING ELEVEN, 4 Jun 2010
By 
P. Fraser (46200) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Birth Of Surf (Audio CD)
OUT AND OUT BRILLIANCE - ANOTHER FABULOUS COMPILATION FROM THE GUYS @ ACE - BUY IT - STEAL IT - Karcher S550 Outdoor Push Sweeper - GO WILD - HAVE FUN - HANG LOOSE - WET THOSE BAGGIES - OUF - CURL THAT HAIR -[[Curling Pins, Curling Grips, Head Curlers and Curious Saucy Parts Including Electric Wavy Hair Curlers and Toe Straightening Grip Irons: A 2007 Global Trade Buoyancy Aids]] - WAX THAT BOARD - TWANG THAT THANG - YOWZER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Birth Of Surf
The Birth Of Surf by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews