Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Won Me Over
I was never really sure about the Arctic Monkeys until this album. Over five years ago when they came onto the scene I thought they were heavily overrated and I still stand by the opinion that they were overhyped with typical ridiculous NME proclamations like 'best band since The Beatles etc'. Since then, I've listened to their work and it has grown on me over the years,...
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by MDD

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album but not hardcore Arctic Monkeys
I really liked the first two albums by this band. Crazy guitar riffs, deranged drum solos, witty lyrics that you could relate to, even though they were by a 19 year old guy from Sheffield (I live in East London and am twice his age). In the saturated music market, they were original.

The third album split opinion big time, and this album, to me anyway, appears...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by ZIMZIM


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Won Me Over, 2 Dec 2011
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
I was never really sure about the Arctic Monkeys until this album. Over five years ago when they came onto the scene I thought they were heavily overrated and I still stand by the opinion that they were overhyped with typical ridiculous NME proclamations like 'best band since The Beatles etc'. Since then, I've listened to their work and it has grown on me over the years, but still sceptical of their ability to add a lot more to their songwriting. Well this album shows me that there is a lot of life in this band yet and that they're not one trick ponies. There have been some mumblings from fans that this album doesn't nearly match their first two but I completely disagree. Suck It And See is the album that brings a lot more emotional depth to this band, and for a bunch of 25 years old, it's amazing to see the maturity of these songs compared to the relentless and raw first two albums. Albeit those two albums are fantastic, but Suck It And See brings more qualities to the band. Alex Turner croons his lyrics and is arguably his finest vocal performance yet, and you get echoes of Morrissey in this album also. For the most part, the sound is less raw and more sophisticated, taking a few ideas from the mixed bag of an album Humbug. The title track provides the best example while arguably being the band's most beautiful sounding song yet. For me, this is their best album yet. And they're still a young band so whatever they come up with next is going to be fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
Being a bit of a fan of the arctic monkeys I was surprised at this album. Alot of it is far less 'rocky' and far more 'acousticy' than usual. My friend actually told me this before I bought it and i almost didn't buy it as I mainly don't enjoy the acoustic sound. But I am a fan so in the end I bought it.

For any one out there who also thinks that they don't like acoustic sound much, DO NOT be put off buying this album. The supposedly acoustic songs are brilliant and my favourite ones on the album. Reckless Serenade is beautiful and starts with an amazing bass solo, Piledriver waltz has the fabulous lyric writing you can expect from Alex turner. Love is a Laserquest is one of their all time most beautiful songs. Suck it and see (the title song) is also catchy but also shows beautiful lyrics as well, some of my other favourites are black treacle and that's where your wrong. Over all this is another very strong album, and just because their direction is slightly different please don't let that put you off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not For Everyone - But Good Nonetheless, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
The Arctic Monkeys rose to prominence with a style of music that was fairly upbeat, lively and more rock orientated and with each new album they move further away from their early template, shedding fans with each new release along the way.

With the band's previous album, Humbug, the music became more difficult and experimental, with production duties being handled in part by legendary QOTSA/Kyuss musician Josh Homme.

For fans who were very turned off by Humbug, this latest album, Suck It And See is not the glorious return to the style of their debut album that you may be hoping for.

The musical direction suggested by excellent single `Don't Sit Down `Cause I Moved Your Chair,' and the drummer-singing pre-release track `Brick By Brick,' may have been misleading as the overall tone is less rock orientated than previous Arctic Monkeys material.

The album rather, is a mixture of the slower, more ballad style material such as Alex's solo work and Arctic Monkeys works like the B Side `The Bakery,' or `505,' from Favourite Worst Nightmare, with the experimental style found on Humbug (here especially on tracks such as the weird `Library Pictures,' and on `All My Own Stunts' where Josh Homme makes his fifth guest vocal appearance with the band)

Cleaner, more acoustic or quiet tracks such as `Reckless Serenade,' and `The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala,' form the majority of the album and there is even a reworking of Alex's solo ballad from the Submarine EP `Piledriver Waltz.'

Ignoring musical direction however, the album is very strong, with a diverse and musically interesting set of songs with the same vocal and lyrical style and quality you can always find in Arctic Monkeys music.

Overall, this album is worth checking out if you are a fan of everything the band do, and are happy with their progression and shifts in direction over the years, but I would not recommend it to fans who vastly prefer the style found on Whatever People Say I Am That's What I'm Not because this album is perhaps the polar opposite of that album, where a consistent set of sharp and direct songs are replaced with either subtle and ponderous or just downright weird ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album but not hardcore Arctic Monkeys, 17 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
I really liked the first two albums by this band. Crazy guitar riffs, deranged drum solos, witty lyrics that you could relate to, even though they were by a 19 year old guy from Sheffield (I live in East London and am twice his age). In the saturated music market, they were original.

The third album split opinion big time, and this album, to me anyway, appears to be a continuation of what began on Humbug.

A lot of journalists etc state that a band needs to 'grow' and 'mature'. Why? Isn't it enough that a band makes fantastic music that makes you enjoy your life more? Do I care that they aren't seen to be 'evolving'? I don't care at all. Good music is good music. By changing their original formula, this band aren't as good as they used to be. They used to have an original sound, now they sound like a lot of other bands. Don't get me wrong, this offering qualifies as a very very good indie album. It's just that it doesn't make your hairs stand on end like some of their early tracks used to do.

Songs like Library Pictures and All My Own Stunts will no doubt remind people of the type of music that they used to do. I'd be happy with an album full of songs like that.

Overall a great album, but what's wrong with a band having it's own sound? It never did Status Quo any harm, and look at their longevity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Career highlight, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
Arctic Monkeys were widely considered to be the saviours of the UK indie scene when they rocked into the national consciousness back in 2006. 'Whatever people say I am...' was rightly celebrated as a masterpiece, while 2007's 'Favourite Worst Nightmare' delivered more of the same. After the difficult third album 'Humbug' split opinion, Suck It And See heralded a stunning reinvention of sorts that saw the band vary the offering in fine style.

Set opener She's Thunderstorms is indicative of what's to come - a more confident, laid back, melodic sound that continues with the glorious Black Treacle. Radio-friendly hit the Hellcat Spangled Shalalala was ubiquitous in the summer of 2011, bringing jangly guitar pop into the mix, while the title track sees the band divert into ballad territory, albeit with their own recognisable stamp on it. Fans of their early work weren't excluded as the Monkeys showed they could still rock out, with Library Pictures being one of their finest frenzied tracks to date, and lead single Don't Sit Down Cause I've Moved Your Chair showcasing their lyrical wit as well as any of their work.

It's certainly not front-loaded with the best tracks either: As you'd expect from a band with such gravitas the quality is consistent right to the close. That's Where You're Wrong is the perfect finale that could easily have been a hit single had it been released as one, and proved the springboard into album number five.

With that fifth album - AM - now on the shelves, seeing the band venture even further into new territory, it's Suck It And See that for me remains their finest hour. And with a back catalogue as impressive as theirs, that's quite an endorsement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't reach the heights of Humbug, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Suck It And See (MP3 Download)
Suck It and See is a decent, but unexciting album. It won't be in your desert island discs, and even if you could pick one extra album for it after your selection, it still wouldn't. Established Arctic Monkeys fans will lap it up but unfortunately if someone had never heard of the Monkeys and you had this on in the car, they wouldn't ask: Who is this? There is no 'My Propeller', 'Crying Lightening' or 'Dance Little Liar'(all Humgbug) to come back to time and time again.

In terms of songs, Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved your Chair is a stand out above the rest with a brilliant rhythm guitar and crashing bass. She's Thunderstorms is pleasant and but towards the end you just want it to finish, the entire album is fairly forgettable once the album highlight 12th track,'Thats where you're wrong' is done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's finest pull out another cracker, 20 Nov 2011
By 
Stu62 (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
Fantastic album. No bad tracks at all and at least 5 (She's Thunderstorms, Black Treacle, The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala, Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair and Suck It And See) straight out of the top drawer. Up there with the previous 3 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great progression from first 3 albums, 11 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Varinder K. Duggal "vind" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
Strange to think this is their fourth album. It's very much a progression from their first 3 albums and has a deeper feel to it. It won't be a moshpit record but having listened to this for a few weeks, it is a real grower
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Their best album, 14 July 2011
By 
David (Prestwick, Ayrshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suck It And See (MP3 Download)
I read some (professional) reviews of this before and after buying it, and it seems to me that people are falling into the typical British trap of building up and then knocking down ie overhyping a band / artist / sports star to unrealistic levels and then tearing into them later as if they have let the whole country down.

I thought the first two AM albums were very good in a knockabout fun kind of way, but not the works of genius which some suggested. The third one was dull. For me, Suck it and See is their best album and a welcome change of direction. It has some great tunes on it, I love the chiming guitars which sound slightly retro and remind me of The Stone Roses which is a great thing. Alex Turner's singing is great and I still think his lyrics are brilliant, really clever!

Make sure you listen a few times before making up your mind or reviewing this, and listen to the whole album. My two favourite tracks are the last two.

I just made a AM playlist for my ipod and there were more songs on it from this album than any of the other three. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grown up sound and welcome change of pace, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suck It And See (MP3 Download)
I've read a lot of criticism from 'fans' saying the Arctics have lost their 'edge' or their 'sound' on this but I disagree. Yes, if you're looking for a re-hash of their earlier, louder, laddish sound you certainly won't find it here but this can only be a good thing. All good artists mature and move onto other ground and this album, for me, proves that the Arctics continue to produce their own brand of northern soulfulness. In place of anthemic northern lads-about-town songs which were great at the time, these songs are more reflective, thoughtful and tuneful melodies. Wistful but fresh. Personally,I'd rather artists progress and take a new direction than to keep using the same-old formula just to please some kind of blokish fan base. The Arctic Monkeys have done just that and good luck to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suck It And See
Suck It And See by Arctic Monkeys
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews