Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars74
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.24+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2016
Works wonders with PLA 3D printer filament. That's what I'm going to waffle on about here; I can't comment on how it works with other plastics.
Bit of a warning about how totally evil this stuff is in the last paragraph.

PLA (Poly Lactic Acid) is a type of plastic - actually derived from corn starch - that is used by many 3D printers. Like the replicator 2 that I own.
It took me ages to find something that would stick printed parts together; I tried superglues cheap, expensive, thick and thin consistency, two part epoxies (limited success and AWKWARD). You name, I failed with it.
THEN I came across this stuff. Fantastic.
This is pure Dichloromethane. (AKA "Methylene Chloride", "Dichlo" or "Diclo"). It says so on the label.
It isn't a glue. It's a solvent. It dissolves the PLA, and very rapidly evaporates.
So I've been applying this to printed surfaces with a modelling brush, then VERY QUICKLY pressing the parts together. Believe me you have to be quick. It evaporates so quickly that you only get 2-3 seconds to get the parts together. Because it evaporates so quickly, the bond is INSTANT. There's no chance really of repositioning.

That's all the good stuff; here's the bad:
This is a NASTY NASTY chemical. It is harmful to everything, including you. Mostly I ignore 'elf 'n safety, but not in this case. It's defintiely Carcinogenic. It definitely knackers your skin up. It definitely kills your eyes. I googled it and was horrified; I would stop using it but there's no alternative. So use in a very well ventilated area. Put the top back on immediately. Don't fiddle about with the next bit to be glued while the top's off. Don't get any on your hands.
Apologies if that sounds preachy, but this is stuff warrants caution.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
I've used this product for many years to repair broken polystyrene products. It is handy to keep ready for when needed which I do. The join is not as strong as the original as claimed but reinforcing the repaired area with another piece of similar plastic, where possible, can make a repair stronger than before. A useful product to keep around.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Gluing HIPS is always a problem and this makes a very good attempt. Once applied it dries quickly, perhaps too quickly as it needs to penetrate joins fully to achieve adequate strength.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
I found this product to be pretty good - I use it to bond plastic bindings onto guitars. It does take a bit of doing though and usually several attempts before it truly sticks - perhaps because you have to be so quick and also generous with the amount of glue you apply - but you get there in the end!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Perfect glue for Perspex .Goos service and speedy delivery.Capillary action for best results on good clean pieces and you will get the perfect bond.Clear and invisible.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
This is an excellent product which I have used before. It replaces Airfix/Revell plastic cement and the like giving an instant bond. It evaporates quickly, so need applying as a solvent rather than a glue, like Mek-Pak etc. Very good price and service, thanks.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
The product is excellent, the postage was very quick and the packaging was very sturdy and supportave to ensure the glass bottle did not break.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
I have used this product for a long time when building model boats and when repairing objects that it is suitable for.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Super-useful stuff to have for the inevitable breakage of plastic things. Works in a capillary action when the two pieces of plastic are held together, but make sure they are supported whilst the solvent evaporates. Use sparingly.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
very promptly delivered and well packaged. the product is very good. clamped my acrylic sheets together ensuring a right angle joint and i used a small fine brush and ran it along the joint and it spread into the joint. used more if needed on the other side and ensuring it did spread into the joint. I could have used a small squeeze bottle with a fine needle. takes a few minutes to weld and job done. word of caution, if using a brush ensure you don't get any drips onto the sheet as it will mark it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)