Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment
This is great entertainment. It reminds me of the cop shows I loved from the seventies and eighties like Starsky and Hutch, and action shows like the A-Team. It doesn't take itself seriously and as long as you don't take IT seriously then I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this show.

It is also stunning. Absolutely gorgeous scenery (makes me really want to...
Published on 25 Aug. 2011 by Raggielass

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing special but is elevated by location and guest stars
Bought the box-set on a whim. Overall pretty happy with it, too - whilst the main characters and stories break no new ground, there is just enough with the beautiful locales and occasional guest star to keep you watching.

Nice to see Daniel Dae Kim and Grace Park get some proper airtime/development in addition to Alex/Scott too.
Published 21 months ago by Daniel Ware


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 25 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is great entertainment. It reminds me of the cop shows I loved from the seventies and eighties like Starsky and Hutch, and action shows like the A-Team. It doesn't take itself seriously and as long as you don't take IT seriously then I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this show.

It is also stunning. Absolutely gorgeous scenery (makes me really want to visit Hawaii) and the hottest cast I've seen on tv in years.

Alex O'Loughlin is especially great as McGarrett. I love his portrayal of him, funny, outrageous and touching in turn.

Daniel Day Kim is also excellent, as per usual. Scott Caan is funny as an angry Danno. And Grace Park is great as Kono.

I'd seen Grace Park and Daniel Day Kim before this show but never seen Scott Caan or Alex O'Loughlin before and was pleasantly surprised by them both.

The chemistry between the four is fantastic too.

Oh and did I mention the action? Top notch.

I can't imagine not liking this as pure escapist brilliance - unless you're a bit of a serious stick in the mud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved watching this on the TV but the DVD is fantastic. The special features are great and the commentary with the cast is really funny. I cant wait for season 2 to come out on DVD, I hope its just as good as season 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawaii Five-0 is Hawaii Five Out of Five, 16 April 2011
By 
P. Downing (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hawaii Five-0 is slick, fast-paced, dramatic, beautifully shot and very good fun. It balances the dramatic with the not taking itself too seriously very well and has built up a very good character interaction between the main stars, particularly the 'love-hate' relationship between 'Danno' and McGarrett. The episodes keep you hooked week in and week out. Plus, the photography on the show is first class. This is a Five-0 for the twenty-first century that does remember its roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawaii Five-O 2010/2011 Television Series, 10 Mar. 2011
Even though I haven't seen the original series at all, also I watched only watched three episodes of the remake it was excellent. Alex O'Loughlin is excellent as Steve McGarrett, Scott Caan who is son of the famous actor James Caan is also good as Danny `Danno' Williams. The rest cast are also brilliant. I have seen Alex O'Loughlin, Daniel Dae Kim and William Sandler in other television series. Alex O'Loughlin was in `The Shield' and `Moonlight'. Daniel Dae Kim was in `Angel' and `Lost'. William Sandler was in `Roswell High' and `CSI'. I think Hawaii Five-O is a wonderful, brilliant and excellent series that should grow in popularity with a wide audience both young and old. To being honest I believe that it will a worldwide phenomenon just like Lost was. I would give this television series 10 out of 10 and would this as a must see series to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!, 8 May 2011
Brilliant New series!
I haven't seen any of the original series but cant recommend this highly enough!!! Great actors, good stories, jam packed with action and entertaining from start to finish - they need to practice a little on their shooting skills though for when they need to question suspects.....
Will definately be buying season one on dvd when its released, and hopefully it will be around for a few more seasons to come too!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawaii Five O - what a great new series!, 17 Jun. 2012
By 
Suzanne E. Clark (St Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been rivetted to my laptop every evening for the past two weeks, watching an episode of Series 1 of the new Hawaii Five O American TV Series. Great plots, sharp action and above all a winning combo of inter-character relationships between the new McGarrett (the deliciously brooding Alex O'Loughlin), the new Danno (move over James Caan, your son Scott is uber cool), Chin Ho Kelly played by the enigmatic and charming Daniel Dae Kim and the female team member, Kono Kalakaua - like a breath of fresh Waikiki air on the screen. Even subsidiary support characters are developed with flair and gentle humour. A very sophisticated and classy revival of an old favourite - can't wait for Series 2 - meanwhile I'm ordering Series 1 for a couple of friends and family as I dare not lend out my own. Congratulations ... move over Starsky and Hutch, Cagney and Lacey - McGarret and Danno are back in town!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nothing special but is elevated by location and guest stars, 23 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Hawaii Five-O - Season 1 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Bought the box-set on a whim. Overall pretty happy with it, too - whilst the main characters and stories break no new ground, there is just enough with the beautiful locales and occasional guest star to keep you watching.

Nice to see Daniel Dae Kim and Grace Park get some proper airtime/development in addition to Alex/Scott too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's so so boring.., 26 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Different titles... Different actors.. Same old script for the last thirty years.. It's so so boring... When the USA going to throw this formula rubbish down the toilet.. No imagination whatsoever.. The original was original and good.. This is crap... (not the actors fault).. I won't be watching any further than the first episode...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars reasonable, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a decent attempt at re-making a classic,but using a female(grace park),as kono(originally played by a male,zulu),was a mistake.also it's a pity they decided to destroy the classic and very striking ending of the famous theme tune.regardless of these changes i will still watch the remaining episodes as they are well acted and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!, 1 May 2012
A great modern twist on a 70s show!

This season kicks off with a bang... literally! It introduces the four core characters that were originally in the 70s series (except Kono is a woman this time round!), and so we are there from the very beginning of the team's friendship, we see how they all come together from different backgrounds, and the reason why the taskforce was formed.

Each of the three actors, and actress, that make up Hawaii Five-0 mould together really well, they are all a perfect match for the show, they each bring something individual to the table, which makes the show so special. They bounce off of each other, you can tell there's a huge amount of real chemistry that plays well on screen--it's what you need in a show. Most fans of H50 will also tell you the bromance between Steve McGarrett and Daniel (Danno) Williams is one of the best parts! But that's not just it, the whole show has a 'ohana' feeling, which is Hawaiian for family!

Peter Lenkov has created a stunning season which contains vivid postcard scenery that switches to the dark crime world in a split second. The mystery each week keeps you hanging on till the very end--you should never get lost with the plot, unless your iq is 0!

Between the cast, car chases, the special effects, plotline, mystery, stunts, guest stars, bromance, ohana, and the picturesque Hawaii, you'll find yourself always coming back for more, and that there is something for everyone.

Oh and you'll be waiting to hear the famous line each week, too, 'book 'em Danno'!

If you like programs like NCIS and CSI, you should definitely invest in this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hawaii Five-O - Season 1 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free]
£29.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews