Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!
I absolutely love love LOVE this programme. Started watching the first series on Channel4 and was immediately hooked. Im not usually into dramas or the infatuation with dramas such as Lost, house etc. This is just compelling viewing. Each story is great i love watching each law case. The outcomes aren't always obvious and your always kept on your toes. But to stop it...
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by Nikki Foster

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts well but goes down hill fast
Well acted but the writing is not to be compared with The Wire or Broadwalk Empire. Too many unlikely coincidences, Hollywood endings to episodes and too few unresolved threads to provide a more plausable plot.
Published 18 months ago by John Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!, 14 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love love LOVE this programme. Started watching the first series on Channel4 and was immediately hooked. Im not usually into dramas or the infatuation with dramas such as Lost, house etc. This is just compelling viewing. Each story is great i love watching each law case. The outcomes aren't always obvious and your always kept on your toes. But to stop it being just about the courtroom there's the will they wont they love triangle, which pops up with short adoring looks and looks that need no words, makes an at home mother like me feel wibbly inside!
The good thing about it is it's not all about Alicia. To be honest she isnt even my favourite character, i love Eli, Will and Cordelia.

The second season is even better than the first, which is an unusual triumph.

Get it in your life and stay in for the whole week to watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chicago Lore, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Julianna Margulies has been in Chicago a long time. From the roving camera pans of ER as Carol Hathaway (not to mention the roving hands of partner-in-time Doug Ross played by Mr. Clooney) to the now redoubtable halls of Lockhart/Gardner as Alicia Florrick, repressive summer heat and six-feet winter snowdrifts come and go, but Margulies remains resolutely Chicagoan. The setting and context for her latest show has all the dyed-in-the-wool ingredients that long-standing American series require, and reveal why the likes of Law and Order, Grey's Anatomy and the rest last as long as they do. What makes The Good Wife stand out, however, and what the show's creators discovered either by accident or happen-stance, is a ensemble cast that can simply deliver gilt-edged drama with style and panache. Czuchry, Panjabi, Charles, Baranski and Noth come from a variety of well-known and not so well-known backgrounds for British viewers and their chemistry is there for all to see week-after-week. But it is Margulies as the emotionally-scarred wife of a philandering state's attorney who needs to carry the show and both here and in the US her talents have not always been appreciated. But it is in fact her very reticence, the painstakingly reserved persona she inhabits that make The Good Wife compelling from start to finish. You can virtually feel the whole audience squirm with embarrassment whenever she ends up having cocktails with Kalinda in some downtown, swanky hotel as she tries to make sense of the emotional turmoil going on around her while her firm's PI consultant has taken to casual liaisons with female law enforcement officers in lock-up garages! But The Good Wife is good because of the reserve of all this, the ability to turn emotion and sympathy, straight-forward cases and love interest, on its head, sometimes at nearly one and the same time. Alan Cumming's venal political operator Eli Gold we should have no time for, and yet feel snatches of sympathy every now and then. Michael J. Fox's turn as a character with a neurological disease ought to engender sympathy in us from the start and yet he is so conniving and manipulative as to want us to start throwing things at the TV. This is The Good Wife's trick and not only is a two-season box-set good value and all the better for not having the adverts in there, it shows what quality, mainstream television can still be like in our celebrity-fuelled, reality-TV addled world. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best drama series currently on TV, 6 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Movie directing brothers Ridley and Tony Scott are Executive Producers of "The Good Wife" and the series is of as high a quality as you would expect from such Hollywood high fliers.

Series one begins with a bang as it is revealed that Chicago State's attorney Peter Florrick has been seeing a prostitute. He is also implicated in corruption and may be heading to prison. The good wife of the title is Alicia Florrick, played by Julianna Marguiles. She reacts to this trauma by moving into a small apartment with her two teenage kids and getting a job as a lowly associate at a major Chicago law firm. She never speaks publicly about what her husband may or may not have done.

One of the great things about the show is the many different story threads running through it. Alicia is the common strand in them all. We see the internal politics of the law firm as associates try to impress the partners. We follow Peter Florrick's time in prison and his appeal against his conviction. We see Alicia trying to cope with the demands of being a single parent, helped and sometimes hindered by her mother-in-law. It also just happens that one of the partners in the firm is an old flame of Alicia from college!
Each episode usually focuses on a case that Alicia is involved with but the other stories come in and out of each episode in a way that could be confusing but never is.

The acting is top class. Marguiles excels as the taciturn title character. She is intensely private and is horrified that her husband has put her in this position. However she still loves him and feels an obligation to support him for the sake of their kids at least. She is perhaps a bit of a goody two shoes but maybe this is to contrast with the dodgy legal manoeuvres that all around her seem to be engaged in!

Emmy winning Archie Panjabi deserves a special mention as the firm's mysterious investigator. She is definitely a woman with a past and she is played with just the right mix of menace and vulnerability. Peter Noth is excellent as the flawed husband, as are Christine Baranski and Josh Charles as the firm's partners.

Series two has proved to be as entertaining as the first with new characters appearing and more twists and turns in Alicia's life.

Thursday night is definitely "Don't miss The Good Wife" night in our house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Show!, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a stunningly entertaining show! Get it at all costs! (Great price at Amazon)! There is a lot going on in each episode - intrigue, politics, complicated relationships - as well as mature (but not offensive) humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like it says in the title, seriously good!, 14 Jan 2012
By 
H. Lacroix (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am no fan of American series generally. This is not about being snobbish, it is simply that so many of them are so disappointing that you lose faith in finding something worth watching and give up on any new one after watching the first episode and grinding your teeth at the banality of the acting, dialogue, plots... This is so different I am still amazed that they managed to spin something that good. I watched, quite by chance, an episode on TV that must have been at the beginning of the second series (at that time I hadn't a clue what is was about as I had watched none of the first series). The episode managed to hook me in about 30 seconds I guess. It is true that I have a weakness for legal dramas but all the same, this is something else. So I watched that episode, which was followed on the same night by another one, that I enjoyed just as much, then when they announced a third one I thought to myself "oh no, you've got work tomorrow, you can't stay up that late" but I did!!I certainly wasn't going to miss anything! Since then I've watched the rest of the second series and have bought this to get to grips with the beginning. I have often been unable to ration myself and have often watched four episodes one after the other. The whole package is amazing, acting, plots, dialogue, the mixture of professional and personal stories, everything is perfectly balanced and I don't see how it could be bettered. A fantastic series and unforgettable characters among which I must single out Kalinda, played by British actress Archie Panjaby. She has gone a long way since East is East and she is just wonderful. (as is Alan Cummings, incredibly convincing as Eli Gold)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love this series. I hadn't seen it on TV but trusted the reviews written by other recipients. The lead character is utterly believable and I love the way she's not too glossy & perfect at the start. It's easy to identify with how she feels after her husband betrays her trust and how she then has to pull herself together and go back to work. Some clever subtext/subplots behind the main story which keep me riveted.So glad I've got first two seasons in one batch as I don't want to stop watching now I've started :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in desparate need of season 3, 26 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't think we breathed between episodes. How did we ever miss this the first time round on the tv??? Don't start with a later series, just buy this for yourself or as a present for everyone you know! TV acting and directing at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Wife, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Good Wife is brilliant, I love legal dramas and thought nothing could compare to Boston Legal and now I am totally addicted to both!
Unplug the phone, pour yourself something nice to drink then sit back and watch the dramas unfold. Brilliantly clever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this series, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series. I have watched all of them and keep buying them for friends birthdays. I love the characters, the fact that each episode brings a new case, the outfits etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 6 April 2014
By 
Brian Samuel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good storyline with us quickly getting into the characters. Good storyline and there was no hesitation in moving on from watching Season 1 to carry on watching Season 2. Recommended.
Speedy product delivery and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD]
The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 [DVD] by Julianna Margulies (DVD - 2011)
£19.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews