Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top notch, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
bought this after i bought temple of rock michael schenker as i forgot or should i say not listened to my old ufo lp,s for quite a while and realised just how good ufo where in there early days as always these collections are great value as a replacment for old vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UFO - the Chrysalis Years, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was originally going to purchase Strangers in the Night but spotted that this included that album as well as 4 others for not a great deal of extra money.
Excellent music from an excellent band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome collection of all their best tracks, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
Something for everyone from first to last. Can't believe this stuff from the early 70s sounds so fresh today. Buy it and treasure it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent collection, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
UFO at their very best and a really superb collection of albums and additional tracks I had not heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
purchase arrived a day earlier than expected I even ordered the 2nd set which is on its way...I have already put it on my mp3 player so that I can listen to it in the van...UFO are one of the less well known bands from the 70"s,80"s era rock bottom is a class track.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this compilation, 2 April 2013
By 
DR. BUSKA (BANGKOK,THAILAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
I've bought this box set two times,this one is for my brother.We love UFO in Michael Schenker era.This is a complete collection of first era.There' re a lot of classic tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
You got 5 discs of Micheal Schenker Driven UFO. Definatly a very underated band, the guitar work and musicianship is 1st class, some great double bass drumming from Andy Parker but in my oppinion Mad Micky Scenker steals the show throughout. Don't think singer Phill Mogg would like to hear that but he's got a good voice aswell, I'm just more into the music than vocals TBH.
Turn up Hot 'n' Ready, that song says it all. 10/10 Can't think of anything bad to say about this.10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, great value, 20 July 2012
By 
Ian A (Birmingham (home of heavy metal), England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
What a bargain, for about 12, you get 5 studio albums, the essential live classic Strangers in the Night, plus some unreleased goodies (radio broadcasts etc). What you get is one Britains premier hard rock bands, at their commercial and artistic peak, (mid to late 70s when Metal Mickey wielded the Axe). The studio albums, may contain a mixture of classics and fillers, but every rock fan should own Strangers in the Night, and at the price there are no excuses not to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific value, but incomplete, 30 Mar 2012
By 
ravenheart (Rayleigh, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
The value of this set obviously cannot be faulted. All the albums from UFO's most successful, and probably highest-quality period for a little over a tenner is remarkable.

But, having gone through the process of issuing all of these albums as remasters with bonus tracks, why is this set missing almost ALL of the bonus tracks from those releases? As another reviewer pointed out, the version of Strangers In The Night here is not the expanded version, but in actual fact NONE of the albums are the expanded versions. Leaving out demos and yet more live tracks (when actually rather a lot of bonus live material has been included in this box anyway) is fair enough, but there are genuine studio bonus tracks. There are some unreleased bonus tracks in their place, but most of them are just single edits of regular tracks, or further live versions (in most cases taken from the BBC In Session and Live Concert album).

Bonus tracks missing tracks:
Sixteen, Doctor Doctor (Live), Oh My (Demo), Sixteen (Demo) from Phenomenon
A Million Miles, Mother Mary (Live Radio One), Out In The Street (Live Radio One), Shoot Shoot (Live Radio One), Let It Roll (Live at The Roundhouse), This Kid's (Live At The Roundhouse) from Force It
All Or Nothing, French Kisses, Have You Seen Me Lately Joan, Do It If You Can, All The Strings from No Heavy Petting
Lights Out (Live At The Roundhouse), Try Me (Live At The Roundhouse), Love To Love (Live At The Roundhouse), Getting' Ready (Live At The Roundhouse) from Lights Out
Hot 'n' Ready (Live), Pack It Up (And Go) (Live), Ain't No Baby (Live) from Obsession
Cherry (Live), Hot 'n' Ready (Live) from Strangers In The Night (Remaster)

Bonus tracks included:
Give Her The Gun (from Phenomenon)
Sweet Little Thing (from Phenomenon)
Doctor Doctor (single edit, 1st time on CD)
Doctor Doctor (live single edit, 1st time on CD)
On With The Action (live, 1st time on CD)
Try Me (single remix, 1st time on CD)
Only You Can Rock Me (single version, 1st time on CD)
6 tracks from BBC In Session And In Concert (seven more are not here, one is listed above)
8 tracks from an unreleased concert in Atlanta, 1974

So yes, this set is good, but it's not perfect, and things have probably been left off and replaced with other unreleased material so that completists will feel the need to buy both this and the individual remasters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mothers Day Gift?, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
All my favorite albums in one place with the addition of the amazing live version of "On With The Action". What a great gift
to buy for the uninitiated. Great value yes indeed and just after shelling out for all the remasters. Damn those record company rotters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979)
The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) by UFO (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews