Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uniformly Fine Output (sorry!), 20 July 2011
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
Having all of UFO's original Vinyl lp's, first generation CD's, compilations, remasterd editions of CD releases with extras and recently re-released double vinyl (with extras) I wasn't going to bother with this.

BUT!!!!!

Apart from having all the 1970's Michael Schenker output on 5 compact discs and a few extra rarities including the first American concert and seeing it was going for a laughable 12 notes I couldn't resist. I'm glad as I am on disc 4 since coming back from work and been listening to this most of the night.

The sound is superb (even with one speaker down!) The version of 'Lights Out' from the legendary John Peel's session from summer 1977 is the best I have heard. This set is superbly and economically packaged, has a booklet with a Sir Philip Of Mogg interview and has disc reproductions of the green and later blue and white chrysalis labels of the 1970's.

Amazon delivered this for free within 3 working days as well so I cannot recommend this enough. Either for current 'Space Cadets' or 'curious musicos' willing to give the most under appreciated rock band ever a spin and have their lives changed as mine was as a 14 year old in 1979 hearing 'Strangers In The Night' for the first time.

For Gods sake buy a copy, hell, buy 10 and give one to a friend. 100 % Platinum stuff for an insane price.

Unbelievably this band are due to go into the studios and make a new record for release in early 2012 ( Vinnie Moore now on guitar and minus basist Pete way - last 3 albums with Vinnie brilliant !) so keep an eye out for that too. As the great man himself would say -'Keep On Rockin'

Moonking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ON WITH THE ACTION, 12 July 2011
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
This fantastic set has it all, Six complete albums [including the live stunner, Strangers in the Night], an unreleased live show from 1974,radio sessions, single edits, and basically five discs of prime British rock. This is the best way to get into UFO in one easy hit and at a price that is affordable [ 10 years ago this collection would have set you back around 30 quid!].

UFO are sometimes overlooked as rock music fought its rearguard action against punk before the NWOBHM reinforcements arrived, but their willingness to rise to the challenge ensured a constant stream of hit albums and sold out tours.When the band get into their stride they were a force to be reckoned with [ Just listen to the amazing session version of Too Hot to Handle, or the live version of Rock Bottom, to hear just how good UFO could be in their prime], but this whole set is littered with rock gems, driven along by Phil Moggs distinctive voice and a young Michael Schenker, [ before he jumped ship].A booklet with a new interview with Mogg, and some pictures just adds to the value of this package.

As a reminder of just how good UFO were, The Chrysalis Years does its job brilliantly, and is a stunning way to tempt the punter to finally put away the vinyl albums and revisit a great British rock band at the peak of their success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous intro to a fab band, 13 July 2011
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
This is the most amazing value for money box set i've seen. Five studio albums and Strangers, bonus tracks and a new fantastic live recording from 1974. Buy Buy Buy !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Value!!, 31 July 2011
By 
A. Whyles (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
This is UFO at their very, very best. Ok, so it doesn't contain huge amounts of previously unreleased material, and there aren't T-Shirts, badges, calendars, books and posters in it, but does any of that matter? No - what you get here is the music, with good sound quality, and that's what counts. All for under 12 - the saying is "A no-brainer".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Fantastic Output, 17 July 2011
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
Ok, first of all I apologise for the title of my review as this was the best I could think of for the initials U F O! (There were others but then Amazon wouldn't have published the review!). The two earlier reviews from Paul and Stan say it all really in that this is an amazing value set which contains one of rock music's most consistent and imaginative output coutesy of the classic UFO line up (with slight personnel variations aong the way). Incredible to think that these 5 studio albums, and a classic live album, all came out during a mere 6 year period - especially when you consider that this is the time most bands nowadays take to put out one album (if you're lucky!). No more needs to be said about the music really but just to add that the mastering on this 5 CD set is spot on and comes in a 'fat box' style CD case making it convenient and, well, compact to store or take with you on that (very long) car journey! It even has that Hipgnosis style sleeve (it isn't a genuine Hipgnosis design on closer inspection of the booklet notes) which we all know and love of the albums represemted here. I would strongly recommend buying this set now before Chrysalis realise that this is a silly price (for us, the buyer's favour that is!) and decide to double it - I would have expected to pay nearer [] quid for a 5 disc set and wouldn't have batted an eye lid. Great listening and definately the box set of the Millenium so far. Oh - and the unreleased live set in Atlanta, 1974 is worth the price alone by the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great release!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 17 Aug 2011
By 
Edward J. mccarthy Jr. (new york new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
most ufo fans will have all these albums, this 5 cd set consists of ALL THE SCHENKER ERA ALBUMS FROM 74 TO 79, as well as the 1973 ep give her the gun, great remastering, my only problem at first was the bonus tracks that came out with the ufo chrysalis albums reissues back in 2008 are not included here, HOWERVER what we do indeed get here is an amazing show from 1974 and i belive it was one of ufos first ever us gigs, i have had this show on a cassette tape for about 30 years and always looked for it and hoped to find it as a bootleg on lp or cd at record fairs and second hand record shops but this show to my knowledge never came out on bootleg cd or lp so i was thrilled to see it included on this 5 cd set, for me that was the main selling point here, outside of that i have everything else here, this show from georgia 1974 was recorded for radio so it sounds awsome, ive been a ufo fan for 33 years now and i hope they do the tonka years from 80 to 83 as a box set like this, if that is indeed done then i hope they include the whole hammersmith 83 gig that was released as headstone from the farewell shows in april 83, i have loved every era of ufo from the ufo 1 album in 1970 on to ufo two ( or flying) in 1971 onto this era, the tonka era but the only era i did not like was the 84 to 86 poser pretty boy atomic tommy era tailor cut for us radio and mtv at the time, odd but i did like the aint misbehavin mini album from 1988 and loved the high stakes album with archer and edwards in 1991 as well as the awsome reunion album walk on water back in 1995, im still rockin to ufos new music today in 2011 and i think there line up now is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! phil mogg has always been an amazing song writer to me, if you are a so so casual fan and dont have all these albums then you can get them all here with the bonus show from 1974 for a great price, you cant loose with this set if you like ufo in any way.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an utter no-brainer., 27 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
Really, people, do you have to look at reviews to see whether this is worth buying? The answer is ... altogether now ... "NO!". This is possibly the best deal on prime rock'n'roll that there has ever been.

Personally, I can't wait to get "Heel Of A Stranger" on CD - finally - on the follow-up set coming soon. That tune should never have been relegated to b side status. This is bloody great, this. All those old UFO albums on CD, in one place, with EXTRA STUFF. Fandabidozi.

And thank goodness the reshuffled SiTN has been quietly forgotten about - bad idea from start to finish, that was. It will forever remain a misguided oddity on my CD shelf. Still, once this pops through the postbox that'll be, um, 7 copies of SiTN I'll have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
The UFO from the Chrysalis Years, is a top compilation from one of the World's best Record Companies, and UFO were a classic legendary band !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UFO - forgotten masters, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
I bought this cd because I remember going to one of thier concerts in the early 1980s, fantastic box set at a brilliant price, buy it, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good to hear all these tracks again !, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) (Audio CD)
This is a great value compilation and takes me back to the seventies when UFO were just the business. Smooth and quick transaction, many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979)
The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) by UFO (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews