Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Crafted
Above & Beyond raise the bar every year with their Anjunabeats collection, and given these and the success of their previous artist album Tri-State, there was plenty of pressure on A&B to make this a fantastic album. And by and large, not surprisingly, it is.
I have criticised other trance artists, Tiesto and Armin van Buuren for example, for using excess vocalists...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by Alan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trance 2.0 = Fail
Everything changes, but Above & Beyond have taken a step too far for me.
I like house and I love trance, but not together.

Maybe they should have picked their creative advisors better.
A great pop album, beautifully executed, but soulless and a "pay day" album.

Anjunabeats 7 is a better place to discover trance if you are new to the genera...
Published on 24 Sep 2011 by Mr. A. Maclarty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Crafted, 9 Jun 2011
By 
Alan "carrd2" (Stafford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Group Therapy (Audio CD)
Above & Beyond raise the bar every year with their Anjunabeats collection, and given these and the success of their previous artist album Tri-State, there was plenty of pressure on A&B to make this a fantastic album. And by and large, not surprisingly, it is.
I have criticised other trance artists, Tiesto and Armin van Buuren for example, for using excess vocalists on some of their previous albums, with a view to becoming more commercial rather than adding a genuine improvement to their tracks. So when I realised that the majority of tracks on Group Therapy contained vocals, I became a little wary. But the vocals here, trance lovers, are not overbearing and are not there purely to earn money for the artist. For a start, only two different vocalists are used, Richard Bedford who sung on the stunning 'Alone Tonight,' and Zoe Johnston, who sung on the likewise 'Good For Me.' They have gone for vocalists that (a) are very good and that genuinely compliment A&B's music and emotions, and (b) that aren't well-known. They provide a refreshing thought-provoking ambience to each track and fit with the music perfectly.
OK, maybe personally I'd have preferred a couple more non-vocal tracks; after all we know A&B are more than capable at creating and mixing songs without vocals; but this is just my taste and the harder 'Nitrous Oxide' type trance side of me talking. To knock off a star for this may seem harsh but let's face it, they have set such a high standard in recent years. And to emphasise - none of the tracks are ruined by vocals; on the contrary, all are significantly added to because of them.
A&B are thoughtful people, and this thought and emotion is expressed in every song. You can dance to most of them but strangely relax to most of them as well, or at the very least the songs brew up thoughts of your own. And continuing with the thoughtful theme, each track has had goodness knows how much thought put into it, to make it totally perfect in their eyes.
A&B are dominating the trance and electronica music scene at the moment, with good reason. This album presents only a snapshot, yet an exceptional example of their talents. Long may their tracks and their label, Anjunabeats, continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Again, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: Group Therapy (Audio CD)
Well, here we are again, 5 years on from the release of Tri State and what a 5 years it's been! For some reason my previous review of Tri State still sits at the top of the 'helpful review' pile despite me saying very little about it other than '..it should be listened to..'. Well the same applies here. I'm not going to describe this one either. Except that Group Therapy once again delivers one of the finest 'dance' albums in recent years. This isn't a 1 hour 20 minute trance fest. Nor is it a random collection of studio tracks. Simply, this is the sound of Above & Beyond - Group Therapy indeed. I'm also looking forward to the remix pack that will no doubt deliver the 8 minute DJ friendly tracks that could keep any dance floor, big or small, going for a couple of hours. Thanks A&B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worthy of A&B's output to date, 17 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Group Therapy (Audio CD)
Not much to add to the other 20 reviews (yes 20, compare to the average number of reviews on CDs in the rest of Amazon's trance chart, regardless of the chart placing, and you'll get an idea about how much more affecting these guys' music is than most)... but, having had time to really digest it I'll wade in anyway, as any new A&B artist release is bound to be worth a few words.

As other reviewers have suggested, maybe just one additional vocalist (Ashley Tomberlin, for example?) might have added another layer of interest, and the instrumental tracks, while complementing the vocal ones, don't even seem to pack the same punch as on the classic Tri-State, from which the "sound" has not evolved much. Don't see that as a negative, though - it's just another collection of quality melodic trance for you to enjoy.

Some of the songs, although very thematically simple, are lyrically interesting (Alchemy), others go into deeper storytelling (Black Room Boy); if you want banging, chunky basslines, then You Got To Go, Black Room Boy and Giving It Out all deliver in spades, while Zoe Johnston serves up a tear-jerking tour de force on Only A Few Things which is every bit as memorable as Good For Me was on Tri-State.(You can easily imagine her re-recording this in her folky, acoustic solo style to devastating effect.)

But yep, there are a few slices of super-strong cheese, too. On My Way to Heaven would have benefited from lines and superfluous lines of Richard Bedford's lyric having been cut from the opening, at least until after the kick drum got going, giving the track more of a chance to develop, and on the chorus of Thing Called Love, you're thinking: "Hold on, did he really just rhyme 'forget' with 'regret', and then 'forget' again?"

Such gripes aside, Above & Beyond have made Xmas shopping for stocking-fillers a hell of a lot easier, as I know a few people who will really appreciate Group Therapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Tri-State, 5 Aug 2012
By 
MR A R FORD (Newhaven, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Group Therapy (Audio CD)
I had always associated "trance" music with mindless drug fuelled raves, but a chance hearing of "World on Fire" as a soundtrack to a Project-JK (Jeep) video led me to buy Above & Beyond's first "artist" album Tri-State. It never left my car's CD player for the next 4 years, and became my favourite driving album of all time. I looked forward to the release of their 2nd album, Group Therapy, but didn't think that it could possibly top Tri-State. At first play, I was slightly disappointed. It is somewhat darker, slower, and has less of the dance/driving beat that I loved on Tri-State. But first play can be deceiving - Group Therapy is more complex, and ultimately more rewarding than Tri-State. The dance beats are still there, but the emotion in the songs has been taken to a new level. Zoe Johnston's beautiful pure vocals on "Alchemy", and "Love is Not Enough", are heartbreaking. Every song, with the exception of the lightweight "Giving it Up", has depth and power. All of them are beautifully crafted. One year on, I still hear things that I hadn't noticed before. So Group Therapy is my current favourite album of all time. But I still don't like "trance music".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Above and Beyond---Group Therapy, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Group Therapy (Audio CD)
I already had and loved this album before I went to see Above and Beyond live in B'ham. The live show put another dimension to it all together and really was 'Group Therapy'. This Cd is chilled enough to relax, or turn up the volume and the bass and dance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 9 Nov 2012
This review is from: Group Therapy (Audio CD)
It took me a while to realise this but this album is a masterpiece of beautifully crafted music and I would urge everybody to have it in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Going above and beyond....again!, 5 Mar 2012
By 
DiscJockey (Leicestershire and Norfolk!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Group Therapy (Audio CD)
'Does exactly what it says on the CD sleeve!'-Trance trio Above and Beyond are one of the few dance collectives to dip in and out of the mainstream, whilst still remixing and keeping their Anjunabeats project as lucrative as ever.I first discovered the three piece when they produced an explosive remix of Madonna's 'For a girl'. From there it was the anthemic 'I carn't sleep' in the mid-noughties.
Group Therapy is a very reflective compilation, incorporating tales of spurned love and heartache as well as more up-beat instrumental moments. Tried and tested vocals come from Richard Bedford,Zoe Johnston and Tony McGuiness. The presentation of this album impacts as importantly as the tracks do. Personal highlights include;'Sun and moon','Prelude' and 'Sun in your eyes.'
A coming of age dance album and very therapeutic at the same time!
DiscJockey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trance 2.0 = Fail, 24 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. A. Maclarty "Andy MacLarty" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Group Therapy (MP3 Download)
Everything changes, but Above & Beyond have taken a step too far for me.
I like house and I love trance, but not together.

Maybe they should have picked their creative advisors better.
A great pop album, beautifully executed, but soulless and a "pay day" album.

Anjunabeats 7 is a better place to discover trance if you are new to the genera. Don't get me wrong, there are two tracks on the album that are fine and A&B play them to death on the road, but if you want a bit more from your trance, I suggest you buy this second hand.

Checkout Super8 & Tab (they are on their label Anjunabeats), the Finnish trance masters know how to master an uplifting trance/pop tune.

Sorry Tony, Paavo & Jonno, I followed you for many years, but this isn't the A&B I (and countless other) love.

Leave the turgid pop to Tiesto and Arty, your talents are wasted chasing the easy dollar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected more, but got less, 27 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Group Therapy (MP3 Download)
Well, that rich vein of excellent music has been stripped bare, and the much adored purple patch has now faded. I suppose the expectation of yet another excellent album was all too much, in the end.

I am a huge fan of Above & Beyond, but Group Therapy, aside from perhaps three tracks, is a disappointment, lacking that languid, liquid-like fluidity of rich anthemic sounds I've grown so accustom to.

A shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 9 Nov 2013
By 
A. Burton "Andy B" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Group Therapy (Audio CD)
This album is staggering. Needs a couple of listens to get into it, but the melodies, musicality and production all click. It's been going round and round on my iPod on regular long train journeys for months now, and amazingly I'm not bored with it (usually a week is max!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Group Therapy
Group Therapy by Above & Beyond
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews