Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
It's that time of year again where Anjunabeats, one of the trance scenes leading labels, releases its annual flagship compilation, cunningly entitled 'Anjunabeats'. Now on its 8th volume, the series has in recent times been setting the standard for uplifting, melodic trance and progressive music. After a somewhat anticlimactic Volume 7, many fans will be wondering if the quality of previous volumes can be reached again.

Disc 1, as with previous Anjunabeats, is a more progressive affair, though it is probably the most 'trancy' first disc since the 2-disc concept was introduced in Volume 5. The opening "Alquimia" from Parker & Hanson serves as an intro track with dreamy synths before a kick and heavy bassline get the album started. From here it's a typically melodic, bouncy affair with some delightful uplifting numbers from Duderstadt, Oliver Smith, Thomas Datt, Super8 & Tab and a welcome return from Maor Levi. Vocals from the likes of Aruna and Ashley Tomberlin are also laced in, serving to compliment the melodies and bring the tracks to life.

The second disc then, and a glance at the artists on the track listing should already give you an indication of what to expect. Right from Andrew Bayers Introducing tracks it is non-stop, signature Anjunabeats material. Tunes from Anjunabeats heavyweights such as Adam Nickey, Daniel Kandi, Super8 & Tab and Nitrous Oxide ensure the uplifting 'Hands in the
air' vibe continues throughout; a particular hightlight being the dreamy "We Are" trancending into the anthemic "Thing Called Love" by Above & Beyond themselves, which bears an uncanny resemblance to "Alone Tonight" (Surely not a bad thing?). The delightful mashup "Sky Falls Away" rounds up what is a truly uplifting second disc.

So to conclude then, Anjunabeats has indeed delivered another fantastic album, though this will not be a surprise to many. Is this Volume better than Volume 7? Yes it is, and Volume 7 wasn't exactly a disaster. Is it the strongest Anjunabeats to date? I think it may now be down to personal prefrence to decide that, but in my opinion it is. A very solid first Disc with a progressive sound that is now almost unique to Anjunabeats, and a trademark second disc which will make your spine tingle with every track, all impeccably sewn together by the now very experienced global superstars Above & Beyond. Tiesto and van Buuren have unfortunately fallen into the commercial trap, let's hope Tony, Jono and Paavo don't go the same way too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive Reviewing, 21 July 2010
By 
Alan "carrd2" (Stafford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
Needless to say, this is another good album. Anjunabeats almost have their own genre now - you know what you're getting, but this doesn't mean that there isn't a vast array of variation within each album. As usual, the latest version of Anjunabeats delivers with the best quality trance around at the time, and also as usual, it's mixed exceptionally well.
Neither 7 nor 8 have quite reached the heights of Volume 5 and possibly 6, but we must remember that A&B can only mix what trance is out there. I think Volumes 5 and 6 had track after track of destroyers, unlike this or the previous album. But let me be clear - to criticise the craftsmanship of A&B and the quality of each track would be extremely harsh. I can't remember the last time I listened to an Anjunabeats album and came across a bad track.
CD01 is less housey and more trancey than the previous double-album Anjuna's, perhaps reserving the former for the 'Deep series which is creating a storm all on its own. CD01 is somewhere in between house and trance (if this is what progressive exactly means, then it is progressive...), and CD02 is, by and large, pure trance.
The mixing is, as usual, excellent - anyone who has seen A&B live will expect nothing more. You can tell that great, probably painstaking thought goes into each link between one track and the next, and the position of each track on each album. That is why they have made it so big - perfectionism.
I don't need to write much more for fear of repeating myself endlessly. It's another excellent album from the trio who just don't know how to make a bad album. Add it to your ever-expanding Anjuna collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
Brilliant from start to finish, and I'm far from a seasoned trance fan. Fantastic mixing and track sequences.
Best purchase in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Trance 3.0!, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
After the last, a little bit disappointing seventh edition, comes an extremely fantastic edition.

CD 1 begins calmly. Oliver Smith is a top class producer and "Chordplay" it's more than a proof. Boom Jinx and Andrew Bayer put a stunning track afterwards. The Endorphins are dancing. A collaboration between Anjunabeats and Euphinc participates also, i.e. "Anphonic" (beautifully derived). And already again Andre Bayer, "From The Earth" (even if it is a remix). With this track, he shows his great abilities.
I would have never thought a fusion between "One A Good Day" and "Metropolis". Two separately already fantastic tracks come to one... just Wow!

CD2 The intro is one of the best I ever heard. With an appropriate equipment (5,1 Home cinema with high class speakers and with a matrix coded edition: PLIIx) rains extremely authentically from all channels in my living room. With "The Taxi Driver" he puts the level to the top. I cannot wait for the coming album. The Booklet gives you great information's about "the world of Anjunabeats". A highlight is the new single of Above and Beyond forthcoming album. The same great voice from the tri-state album.

The new remix to "Larry Mountains 54" and also "Alt F4" could not better.

Actually the new Anjunabeats gives the Trance Music a new standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Return to to the Anjunabeats Magic, 22 July 2010
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
As previous reviews have already mentioned, Anjuanbeats Volume 8 see's a return to the classic vibes we have come to associate with the Anjunabeats label.

CD1 is definitely along the more progressive route, with my highlights being 'aruna & mark eteson - let go' for its excellent vocals and progressive beat, 'andrew bayer - from the earth (breakfast remix) for its beautiful piano/synth combo and of course the mashup from 'oceanlab vs gareth emery - on a good day (metropolis)' which has allowed me to fall in love with two great tracks over again!

CD2 takes you down the more uplifting trance route, with hands in the air classics such as 'above & beyond feat. richard bedford - thing called love (club mix)', 'daniel kandi - forgive me' and 'super8 & tab feat. jan burton - mercy' mixed in amongst the excellent 'who. is - we. are' and 'adam nickey - altara'.

Overall another excellent helping of trance and progressive from the unique label that is Anjunabeats, and Volume 8 is one not to be missed by any seasoned trance fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good music that takes a while to sink in, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
I've had these on iTunes and in the car for a long while and over the last few weeks I've been putting them on and really come to appreciate the mixing and flow of both the CDs from start to finish.

At first I wasn't so keen and sometimes that is a sign that you won't get into them but with these it's different and I'd say that is probably a good thing as I'm looking forward to my next run out in the car with these playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic beats, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
Great cd packed full of tasty beats and mixed to perfection and both cd1 and cd2 are equally great, class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Michael Court "CJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
Of the 5 or so Anjunabeats I have, this is the best. It is a great CD to run to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better with listens..., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
Loved Tri-State, Group Therapy and ESPECIALLY Sirens of the Sea.

Took a few more listens to get into this compilation - but well worth the effort though. Money well spent, as always, with A&B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent technical display!!, 21 July 2013
By 
G. Sexton (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anjunabeats Volume 8 (Audio CD)
What do you do when you play CD1 on a separates system and the sound is pitchy, unbalanced and jittery. Onto a PC, import at 192kbps and transfer to an iPhone. Plug in a set of Sennheiser headphones and enjoy a brilliant display of technical engineering skills. A perfectly balanced and well paced mix with some quality female vocals all lead to Track 9, Super8 & Tab feat Anton Sonin - Black Is The New Yellow, a translucent and liquid signature sound. Bass is tight although Track 6 lets things loosen up for a moment. CD 2 is a more mainstream mix and features an absolutely stunning arrangement of male vocals, quicker paced and definitely one for those looking for a deeper club like sound. Taking into account that CD1 was destined for the back of the CD drawer until divine inspiration prompted me to listen to it in MP3 format, it really has to be noted that this release is an excellent display of modern sound engineering skills and whilst it can be argued that there are better examples out there, CD1 is definitely up there with the best of them and I am looking forward to future projects. Again, a lot of thought and time went into producing this release and it's my favourite album cover. Well recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anjunabeats Volume 8
Anjunabeats Volume 8 by Above & Beyond
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews