Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More mesmerising desert blues from Tinariwen., 30 Aug 2011
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
The extraordinary Tinariwen, a Tuareg group from the northern Sahara, have now become a global phenomenon. Their fifth album, 'Tassili', was recorded largely unplugged in Djanet in the south-eastern Algerian desert and contains much soulful, stirring and evocative music. However, Tinariwen's brilliant, elemental and poetic desert blues is not enhanced by the addition of western 'guest' artists such as guitarist Nels Cline and vocals from New York band 'TV on the Radio' which is why 'Tassili' just falls short of the highest rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible beautiful, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
not only the music but also the lyrics are absolutely wonderful. For people who love the kind of peace you find in simple things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect again, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Savin N. Cristian (Lugoj, Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
This is the second album from Tinariwen that I buy. Same great music and same excellent sound quality. I would consider this recording an audiophile one ....
Highly recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great band, 11 Oct 2013
By 
R. H. J. Cooke "bonzo1946" (Dunmow, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
One of the best live bands I've ever seen. Difficult to capture atmosphere of gigs on a Cd but this is a very good CD - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laid Back In The Desert., 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
Tinariwen have gone a bit international with this release using some English language lyrics and a very sophisticated production but they haven't strayed from their trademark sound. Desert blues has never sounded better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tinariwen do not disappoint, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Ceri Creffield (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
I expected no less. Wonderful guitar, hypnotic rhythms, heartfelt vocals. I love it.
I must buy more of their albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
I love it, having already bought it, and this was a present. The recipient also thinks it is great. Really nice to hear something a little different, and so melodic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
A great cd, was all it promised , recommended to all world music fans, will be listened to again & again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff!, 27 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
Another fabulous CD from this excellent Malian ensemble.

I saw them live recently, at the Koko and just had to buy this. Great music and great act.

Those familiar with their previous work will know what to expect. Newcomers will find this as fine an introduction as any other CD. Mesmerising music indeed.

One stand-out track for me is the unusual 'Tamiditin Tan Ufrawan', which, to my ear, has a positively Welsh lilt! Interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They grow., 29 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tassili (Audio CD)
Good to have the English this time as we do not speak French. Still go back and read the words. Love the accustic sound and hope we see them in the flesh again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tassili
Tassili by Tinariwen (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews