Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by how terrible Quarantine 1 was.
Quarantine 1, was a remake of Spanish zombie horror [REC] 1. Quarantine 2: Terminal, however, turns away from the [REC] franchise and takes it's own direction.
Terminal is set in two main places, an airplane, and a terminal (blatantly). Which gives the film a claustrophobic feel, knowing that there's a group of people trapped, with infected people among them and not...
Published on 30 Aug 2012 by Sophie

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The end of the world is nigh
I believe this film to be a precursor of the coming apocalypse, something I didn't believe in until I saw the acting contained on the disc. If you feel you must watch this film then rent it. If you can't find it to rent then take comfort in the thought that God is looking out for you and keeping you away from harm. Quarentine wasn't as good as [rec] even trying to copy it...
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by Quinn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by how terrible Quarantine 1 was., 30 Aug 2012
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Quarantine 1, was a remake of Spanish zombie horror [REC] 1. Quarantine 2: Terminal, however, turns away from the [REC] franchise and takes it's own direction.
Terminal is set in two main places, an airplane, and a terminal (blatantly). Which gives the film a claustrophobic feel, knowing that there's a group of people trapped, with infected people among them and not knowing if they will manage to escape. If you don't think the idea of zombies on an airplane is a good idea, then you probably won't enjoy this. I personally think the story works really well, learning where the infection starts, and following the characters as they attempt to escape the terminal.
There's not all too much blood that you would expect from a zombie-themed movie, but there's enough intense, disturbing scenes and a fair few jump scares to make up for it. There's a huge claustrophobic feel which comes from when the camera changes to first person and night vision, (from a piece of equipment used), making you feel enclosed with the characters in the small-spaces, and it also manages to give the movie a much darker, grittier feel to it.
Some of the acting was weak in places, but overall it was acceptable.
The film in general was better than the original quarantine, with a solid story line which it managed to execute perfectly, with very little negative points I can think of.
A good watch for any horror/zombie film fan. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The end of the world is nigh, 25 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I believe this film to be a precursor of the coming apocalypse, something I didn't believe in until I saw the acting contained on the disc. If you feel you must watch this film then rent it. If you can't find it to rent then take comfort in the thought that God is looking out for you and keeping you away from harm. Quarentine wasn't as good as [rec] even trying to copy it frame for frame. why then try to take it somewhere else....leave it to the original series of films. Oh and America, kindly stop remaking films because you're too lazy to read subtitles....do it much more and I will write a strongly worded letter. Boom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terminally bad, 22 Aug 2011
By 
G. Hanks "hanks1980" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The first Quarantine exists in a very strange space where it's hard to judge its merits, or even right to exist, as it's an extremely close remake to the original REC that is solely there for those with an aversion to reading subtitles. The key difference being that Quarantine took the biohazard approach to affairs and REC took the less believable but more disturbingly interesting demonic angle. With this in mind it's not surprising that REC 2 and Quarantine 2 went in separate directions. EC 2 kept the original location but added a guns and action approach whilst fleshing out the whole back story. Quarantine 2 however ups the budget (apparently) and sets it in an aeroplane terminal in the baggage/staging area.

Initially the most noticeable thing is the poor quality of the dialogue and acting. Nobody appears to be particularly likeable or believable and most of the characters are born from the book of stereotype. We have the fat man, the black man, a nurse (so people can be patched up when need be,) a female protagonist flight attendant with Daddy issues... I wonder what character development she may take, oh right, she deals with the issues and takes control very predictably. The characters are not alone in their poor construction, the dialogue is clichéd throughout and virtually every line can be lifted from other horror films where peril is the key ingredient. It's hard to tell whether the actors are bad or if they've just been totally stuffed by a puerile script. Either way it feels all too often that the director has problems directing them and should have considered taking further takes as some scenes are laughably bad and amateurish. This along with the characters themselves leaves you indifferent to their fate, and any deaths are not shocking because they don't seem like real people dying. The Aussie shark based chew `em up "The Reef" was a prime example of this, you can throw all the peril at people that you want, if the audience doesn't care or believe in the characters then they wont engage with the situation. There were a couple of points in Quarantine 2 that I was actually laughing, despite the scene being played straight.

The choices and decisions that the characters make within the film are completely unbelievable and ridiculous, with nobody responding in a way that any logic could follow. Putting themselves in direct danger for no reason, arguing with the protagonist without justification etc... If this were a videogame then the AI would be running into the walls and looking down all the time. At one point Homeland Security (read dudes with guns) come in and are as effective as your Dad helping you with an etch-a-sketch by giving it a shake. For people who are firearms trained to deal with armed combat they have some serious issues trying to deal with unarmed Infected that run straight at them. Combining their ineptitude with a trigger happy Government that would probably strangle your pet cat if they thought it had a cold makes the whole experience light weight and dull, a series of sighs of boredom between attacks.

The saving grace however is the zombies themselves and the actors that turn show that they are much more successful at playing the undead/infected than they are as human beings. It can make for some action scenes that keep the audience on their toes but often there is no consistency. It's like they ran out of budget halfway through the film and then realised they couldn't pull off some of the effects that they scripted. The Infected in this film have the athleticism of a ninja and don't even need a grappling hook to get about. At one point one of them hangs onto the underside of a platform, the camera pans to protagonist and then back to the platform, lo and behold the Infected has miraculously climbed on and we didn't see any of it. One character even dies by just being pulled out of shot by something unseen with no explanation of what is behind them. The camera work so often does a terrible job of framing what is happening, who lives or dies is decided by the click of the director's fingers, rather than him working on putting them in the right situations to fend (or not) off them zombies.

It's close to one star this film but there are just enough interesting Infected scenes to make it almost worth watching. However it is an absolute shallow disgrace in comparison to its prequel and both RECs and shows that Hollywood should just leave well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
It is actually a good film, not the best horror but only thing that killed it for me it dragged too much! But overall a really good horror flick! Worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, it’s another zombie movie, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
In case you didn’t know, ‘Quarantine 2: The Terminal’ is the sequel to a movie (Quarantine, oddly enough) which was, in itself, a remake of (an excellent) Spanish horror film, ‘REC.’ Both REC and the first Quarantine movie were primarily known for being shot entirely through the use of handheld/first-person video footage. However, in the sequel, they do away with the ‘point of view’ aspect for the most part and what you’re left with is a pretty standard zombie movie.

And the zombies are the ‘infected’ type (if you haven’t seen 28 Days/Weeks Later that means they run and are generally a lot faster) as opposed to the classic ‘shuffler’ zombies. So, a flight is grounded in a terminal and the plane’s passengers have to survive inside a terminal while zombies pick them off one by one.

As a standard zombie movie it does the job. It has a few moments where the (fast) zombies jump out and grab someone. However, it’s never more than average. You’ll find it hard to recognise any actor and the characters are also the standard cliched types you’d expect from a straight-to-DVD release.

If you’re not completely tired with zombie movies, you might like this one, otherwise, stick with an early George Romero movie or the Walking Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, it’s another zombie movie, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Quarantine 2 -Terminal (DVD)
In case you didn’t know, ‘Quarantine 2: The Terminal’ is the sequel to a movie (Quarantine, oddly enough) which was, in itself, a remake of (an excellent) Spanish horror film, ‘REC.’ Both REC and the first Quarantine movie were primarily known for being shot entirely through the use of handheld/first-person video footage. However, in the sequel, they do away with the ‘point of view’ aspect for the most part and what you’re left with is a pretty standard zombie movie.

And the zombies are the ‘infected’ type (if you haven’t seen 28 Days/Weeks Later that means they run and are generally a lot faster) as opposed to the classic ‘shuffler’ zombies. So, a flight is grounded in a terminal and the plane’s passengers have to survive inside a terminal while zombies pick them off one by one.

As a standard zombie movie it does the job. It has a few moments where the (fast) zombies jump out and grab someone. However, it’s never more than average. You’ll find it hard to recognise any actor and the characters are also the standard cliched types you’d expect from a straight-to-DVD release.

If you’re not completely tired with zombie movies, you might like this one, otherwise, stick with an early George Romero movie or the Walking Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE, 12 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I thought the first movie was lousy. I watched this one with extreme prejudice. The movie starts building the characters of 2 stewardesses. Then as they help and greet passengers we get a glimpse of the passenger backgrounds. We already know there is going to be an infection, but who? The co-pilot is sick. He thinks he got it from his dog. There is a woman on board from an apartment building. Her cat is with her. The cat had left the building which she claims is very unusual. There is a man with some hamsters. Another man helps him with the hamsters and gets bit. There is an elderly man who is sick along with his wife, and a woman who has just returned from overseas, and a few others. A man is watching the events unfold from outside the apartment building from the first picture on his laptop. This one picks up where the other leaves off except the action is in an airplane.

Once a passenger gets infected and isolated in the restroom, the plane is told to land. It hooks up to a terminal where they are quarantined. Now it is just a matter of who lives and who dies.

The first thing I noticed is they got rid of the hand held camera nonsense and had enough money to make this into a regular movie. They still jerked the camera around when an infected human attacked to give you that terror feel. The animal sounds made by the infected humans didn't seem to be real or coming from the people making them. There is room for improvement as they kept the door open for an infinite amount of sequels.

Acting was a lot better than the first one. Better story line. Quick and effective introduction of characters before the action starts.

MF/F-bomb, no nudity, some implied sex, no real sex scenes. four and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Zombie/Rage Fest, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
OK, so this film has all your typical characters: the over-sexed couple, the uptight husband, the pregnant wife, the disturbed teen, the disabled guy, the overweight slob... The list goes on...

Throw all of these stereotypes into a plane and unleash a 'virus', that's pretty much the plot here.

I enjoyed the film in general, I was hoping there may be more action in the sky, but I suppose the subheading: Terminal kinda implied that they won't be in the sky for long!

This film, doesn't need to be thought about, it's 1hr 30mins of sit back and enjoy horror/action. Lots of screaming, walking into dark areas and telling everyone 'it's going to be ok'...

The connection to the first film is there and I think fits in nicely.

Worth a watch if you enjoyed the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as I thought it would be, 23 July 2012
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I actually watched 'Quarantine 2' free of charge after signing up for a trial month of Netflix, and was pleasantly surprised by the film. I hadn't seen the movie that preceded this one in the series, but I definitely rank the Spanish film that inspired it ('REC') as one of my all-time favourites.

As other reviewers have noted, the director of 'Quarantine 2' has dispensed of the shaky, handheld-camera method of shooting, thus robbing the film of any link to the original 'REC' series. That said, the suspense of the plot was handled relatively well, building quite rapidly after a quiet start. To summarise: the story follows that of a flight attendant, whose flight becomes compromised by a passenger - infected, it seems, with a highly contagious disease that provokes extreme violence within all those who catch it. Hardly an original storyline, but the intimate setting within the single-cabin plane lent itself well to a sense of claustrophobia and tension. I'd argue that there was even a little attempt at character development, and that the female characters weren't all pathetic, pick-us-off-one-by-one cry-babies. Even the kid had his badass moments!

In short, this is not a DVD that I would want to own, but the film kept me entertained enough on a night in with friends. For lovers of the killer-disease genre, I'd definitely recommend the original 'REC' over this, but, streaming it free on Netflix when you have nothing better to watch? Yes please, and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok of sequel, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
as a lover of the first this as a sequel let it down i think. if this was a film of its own i think it would be good. like the fact that this is happening the same time as the building is quarenined. this takes place on a airport terminal as the rabid infection is spreading. a good watch just not as good as the first. still,it is worth buying specially if you already own the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011]
Quarantine 2 [DVD] [2011] by John Pogue (DVD - 2011)
£4.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews