Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
This book has a wonderful blend of humour, science-fiction and magic. I highly recommend it to any fans of sci-fi/fantasy books with a quirky sense of humour. This book is very reasonably priced for such a fun read, and although personally I got it free from Smashwords, I would definitely pay for it.
Published on 10 Dec 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was there a plot?
Having read 11% of the way into this book nothing of any significance had happened. The suggestion of spaceships made of wood & powered with sails stretched my imagination to far. I didn't pay for this so I can't grumble to much, if you are a super-keen scifi fan you might enjoy this, but if you only occasionally read this genre this may disappoint.
Published on 24 April 2012 by MaxJEF


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Exmoor national Park) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
This book has a wonderful blend of humour, science-fiction and magic. I highly recommend it to any fans of sci-fi/fantasy books with a quirky sense of humour. This book is very reasonably priced for such a fun read, and although personally I got it free from Smashwords, I would definitely pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, But good, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
I found the book a bit unusual at first, mainly due to references in the book being different to what we would expect. It did take a bit of getting used to, but when I had got used to them, the book took a life of its own and I was always wanting to find out what happened next.

Would recommend this book, but would warn the reader to persevere at first and you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Sci-Fi with a fantasy twist, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
This is a Sci-Fi book, with a good dose of fantasy in there as well. It works. The story is a bit episodic, each chapter almost reading as a separate adventure, and leaving a few loose ends, but I can forgive this as the whole is a very readable, solid book.
I Enjoyed it. I will be reading the follow ups too. Maybe some of those loose ends are picked up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
I got this book as it sounded like my kind of story, sci-fi but with swashbuckling piratesque undertones.
The story starts well with character building and a strange feeling of acceptability of sailing ships flying through space, a strange concept but give it a chance, it does work. The storyline is quite good and all the players are believable and reachable. Killing off a main character in the first book of a series is a brave thing to do by the author, but. Even that didn't distract from what is an enjoyable read.
I gave it four stars as there are a number of typing mistakes and grammar issues, saying that, you can read through them and I'd be happy to read the next instalment of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was there a plot?, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
Having read 11% of the way into this book nothing of any significance had happened. The suggestion of spaceships made of wood & powered with sails stretched my imagination to far. I didn't pay for this so I can't grumble to much, if you are a super-keen scifi fan you might enjoy this, but if you only occasionally read this genre this may disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a funny fantasy romp, 17 July 2014
By 
grant mcnicol (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
A good storyline with believable characters.Our hero is DEXTER a Derring do and a complete chancer.There is plenty of magic and sex abound.There are serious episodes, but it is really an adventure story.The thing about sci-fi is that anything goes,it's really up to the reader to decide if it hits the spot.I liked this book I found it a compelling enjoyable read.The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because it was needing a good proof reader,but that's a technicality.So much so I have bought the next three books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Free Book I've Found so Far, 30 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. N. J. Hixson (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
I got my Kindle at Christmas and have enjoyed browsing through the various freebies out there. Most have been woeful, some good, and some better. As a Fantasy/SF fan this is probably the best one I have found so far.

The bad first. You're going to need to suspend your disbelief a fair bit. Air bubbles around everything? Ships in space? Hmmmm. It also wheels out a fair few fantasy tropes, including half elves, stuck up elves and Dwarves with a miners accents (though this time it was Welsh rather than Scottish. I imagined him with the voice of friends as I'm Welsh, it entertained me).

But don't hold any of that against it! It is easily one of the most entertaining reads I have read, paid and free combined, and is far better than any other free Kindle book I've found.

It is strikingly similar in concept to Firefly (it even has some enemy ships in it that are called firefly). With plenty of episodes based on jobs that you could easily imagine the Firefly crew doing.

In fact it reads as a series of episodes. Whilst there is an undercurrent of a plot (that presumably gets increased in later books), for the most part the action is in a series of episodes that build on the feeling of the crew.

And it works. I tend to prefer 'epic fantasy', with nations against nations. There are hints of that going on, but these episodes grip and entertain you.

This is not a book without flaws, but it is a book that is great fun, gives you interesting characters and is well worth a read. Personally the technique of hooking you with book 1 has worked on me, I'll be buying number 2. But even if you have no intention of it, this book is well worth a read. And for free, you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars soft porn with no real story, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
Women are unable to go for more than 5 pages without their heaving well endowed boobs popping out. And then another female is added and another and every fight seems to blow only the women's clothes off. Bit where elf woman shaves her vagina with a dagger in front of two blokes was the point I gave up.

Really tried to like it as sci-fi mixed with fantasy seemed interesting. But seems more like soft porn sure would be a favourite with teenage boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Sci Fi meld which does not work, 13 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
Could not finish this book which is rare for me. I understand that the author has tried to write something just a bit different by combining the fantasy and Sci Fi genres It did not quite work for me. I could not get myself involved in the universe described in the storyline and feel that the book was aimed at the 12 to 20 year old market. Nothing wrong with that but had I known that I would not have wasted my time reading even a part of this book. All the women are beautiful and wear very little The main characters are heroic and prevail against all odds yawn. The story line is predictable and the writing is just downright lazy in parts. Why do we keep getting these Amazon downloads with multiple typos per page? They are being churned out without being proof read and it is annoying and unnecessary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual SiFi, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voidhawk (Kindle Edition)
An interesting mixture but more inclined to Lord of the Rings quite enjoyable and that's from someone in there 70s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voidhawk
Voidhawk by Jason Halstead
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews