Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality
You can't help but come to watch the Godfather with a lot of preconceptions. It was always a film I just never got around to watching, but when I saw it was Number 1 in the Internet Movie Database Chart of greatest ever films I just had to watch it. Now I've seen it, I don't know if I'd call it the greatest ever, but it is certainly a dazzling film that stands up to...
Published on 25 Feb 2007 by Veronica

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Careful!
Just acquired this and watched the movie for the third time, this blu-ray for the first. I will avoid critiquing the movie itself and just make some technical points about the quality of the blu-ray copy. Having said that, on third watching of the film I have downgraded my appreciation of it and tend to agree with the more critical reviews below. It's value now is in the...
Published 18 months ago by welshman 99


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 25 Feb 2007
By 
Veronica (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
You can't help but come to watch the Godfather with a lot of preconceptions. It was always a film I just never got around to watching, but when I saw it was Number 1 in the Internet Movie Database Chart of greatest ever films I just had to watch it. Now I've seen it, I don't know if I'd call it the greatest ever, but it is certainly a dazzling film that stands up to repeated viewings and has quality stamped all over it from beginning to end. I never realised how big an impact the film had, for example, I didn't realise that 'swim with the fishes' and 'I'll make him an offer he can't refuse' came from the Godfather.

All of the acting performances are great. Al Pacino really surprised me with his charismatic performance as Michael Corleone, the man who changes from a war hero not involved in the family business to a man at the very heart of his crime family. By the end of the film I literally could not drag my eyes away from him, he has such a strong and powerful presence, which is amazing considering that I didn't think he was the most imposing of men at first glance. There is something inevitable about Michael's transformation, and to me it was his own decision - what he does, he does willingly, with his eyes wide open to the consequences. Perhaps that is the most chilling - and tragic - thing of all about this film.

Marlon Brando was also great as Don Vito Corleone. He gives truly a unique performance and somehow manages to make his whole face, body, voice and general demeanour take on the persona of his character - something that, unfortunately, few actors achieve. As I said, all the performances were great, but I just have to mention Robert Duvall, who plays Tom Hagen, the Don's adopted son and right hand man, with a seriousness and depth that was very impressive. James Caan was also great at the short-tempered son who was never going to be suitable to become Don. Finally, it was great to see Talia Shire, who was so good in Rocky, play a completely different character with the same level of competence.

One of my only criticisms of the film is that after the wonderful intense love story between Michael and Appollina ends so sadly, the movie seems to speed up and the years go by too quickly. I would have liked more explanation about why Michael goes back to Kay and what he was feeling at the time. I kind of felt that was left unresolved to some extent.

The 'Godfather' also highlights the utter futility of a life of murder and crime. If someone kills a member of your family, you must kill one of theirs, and then they kill someone else and so on...The 'family' must be protected at all costs, but this protection takes the form of violence, vengeance and control, and is ultimately - and ironically - what pulls the family apart. One of the most interesting ideas about the film for me is what the notion of 'respect' and 'honour' actually mean - and whether these things can ever be gained through murder and fear.

The role of women in the film is also fascinating. Kay and Michael are in love at the beginning, but he still leaves her and ends up marrying Appollina, with whom he falls in love with in a very different way. Kay is the wrong woman for Michael as she is too outspoken and doesn't want the Corleone family to continue with a life of crime. She should have said no to his proposal, but she was still 'in love' with the Michael she used to know before he decided to take over from his father. The ideal wife for Michael was Appollina, who would have been exactly like his own mother - quietly raising children and never asking about the business. Michael's power, magnetic presence and protectiveness are undoutedbly very attractive, and I found myself in the weird situation of being repelled by his actions and yet drawn towards these qualities. In the long run, though, being married to that type of man means a woman has to remain childlike - never discussing important matters or asking questions. In addition, the women are complicit to the violence, they know it goes on even if they say nothing - crucially they all know they are raising their own children for more of the same.

Overall, I'd say the Godfather stands up to the hype surrounding it, which is an amazing achievement in itself! It's a serious, entertaining and compelling film that makes you think. Like everybody else, I'm sure, I just wish there were more films made that manage to reach these heights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GODFATHER PART ONE, A RADICAL FILM, 6 Dec 2009
By 
BABU VARMA "B.K. Varma" (Trichur East, Kerala State, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
The Godfather I [DVD] [1972]Francis Ford Coppola was seen as a representative of the new generation of Hollywood film - makers and the success of the film guaranteed not only his artistic future but also improved the prospects of his contemporaries. Although it was directed by a `new' film - maker, The Godfather is essentially a traditional film: the subject matter - the world of ethnic crime - is familiar and has provided the basis for many previous films; the main thrust is a narrative one, though ranging widely in time and space; the story is told vividly and clearly; the stars are a mixture of established faces, such as Marlon Brando and Sterling Hayden, and promising newcomers - Al Pacino, James Caan and Diane Keaton. Many critics and reviewers have said that The Godfather is a radical film. This is a difficult argument to sustain, for the points the film makes about the place of crime in American Society. The intimate connections with the established representatives of law and politics, its control over legitimate enterprises, the analogies that can be made between the way crime and large corporations conduct their affairs are all familiar ones, and hardly the marks of a radical view of American Society. If anything, the film, with its admiration for a certain ideal of masculine purity based on honour, the ruthlessness, the use of violence and the maintenance of the family, is reactionary in outlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather - Video Quality - US Single BLURAY, 11 Feb 2013
By 
nannosthermos (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Review from:
[...]

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC (27.00 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1
Original aspect ratio: 1.85:1

Audio
English: Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
English: Dolby Digital Mono

Subtitles
English, English SDH, French, Spanish, Portuguese

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Packaging
Slipcover in original pressing

Playback
Region free

Presented in 1080p utilizing the AVC codec (at an average bitrate of 26Mbps), The Godfather looks better than I ever thought possible. The restoration efforts by Robert Harris and the MPI group are nothing short of amazing, especially when you consider the exhaustive effort they put into tracking down negatives with the least damage. One of the highlights on the boxed set of the complete collection is an informative documentary by Francis Ford Coppola, Robert Harris (restoration expert), and Gordon Willis (cinematographer), covering the restoration process in detail. Those of you who never viewed The Godfather during the days of VHS or any other point during the past 38 years should take the opportunity to witness the level of effort required to restore the film.

Now that we have that out of the way, I should make it abundantly clear this is an exquisite restoration that pays homage to the original intent of the filmmakers. It's not meant as demo-worthy material for your new HD display, and may seem off-putting to newcomers of the film. The original layers of grain are left intact, skin tones vary in shade from scene to scene, and there are abrupt reductions in fine object detail. Those who don't know better might pass these off as worrisome elements, but this is precisely how the film was created to look. Adding to the stylistic nature of the cinematography, the color palette reveals a constant push toward yellow, facial tones dance from red to orange, and blacks crush every last detail in the backgrounds. In many cases we'd consider these tendencies a bit troublesome (if this were a recent production), but given the age of the film and creative manner in which Coppola and Willis transport viewers back to a distant point in American history, I wouldn't want it any other way. For long-time fans this is a true revelation, so there's never been a better time to experience the rich visual style of Coppola's masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING., 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing! lost for words in the stunning quality of this. Recreating the whole thing in blu ray makes it seem like a different film! very pleased i bought this. Good price for the product and delivery was really fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best film ever made................., 19 Sep 2007
By 
Richard P. James (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly i can't believe someone said this was "the most over rated fils of all time" and only gave it 1 star. This is a masterpiece of film making, the only film that is equil to this is The Godfather ptII, nothing else is even on the same level. I'd advise to read the book first though as the film does leave a few bits missing. If you have not seen this already you should be ashamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gangster Movie Ever Made, 29 July 2007
By 
ray dorrity "ray dorrity" (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
I can remember waiting in the rain to get in to see this movie in 1972, and I can remember coming out stunned by it.
It's brilliant.

Absolutely flawless.

However, it's only marginally better than "Godfather II" ("Godfather III is rubbish!)
Buy both I & II and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood is not thicker than water with family betrayal, 6 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Godfather [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is simply the best i have ever seen. Marlon Brando makes you "an offer you simply can't refuse". The dark mafia underworld is portrayed so well, through wonderful scripting, acted inspirationally by Brando and Pacino. The love, respect, but also betrayal, is so evident, that family members could be working for other gangs, only because the power has moved in their direction. The plot is Fickle. If there is one film that you want to leave you thinking, then this is the one for you, subtle glances, brilliant one liners, and thought provoking speeches. Just check the beds, for horses heads, before you lay to rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Three Godfather Films, 1 Nov 2005
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
After I purchased Mario Puzo's novel, I stayed up most of that night reading it. Two years later, this film adaptation appeared and I have since seen it (as well as Godfather Part II) more than a dozen times. Francis Ford Coppola deserves all of the praise and awards these films have received over the years. He should also be admired for insisting that Pacino and Brando be cast in two of the major roles despite strong opposition from Paramount. Coppola assembled a superb cast but also an equally talented crew. Those who share my high regard for it no doubt have their own favorite scenes. Mine include Michael's enlistment of a bewildered young man's assistance at the hospital until members of the Corleone family arrive to protect their don, the sequence in the restaurant which results in the killing of Sollozzo and McCluskey, Tom Hagen's discussion with Jack Woltz during dinner, Michael's reunion conversation with Kay as they stroll in a New England village, and the montage of executions during the baptism. None of the extensive violence in the film seems gratuitous. Each major character is fully developed. The cinematography and score are outstanding, although neither was even nominated for an Academy Award. Dark as this film often is, it also has its lighter moments, as during the wedding celebration when Luca Brasi rehearses his remarks before presenting a gift and later when Clemenza teases Michael good-naturedly about Kay Adams. For me, the single most interesting element in the film is Michael's gradual development from his family's baby brother (albeit a war hero) to its ruthlessly efficient don. Once he volunteers to kill Sollozzo and McCluskey, his destiny is assured. In some respects, this film reminds me of an opera but one with a multi-dimensional plot as well as grandeur in its style, scope, and emotional impact. In 1998, the American Film Institute selected The Godfather as one of the three greatest American films. Only Citizen Kane and Casablanca were ranked higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Film Bar none, 13 Jun 2003
I have never seen a better or more enjoyable film. Marlon Brando and Al Pacino are excellent and also Robert Duval (as Tom Hagen) has an often underated performance which I feel is up there with Brando and Pacino. The only problem with the film is that it can be a little confusing about what is going on if you havent read the Puzo novel but dont let this put you off, you just might have to watch it several times to understand it fully. Definately buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Pacino do no wrong?, 23 Jun 2002
I love this film. It is the best ever gangster movie and i only love one film more (Empire Strikes Back). It spun 2 great sequels and set the guidelines for this kinda film. i was grossed out beyond belief at the whole horses head bit but i still love it. I did read the book first so expected a good viewing but really was blown away.
Al Pacino has won a life long fan as well. He is fantastic as Michael throughout. His taking over from Vito Corleone is fantastic and it all goes his way really.
The supporting cast were amazing. Robert Duvall was excellent as Tom and Sonny and Fredo were both portrayed magnificently. Perfect setting perfect music and perfect actors. This film is great.
Oh and as for the missing year after Mike gets back from Sicily, you'll just have to live with it. its a long film so i do advise copious amounts of popcorn etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE GODFATHER (1972) [import]
3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews