Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2011
The "new" Foreigner singer Kelly Hansen is amazing. I know there are some hardcore Lou Gram Fans out there. Of course Lou had a great voice - but Foreigner had to progress and move forward. They have done this in the finest way possible - with the release of "Can't slow down" last year they delivered new material. Acoustique & More are their best hits played in a very special way. You can hear Kelly's powerful voice, Mick Jones extraordinary guitar skills and the rest of the band just "jamming out". Top three highlights: "Juke Box Hero", "Waiting for a girl like you" and "Long way from home"

They also recorded their greatest hits in the studio with Kelly singing them. So powerful. So edgy. I was never a great fan of the song "Double Vision" - but this new version rocks.

Highly recommended.

Ah and you get a DVD showing them live in Chicago - amazing value as well.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I've loved Foreigner's music since the early 80s - their fourth album 4 was my introduction.
Since then I've bought all their albums, although they've been less prolific since the nineties.
With each new album, I keep expecting a dud but they seem to improve with age. The same can't be said of all rock groups: most peak in their twenties or thirties.
Can't Slow Down was a cracking album and so is Acoustique. Although there is little new material, there is a new singer and Kelly Hanson fills Lou Gramm's shoes very well.
You get three discs for your money: two audio CDs and one DVD. Great value!
I particularly enjoyed the unplugged album, although there are no electric guitars and keyboards they still rock out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
It's almost a master piece, great versions "acoustique". Kelly's vocals is powerfull and wonderfull as always and the band is magnific.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Fantastic cd, I play it over and over again. Guy's, keep up the great work, we can never get to much of Foreigner. Well done, Kelly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
If you want old style foreigner you will not like this. I love it, the best disk I have bought in a long time.
I have not heard an acoustic album this good in years, that voice, still hits all the notes, so basic and so well produced. A real winner.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
I bought this cd with reservations on what i would feel about it. Because there is no way to get away from it , Lou Gramm will be missed. And being as i've been a fan of Foreigner since the early 80's i felt he was going to be a hard act to follow. Surprise surprise this man ( Kelly Hansen) has manage to achieve what only a handful of replacement vocalists have ever mananged to achieve? they have come across as an equal adversary. Kelly's voice is not to dissimilar to Lou's so unless you're really a staunch Lou fan you will not really worry too much that it is a new vocalist. I was personally taken aback by this cd , i bought it out of curiosity , and i am glad i did , the songs sound fresher and dare i say it some of them even sound meatier too. The only reason i did not give this five stars is because there were a few songs that i would of liked to of heard him do on here but , the're absent. Well worth the money and dont worry if you miss Lou Gramm he will become a distant memoory once you've heard this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
Seen it on YouTube - Great to play - Old School - still the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
The prospect of an acoustic album by Foreigner was one of the attractions. The live DVD, another one. Kelly Hanson singing newly recorded Foreigner's classic songs, another one.

But the true reason of my purchase was one of the brand new tracks, "The flame still burns" ... That song (Mick Jones co-wrote it) was the poignant finishing touch of the 1998 movie "Still Crazy" (the best movie about a rock'n'roll band, IMHO), in its "electric" version, and it's one of my 25 all-time favourites "long" songs (the original is near 11 minutes).

The listening of this "acoustic" version send shivers to my spine. Kelly Hansen sings MUCH better than Jimmy Nail.

So, a worthwhile purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
As listed. A+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
This is classy release from an excellent band. Great new versions of Foreigner classics and a very impressive acoustic CD. The live DVD reflects how good this band are in concert. The singer Kelly Hansen is energetic and compliments the songs perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.