Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairytale Rom Com
An agoraphobic, virginal box office attendant who is prone to panic attacks and insecurities meets a recovering alcoholic, celebrity ice-skating sensation, with their only common ground being the dying Civic Hall, doesn't immediately strike you as a recipe for an entertaining and romantic read but Mandy Baggot pulls it off well with a light touch . The problems are dealt...
Published on 6 Aug 2011 by Book reviews

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars to read after a heavy volume.
easy reading that is a good break after reading an in depth novel. The characters are not feasible but its a gentle escapism.
Published 10 months ago by janel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairytale Rom Com, 6 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
An agoraphobic, virginal box office attendant who is prone to panic attacks and insecurities meets a recovering alcoholic, celebrity ice-skating sensation, with their only common ground being the dying Civic Hall, doesn't immediately strike you as a recipe for an entertaining and romantic read but Mandy Baggot pulls it off well with a light touch . The problems are dealt with in an easy way, keeping the story light hearted and fun without digging so deep that they become overbearing.

Breaking the Ice follows Samantha Smith, a shy 24 year old who has more issues than the back catalogue of `Hello' magazine and whose entire life revolves around the running of the Civic Hall. Initially, I wasn't sure if I would be able to cope with Samantha and her nerves for an entire novel, but as I read on I got to understand her anxieties and quirky reactions to stressful situations, making me warm to her.

Jimmy Lloyd, heart throb ice-skater was cool, down to earth, sexy and `wantable' despite his public image, previous track record and rehab visit. He is patient and understanding of Samantha and her issues. Through their joint efforts to keep the Civic Hall open, the story moves on and it becomes apparent that they have more in common than they think. Aware of this, Jimmy just needs to convince Samantha to believe in herself and to trust him.

Samantha's older sister, Cleo is outgoing and flirty, her rather full sex life the polar opposite to Samantha's. However, ultimately both women are looking for the same thing, although they may not necessarily know it.

The relationship between Samantha and Jimmy is set against the backdrop of the Civic Hall being closed and the skating tour performing there. Samantha's safe and secure world is threatened while Jimmy's comeback is not a bed of roses with behind the scenes tension and a plot against him.

Can the Civic Hall be saved?
Can Samantha overcome her panic attacks and allow herself to love?
Can Jimmy fight his demons and win?
Can Cleo find love amongst her lovers?

Read Breaking the Ice to find the answers in an entertaining, feel good and easy to read novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You won't Break the bank buying this one, 2 Aug 2011
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
The storyline of Breaking The Ice is very light making it an easy read. Although there wasn't much depth to the storyline this is made up with the detailed characters in this book. Samantha and Jimmy's characters are what truly make this book an enjoyable read. Samantha comes across as a very gentle character having lived a very sheltered life, it felt as though Samantha was trying to live her life through her sister. We see Samantha build her trust in Jimmy and start to try new things and we can feel how nervous she is often with a panic attack looming and we just hope that she doesn't get hurt.

This is the ideal book to read in between books as it is an easy and reasonably quick read not to challenging, ideal for sitting in the garden on a Sunday. The only thing I think lets the book down a little is the cover of the book. I don't think the cover of the book is appealing and it doesn't give the book the justice it deserves.

I like that Baggot has taken a typical chic lit style scenario with the famous guy falls in love with the plain Jane girl but has then weaved this is in to a different storyline featuring the ice skating which was a topic I have not read about before and which I enjoyed. Baggot also brings in an unexpected light hearted humour to the book which usually occurred when Samantha is coming out of her comfort zone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a brilliant book down to earth but lovely bit of romance, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
Oh my goodness there is so much in this book I can identify with am so glad I read this book. Samantha is the younger of two sisters one very outgoing(Cleo) who is so confident nothing seems to scare her, she seems a little embarrassed by her shy, book loving, old classic film loving sister(Samantha) who doesn't go in for latest fashion in clothes, or the latest nightclub or have to visit restaurant instead she's happy in her job in the Old Civic Hall selling tickets & being the person who seems to know all the local history much better the manager of the hall.

Life for Samantha is running along quite nicely for her, she has her routines her job & who wouldn't want love but she doesn't see herself as others do, she's been bullied because she's shy which just makes social things outside the confines of her job so scary, then in her little theatre along comes an infamous ice skater to put a show on at first she can't believe it people that well known don't come to their hall but no Jimmy Lloyd, much talked about Canadian ice skater, womaniser & alcoholic is there to put on a skating show.

Samantha has no idea who he is until she tells her celebrity loving, fashion loving, outgoing sister tells her who he is & that he's been in rehab for drink & drugs. Then one day she goes into work early & sees him practising all alone out on the ice & it reminds her of her love of ice discos when she was 15. The first time she meets him it doesn't go to well but over the next few days she starts to see a different side to him than the one the papers show, can he really be that bad, how can somebody who is like that be interested in little towns like theirs. I'm not putting any spoilers in all I will say is that this book really makes you wonder how badly some real life celebrities, sportsmen/women, athletes have been portrayed in the attention seeking, sensationalising media & how nice they could be in real life. Can't wait to read my next Mandy Baggot book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 29 Sep 2013
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Paperback)
Having never read any of Mandy's books before, I had no idea what to expect, however having been an FB pal for some time, I knew it had to be extraordinary, just like the author! And I wasn't at all disappointed. If you're a fan of chick lit, then Breaking The Ice offers all the usual chick lit fanfare - a hopelessly flawed main character and a sexy man to take her mind off things. Add to that a somewhat sex-obsessed zany sister and a boss who is plain old weird, you've got a story that'll keep you awake all night.
Not once was I bored or tempted to put the book down. In fact, quite the opposite, I found my Kindle hard to pry from my hands whilst reading - not even to get some much needed shut eye.
If I had to be critical about anything, I'd say I found Samantha, the main character, a little bit irritating at times due to her tendency to over panic, but once I realised she was just painfully shy and, let's face it, a bit weird, I came to accept her just the way she is.
I'm definitely keen to read more by Mandy Baggot. In fact, I've already got some of her books waiting patiently for me on my Kindle ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
This book is a clean fun read, the story is so cute and sweet. Recomend to everyone....and s good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended chick lit, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
Pretty predictable but a fun, easy, enjoyable read. Second Mandy Baggot book I've read and enjoy her style of writing, good books for a sitting by the pool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars to read after a heavy volume., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
easy reading that is a good break after reading an in depth novel. The characters are not feasible but its a gentle escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking the ice, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book immensely. The storyline was great and also the characters. I thought Sam was great and it was nice to read about a girl who isn't confident in her own skin, it was a refreshing read, definitely more like real life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it!, 13 May 2013
By 
G (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
I bought and then read this book within a couple of days and really enjoyed it, finding it a nice easy read with a story line that flowed while having a nice feel good factor about it, the characters seemed so real. I went on to read a couple of other books by the same author, which I have enjoyed too, and could easily imagine these books being made into a film.
Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Mandy Baggot, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Ice (Kindle Edition)
Got lost in another great book from Mandy Baggot, always a fun read, read it more of less in one sitting and enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b07774)

This product

Breaking the Ice
Breaking the Ice by Mandy Baggot
1.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews