Customer Reviews


339 Reviews
5 star:
 (278)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way.
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always...
Published on 23 April 2005 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine Disney classic - but it's a flipper!
The film's great, but it's one of the few DVDs left you have to turn over half way through. This is really annoying when your kids aren't old enough to do this themselves.
Published on 14 Jan 2001 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's supercalifraglisticexpialidocious!!, 9 Aug 2004
In this film, the Banks family suffer from the typical problems of a family in 1910. Mr George Banks (David Thomlinson) is too wrapped up in his work at the bank to notice his children, Jane and Michael, who always seems to be in trouble. He thinks that his life is perfect and at one. Then Mary Poppins (Julie Andrews) shows up and proves him wrong.
From jumping through chalk pavement pictures to bringing life to the Banks household, Mary Poppins is the best nanny.
The animated sequence is pure Disney (I like the cute Irish fox, myself.) The penguin dance is particularly memorable.
And you'll be all over the ceiling as you laugh with funny Uncle Albert (Ed Wyn)!
Julie Andrews is brilliant as Mary Poppins. She has a great voice and some of the musical numbers are quite moving.
Now, there have been many criticisms about Mr Van Dyke's attempt at cockney, but I'd suggest not to take it too seriously. Compared to some people I've heard, his is a noble attempt.
Taken altogether, this classic Disney is little more than just a children's movie. It's a film for the family and one of Disney's best live-action flicks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful!!, 3 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This DVD is absolutely wonderful from beginning to end. It consists of two discs, the first one includes the movie and has special features such as audio commentary and pop-up facts. The second is filled with special features including the making of Mary Poppins, deconstruction of scenes, etc.
The discs are filled with fascinating facts about the film and it is so nice to hear the stars of the film reuniting to share their experiences. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray - Better Than the First Few Minutes Would Have You Think, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This blu-ray release of Mary Poppins is a bit hard to judge at first. The opening credits and first couple of scenes had me wondering if they'd bothered to do any sort of restoration for the blu-ray. However, I realised that this was because there are a lot of composite shots in the opening. As the film progressed there was a dip in quality whenever a special effect was on screen. So, I dug out my DVD and did a comparison. The DVD is a LOT worse, and that dip in quality is just a noticeable. I think the blu-ray emphasizes the difference because the rest of the film looks so brilliant. I can honestly say, this IS the best this film has ever looked.

Close-ups are lovely and clear and the upgrade to a DTS 5.1 tracks is amazing. The songs have never sounded as good.If you're a fan, and you're ok with the limitations of film in the 60's, then you should be very happy with this blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie as good as new with neat extra features, 22 May 2009
This review is from: Mary Poppins [DVD] (DVD)
This product cost about as much as a new DVD, took over a week to arrive and was in excellent condition. I watched Mary Poppins several times as a child and the movie I received was exactly as the one I remember from my childhood. I even loaned it to a friend who has this movie as one of her childhood favourites and she shared it with her husband as a way for him to get to know her better. There are extra features including the fellows responsible for the music who told great stories about making the music and making the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect in Every Way, 1 Mar 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Banks family is in need of a new nanny for Jane and Michael. Fortunately, one arrives on the wind in the form of Mary Poppins. She's everything the kids want, fun and magical. But while she's taking them to chalk painting countrysides and tea parties on the ceiling, their father is less then happy. Can he be made to see beyond the end of his nose?
Ok, so this movie is really little more then an excuse for song and dance numbers. It's still great! The plot is paper thin, and you loose site of it in the middle of some of their fantastic scenes. Of course, part of that is because the movie is based on a book that is really nothing but short stories. Still this movie is more about fun then anything else. And it has that in spades. What kid wouldn't have fun imaging that they get to do all the things that Jane and Michael do in this movie?
It's said that Walt Disney poured everything he had learned into making this film, and it shows. Many of the special effects hold up remarkably well today. There were some I still hadn't figured out until watching this special edition. And the music! Any fan of Disney knows these songs by heart. And you can't help but find yourself humming "A Spoonful of Sugar," "Jolly Holiday," "Let's Go Fly a Kite," or "Chim Chim Cher-ee" for days after seeing it.
Those wanting to own a great DVD of this film won't be disappointed in this two-disc set. Disc one features the movie in all its wide screen glory. I can't see how it's ever looked better. The soundtrack has many different options, but the Home Theater mix will blow you away. It's fantastic. There is also a commentary track featuring Julie Andrews, Dick van Dyke, Karen Dubice (Jane), and Richard Sherman. Sprinkled in are archive comments from others, including Disney himself. Also included are some pop up facts to read along with while watching the movie. Disc two features a new documentary on the film, a deleted song, and more on the music with Julie, Dick, and the composers. And be sure to check out the animated "The Cat That Looked at a King," a tale adapted from one of the later books in the series.
One thing that comes through loud and clear in this set is how much fun everyone had making it and how much they respect Walt Disney. The fact that this film has lasted 40 years is testament to his genius. With this set, it'll be enjoyed by generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will blow you away, 28 Jan 2004
This review is from: Mary Poppins [DVD] (DVD)
This film is excellent for people of all ages.
Its great fun and a great piece of Disney magic. You even get the choice if singing along with all of the songs. Once again great fun and the best story ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 29 Mar 2005
I loved Mary Poppins from beginning to end. Everything about it is brilliantly done. The songs are a joy to hear, and not only the ones sung by Julie Andrews, but also those by the rest of the cast. The magic performed by Mary Poppins is consistent with her calm and self-assuredness; she is both in control as well as brings joy into the childrens' lives - and ours. And simple though the special effects may seem today, they are totally engaging. I also particularly enjoyed the animated panorama of London.
On the technical side, this set is wonderful: the extras include the songs performed by Julie Andrews, with lyrics, pop-up facts about the movie which you can enable or disable as you wish, an interactive game, but the best extra is the documentary about the making of the movies, which shows some deleted scenes as well as some of the methods used in filming. That was quite interesting. To all these I must add the vibrant colours, which are a feast to the eyes.
This is a thoroughly engaging movie, and I warmly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miracles do happen, 13 April 2009
This review is from: Mary Poppins [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Just when you think that you have seen all of Disney, there comes this new edition of "Mary Poppins" to surprise you. Maybe for the first time we can enjoy some of the "behind the scenes" moments, although I would personally like more "green screen" extracts. Still, the presence of the two protagonists in the anniversary documentary is refreshing. I think that collectors will not regret buying this product one more time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARY POPPINS / Blu Ray- 50th Anniversary., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing remaster this Disney classic has never looked so good picture full 1080p jumps out the screen and super5.1 DTS sound perhaps with it being a 50th anniversary Disney could have given the packaging a bit more umph!!! Also loaded with all the extras from the 2 disc DVD release,but not mentioned and my heart sank as it is not noted on the extras but thank god it is there the fantastic audio commentary with Julie Andrews,Dick Van Dyke,& Richard Sherman is there check the audio section on the blu ray plus this little lot enjoy -

Mary-Oke
Sing-Along With the Movie
Mary Poppins From Page To Stage - Disney's Song Selection
Step In Time
A Magical Musical Reunion Featuring Julie Andrews, Dick Van Dyke And Richard Sherman
Deleted Song: Chimpanzoo
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious: The Making Of Mary Poppins
The Gala World Premiere
The Cat That Looked At A King" From Mary Poppins Opens The Door By P.L. Travers
Movie Magic
Deconstruction Of A Scene: Jolly Holliday
Deconstruction Of A Scene: Step In Time
Dick Van Dyke Make-Up Test
Publicity (8 Trailers*)
A Musical Journey With Richard Sherman
The Gala World Premiere Party
Becoming Mr. Sherman - Mark,Wallasey,Wirral.22/11/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic, 28 Oct 2009
This review is from: Mary Poppins [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I bought this copy for my niece who can't stop singing 'feed the birds' and my girls love supercal.....you know the rest...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Poppins (Edicion 45 Aniversario) [DVD]
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews