Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly back on form!
No major Spoilers -

I'm a big Supernatural fan, and have already managed to see the entire of Season 7 via one way or another, and it was worth the trouble!

Season 1-5 was a brilliant story arc, and season 6 definitely felt like a bit of a reboot, but with season 7 they are pretty much back into their stride. The big bad in this season are the...
Published on 5 Aug 2012 by N. Lemans

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok but not the best...
*SPOILER ALERT*

I am a huge fan of supernatural! The stories up to the ending of Season 5 were gripping and exciting! However, from Season 6 onwards the series has begun to lose its way a little bit. Season 7 is probably the season I have enjoyed the least so far. The Leviathans are the main enemy in this season, and even though they are intriguing, I find them...
Published on 12 July 2012 by Jade


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly back on form!, 5 Aug 2012
By 
N. Lemans (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
No major Spoilers -

I'm a big Supernatural fan, and have already managed to see the entire of Season 7 via one way or another, and it was worth the trouble!

Season 1-5 was a brilliant story arc, and season 6 definitely felt like a bit of a reboot, but with season 7 they are pretty much back into their stride. The big bad in this season are the Leviathan, which aren't the best ever, but they tie the season together nicely.

The best thing about this season really is that we get quite a few good "monster of the week" episodes, including Dean time travelling, a visit from an Egyptian God and a "cursed objects" story.

There are some brilliant laugh out loud moments through the season as usual, Jensen Ackles has fantastic comedic timing, and overall I enjoyed it very much. The show is still missing a little "purpose", which is why I'm only giving it 4 stars, but it is still one of the best things on TV, and I can't wait to get my DVDs to rewatch it!

Season 8 just got confirmed, thank Goodness, as Season 7 once again ended on a pretty big cliffhanger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as always, but it feels a bit.... pointless..., 3 Dec 2012
By 
SNS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Supernatural and from season 1 to 7 its very hard to find one episode which isn't at least entertaining, heart breaking or just fun to watch.

But since the end of Season 5 the show is starting to seriously clutch at straws to find content.

Season 6 was very fun and great, and ended on this massive note (I won't ruin it) but that same note was very, very quickly dropped off at the start of Season 6.

What was built up as this amazing prospect was ultimately used just to bring the "leviathans" into the picture and those new villains were a bit... meh!

Supernatural usually does a good job of making their bad-guys feel grand and dangerous, and yet these leviathans didn't really feel all that bad. These are creatures who can kill Angels and were cast away by God because they would literally eat the world!

But all we got were black slime creatures who would copy people and had teeth... really? All the images of leviathan and the biblical descriptions show them to be MASSIVE creatures... it would have been nice to have at least one flash back or image of them in that form to set the mood (perhaps n the water?).

And the whole evil business men thing, while making sense logically, just didn't sit right with me in how they would behave. I realise this is a TV with a limited budget and they accomplish A LOT with that visually and CGI wise, but as above I would have liked to see them in scarier form.

My only other gripe, is the send of for Bobby!

I have watched Supernatural from season 1 - 7 and cried my eyes out when I saw other regular characters die or be killed.... yet when Bobby left it had no real punch or emotional impact and it should have!

But outside of this... the season was fun and it developed its characters well, but still just felt a bit like filler to me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yay for Supernatural, 20 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I've watched from the very beginning and I wish that it would last forever. You have to watch it to truly appreciate the series and all that goes into it from those infront of the camera and those behind the scenes. Supernatural just keeps on getting better and exploring new areas of our world and its myths. Cannot wait to join Dean, Sam and Castiel for season 8 and may there be many more seasons after that. Lets all sit down get some pie and enjoy the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok but not the best..., 12 July 2012
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
*SPOILER ALERT*

I am a huge fan of supernatural! The stories up to the ending of Season 5 were gripping and exciting! However, from Season 6 onwards the series has begun to lose its way a little bit. Season 7 is probably the season I have enjoyed the least so far. The Leviathans are the main enemy in this season, and even though they are intriguing, I find them mediocre as an enemy. As another reviewer has stated, Lucifer was better as the "big bad". Having said that, the episodes where Lucifer makes a return are great! I am not sure what they are doing with Castiel's character however. The episode where he returns to heal Sam was a potential return to form, but much later in the series he becomes some type of hippy character and I didnt know what to make of him anymore. Losing Bobby, and then gaining Bobby and then losing Bobby was a strange set of circumstances also. I think him returning as a ghost cheapened his original death, and therefore his final goodbye wasnt as strong as it perhaps should have been. He will be very missed as I thought he was one of the best characters on the show (along with Dean and Sam of course) Overall I think opinions will be varied on this season, but even though I dont think the show is a strong as before, there have been some great episodes and it is still very enjoyable. I really hope season 8 will be better, as the last episode was left on quite a cliffhanger!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good, but overall a weak season., 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Supernatural is simply one of the best series around at the moment and should certainly be up there with the all time greats. There have been a few dips along the way, but overall it has gone from strength to strength. This is why this season overall felt like a bit of a damp squib.

In one respect, the series has made a shift back to moster of the week episodes, which are FANTASTIC when interspersed with an overall arc, and I am really glad they have done this. The last couple of seasons moved away from this a bit too much.

However, the overall arc of this season was disappointing. They left the last season on a major high, with Castiel declaring himself god. This was dropped like a stone a couple of episodes in. Satan in Sams head was a good arc, even when (spoiler) Cas shifted the madness sideways into himself, but then hey, that was suddenly dropped and forgotten about too. 'Hey I'm better now!' Bobbys death just seemed pointless, but would have been realistic in a sense, but then they cheapened it by bringing him back as a ghost. They should have left it at the reaper episode which was a really good character piece for Bobby. The Leviathans which are supposed to be bigger and badder than anything that has come before were weak and practically minced all over the screen. What I suppose was meant to be evil and insidious just came off as effeminate and pointless. The big bad got stabbed in the neck and that was it. C'mon!!! The big battle at the end just felt tacked on as an after thought. They should have thrown everything they had at this instead of seemingly just going through the motions.

The Idea of the leviathans was a good one, but they messed it up royally. I would have preferred this season to have monster of the week episodes whilst exploring Cas's declaration of godhood and the brothers attempts to bring him back, as well as rescue Sam from Satan. The Leviathans should have been hinted at and brought in much more powerfully NEXT season.

They really need to step up their game for Season 8. I would HATE to see one of the best shows around go out on a whimper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on their game!, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I enjoyed season 6 but I do agree it was not their best, so when Superatural was picked up for season 7 (obviously relieved) but also not sure what to expect...... Well I didn't need to worry, this season has the best of the older episodes in terms of old school Sam & Dean and their relationship with Bobbie.
It's brought us new enemies and they're not afriad to let go of regular characters(some touching episodes. As ever well written and the right mix of comedy "Deans' one liners" action and touching story lines. This season finale is amazing and season 8 can't come quick enough (unfortunately for UK viewers there's a good chance that won't be until Aug 2013......) This season is a must enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the Addictive Adventures of Winchester Brothers Continues..., 7 Nov 2012
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
(Skip to the end to see the DVD Vital Stats)The background plot of Supernatural is often blamed for spiraling the series down to an end, when it involves Heaven and Angels and Purgatory and Leviathans and various concepts about God, it was a bit carried away from the original Vampire-Monster hunting theme. In the Seventh Season, it was going on the same track with tougher demons, ancient and ultra modern evils and of course, heavenly struggles!

If you are a loyal fan of Supernatural, you will like the series, and in this season you will find there is more twists and turns than the Highway 53! So, AVOID READING too many reviews or episode lists, which invariably contains too many spoilers. Even a minor spoiler kills a lot of surprise elements, and a lot of the reviews contain major spoilers where the reviewers thinking they are just minor spoilers. I am serious, if you really want to enjoy the tonnes of surprises in this season just watch it without reading any reviews or columns about the series. Which doesn't mean you have to stop reading now, as I am not giving away any surprises or adding any spoilers even a mild one (though I had to admit that the first paragraph of my review has a small giveaway of a surprise twist).

Well, the season is great, and the fans probably love it, especially as Sam and Dean back on the job, and fighting tougher demons and equally tougher internal struggles, often walking the thin line between the reality and the other side. The tense, knuckle whitening, addictive mesmerism continues with this season as well. Add this one to your collection.

DVD Vital Stats:
Subtitles: English, English SDH, Castillian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Norwegian, Portugese, and Swedish
Audio-Languages: English, Castillian Spanish, French
Audio: Both 5.1 and 2.0 Dolby Digital
Aspect Ratio: 16x9 Full Frame
Run Time (Approx.): 923 minutes
DVD Region: 2 (PAL)
Rated: 15 (Contains strong bloody violence, horror and gory images)
Compatibility with Computers, Tables, and Smartphones (both Android and iPhone): This DVD set includes ultraviolet instant stream and download and can be shared with up to five friends or family members. However, please NOTE that ultraviolet is not available in the Republic of Ireland, the Channels Island and Isle of Man.

Special Features:
* 3 Episode Commentaries
* Directing the Supernatural. Seven directors discuss the opportunities and challenges.
* Washboards and Tommy Guns: Scaring Time After Time - Composes discuss their work on the film noir homage episode Time After Time After Time.
* Jensen Sings Outtake: The unused fuller version of Jensen crooning Air Supply's "I'm All Out of Love"
*Unaired Scenes
* Gag Reel
Please give a thumbs up and comment: Love to hear your opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Release, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
As huge fans of Supernatural, we couldn't wait to get our hands on Season 7 where the Winchesters face a new major threat brought through from Purgatory in the previous series within Castiel. All emotions are gone through within this series bringing it back to a more rounded keel that for me as a viewer has been missing from some of the previous seasons

In addition to this, there's heartache that will have the fans crying out, some light-hearted moments and a whole range of hunts that the brothers embark upon whilst dealing with their major quest..

Add to the epic 22 episodes some wonderful additions on the DVD include Jensen Singing, a funny gag reel as well as audio commetaries which when added to a few others makes this a cracking addition to any fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Step up from Season 6, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Let me start by saying that I am a HUGE Supernatural fan, but for me season 6 was a bit, well, blah. There was something missing, and I definitely was not happy with the way the season ended. Season 7 has not ended yet, but here are my thoughts so far:
*Castiel is one of my favourite characters, but events in season 6 turned him into a completely different character. In season 7, he finds a way to redeem himself (episode 17), and I found that episode in particular extremely powerful. He takes upon himself a burden that was not meant for him in order to save a friend, and no matter how sad the situation, it feels like he is Cas once more, rather than the power-hungry, God- wannabe that needed to be destroyed.
*This season's 'big bad'- The Leviathans. Not really sure what to make of them if I'm honest. They're creepy enough, and the only way to really kill them is pretty disgusting, but at the same time, they just don't feel like a bigger threat than Lucifer. Considering they are supposedly the ultimate threat, Lucifer seemed more urgent, more menacing. Maybe it's just me, but so far I've found them a little disappointing (maybe they will prove me wrong in the last few episodes).
*The brotherly bond is intact. Dean is still hilarious, and Sam is still, well... tortured. Poor Sammy- the writers really do like to abuse him.
*A major character is killed off this season, and the goodbye made me cry (yes, I'm such a girl, let's move on).
*I love the re-appearance of Mark Pellegrino as Lucifer. He may not really be around, trying to end the world, but he exists in Sam's mind, and tortures him constantly, eventually getting him committed. Don't get me wrong, I love Sam, and the story-line is heart-breaking as he struggles to keep his grip on what is real and what is not, but I love Mark Pellegrino as an actor and there's something so perversely hilarious about his taunts as he tries to get Sam to acknowledge his 'existence'.
*Another note- I really could have done without the clown episode. The last episode of Supernatural involving killer clowns was quite enough, and as stupid as it sounds, they were far creepier than any demon or Leviathan (but maybe that's just my issue).
*Best episodes so far- Death's Door, Time After Time, The Born-Again Identity.

Rating- 4/5 (one star off for the Leviathan not yet living up to their potential- may revise rating if final episodes prove me wrong).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! freaking great, 19 Jan 2012
By 
J. Buchanan "Dragon King" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Oh my this season is a massive step up from season 6 .Dean is back to his hunter ways , Sammy is a insane seeing Lucifer but so far found a way to control it.Bobby must take on some tasks and stand up for himself.Cas is gone but i heard he's coming back so ....But this season has a good bady Richard Dick Roman very good .There is the brotherly in jokes and the brotherly bond that we all miss aswell .Jensen(dean) as always to me been the main though they both are but Jared's (Sam) acting as improved so much . There are also guests apprances James Masters (spike -Buffy) who is seat to come back and charisma carpenter (Cordelia-Buffy/angle) . We also have old friends sheriff mills alona tal (Jo) . This is to me has not had one terrible episode the only thing that is missing is the rock music though there was a bit played when they came back after there break .But thats the only piece missing

This is how i rate the season eposides so far

1)Meet The New Boss 7/10
2)Hello cruel world 8/10
3)the girl next door 8/10
4) Defending Your Life 8/10
5) shut up,doctor phill 8 and half /10
6)Slash Fiction 9/10
7)The Mentalists 9/10
8)Season 7, Time for a Wedding! 8/10
9)How To Win Friends And Influence Monsters 9/10
10)Death's door 10/10
11)Adventures in Babysitting 8/10
12)Time after Time 10/10

So thats my rating so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural - Season 7 Complete (DVD + UV Copy) [2012]
10.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews