Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Total
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
49
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2011
I feel the need to react to the previous negative reviews. Total" is a compilation with previously released material by Joy Division and New Order (except for one previously unreleased track, which is available as a single download) which most fans have over and over. Nevertheless this is fantastic music, remastered to today's better standards, showing the musical development from the most influential British pop group throughout the 80s, from existentialist, angst-ridden post-punk to perfect pop music drenched in acid house.

No one is forced to buy this compilation, and many fans feel cheated on their non-commercial ideals which they associate with the group's most defining years on the Manchester indie label Factory. These days are gone for 20 years now, idealised in retrospective, and New Order is just a pop group that makes creative as business decisions like anyone else. If a 14-year-old kid in 2011 is listening and investigating further, this compilation does its job perfectly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
really enjoyed this cd. lots of songs and great value for miney. I recommend it thoroughly. the older stuff stands up pretty well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
There are better compilations of Joy Division/New Order available than this. Having seen New Order perform live at Bestival 2012 I was really looking forward to hearing this, but it sounds tinny, the levels are all wrong and the vocals sound like out-takes. Whoever produced this should be ashamed! If a remix sounds so much worse than the original singles then simply don't bother doing them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Brilliant! This is an excellent compilation. It has been the only thing playing in the car since I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2011
'Re-issue ! Re-package ! Re-package !
Re-evaluate the songs
Double-pack with a photograph
Extra Track (and a tacky badge)'

Lyrics: Morrissey 1987
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Bought on impulse. Some very good tracks (that you will recognise) but some not so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Excellent CD, broad sweep of both incarnations of the bands music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
This compilation is very good because is covers both great bands from Joy Division and New Order. Hellbent is a classic New order song with great music in it, whatever this band touches turns to gold, I still can't wait for the WFTSC leftovers, if Hellbent sound this good which is a leftover from the WFTSC sessions just imagine how the other songs are going to sound, some of the left over tracks are called Sugarcane, Madonna and Brothers and sisters, I am very eager to listen to these songs and again Hellbent is a great song.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
I wasn't carried away with this type of music in the eighties, although having listened to this album a few times I do really like it now. It achieves a sound that you simply do not get from conventional instruments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
Good, as expected
Like Plastic,(no pun)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)