Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raving & Drooling
I already give the original album 5 stars and it's been reviewed a zillion times. The interest here is in the 2nd disc. After hearing a few bootlegs from the Wish You Were Here tour over the years, I'm already familiar with the 2 tracks `Raving & Drooling' & `You've Got To Be Crazy', which were renamed when they finally appeared on the Animals album released in 1977. To...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Puffany

versus
83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, Disappointing Box
There is no question that Wish You Were Here is a 5 star album, but this Immersion box set is over priced and a disappointment.

Firstly, at the time of writing, it costs the same as the Dark Side Of The Moon Immersion box, 84.99, but contains one less disc. At least the Dark Side box contained an extra CD of demos and alternate mixes, which made it a little...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Mr. P. M. Soper


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raving & Drooling, 7 Nov 2011
By 
I already give the original album 5 stars and it's been reviewed a zillion times. The interest here is in the 2nd disc. After hearing a few bootlegs from the Wish You Were Here tour over the years, I'm already familiar with the 2 tracks `Raving & Drooling' & `You've Got To Be Crazy', which were renamed when they finally appeared on the Animals album released in 1977. To me, the intensity and energy of those tracks performed live on the WYWH tour were the highlights of that tour. This live recording of Shine, Raving & Crazy is amazing. The performances are top-notch and the audio is so clean and fresh to the ears - you can't beat this for a live 1974 recording. I wasn't sure of what to expect because of some live discs I've heard included in Deluxe albums released by other artists that were hardly better than an average bootleg. This will blow you away - turn it up!!
Wine Glasses - can't tell you much about it except that it doesn't offend the ears.
The alternate versions of Have a Cigar & Wish You Were Here are of real interest for any hardcore fan.
Roger & the boys supply the vocals on this version of Have a Cigar. Waters didn't think his vocals were right for this track at the time. Roy Harper happened to be recording an album at the same studios at the time so Floyd asked him for his assistance for the original album version.
The actual structure of Wish You Were Here is different, let alone a different lead at the start from Gilmour. Add to that the violin solo played by French jazz violinist Stephane Grappelli up high in the mix as a lead instrument and you have something very different from the familiar version.

Pros and Cons of disc 2:
Pros: the whole of disc 2 is what a lot of us fans have prayed for.
Cons: not enough live material. It would've been awesome to have the whole Wembley gig, warts and all.

Excellent release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish you had it, 8 Nov 2011
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Another sonic feast from the remastering session undertaken by James Guthrie and Joel Plante at Das Boot Recording. This album has been improved significantly, as have the rest by this remastering, better stereo separation, as can be heard at the start of Shine On, the warbling sounds and the keyboards are so well defined in the stereo image that it possible to hear that each note comes from a different place. Everything sounds so much better and realistic when compared to the previous issues, cleaner, clearer, less obviously digital(an oxymoron if ever), better bass, again for the bass and also the keyboards, easier to understand singing, better harmonic content and so on.......

The bonus cd is by turns wonderful and yet a reminder of what could have been. The live 74 gig stuff is outstanding in sound quality and makes the missing Echoes all the more frustrating, why was it left out? Raving and Youv'e Got To Be could have gone onto an Animals bonus cd and Echoes thrown on here, or onto another bonus cd for Meddle. Anyway, these are all fine tracks. Wine Glasses is superb, I loved it, and now know where the intro for Shine On came from. The vocals on the alternative Have a Cigar are first class, can't see why they got Roy Harper in for that one. The Stephane Grapelli violin playing adds a really powerful emotional layer to Wish You Were Here that surprised me, again superb stuff.

Overall a magnificent addition to any Floyd fans collection. Highly recommended.

edit - it has struck me going back through this album and the Animals album just how much Rick Wright contributed to the Floyd sound. I would put this and Animals up as testament to the skill and musicianmanship of Rick as being second to none for getting a mood across. Floyd are often remembered for David Gilmours scorching guitarwork and Roger Waters acerbic lyrics, so I think it is only fair to point out the superb keyboard playing on this and Animals to redress this imbalance.

Nicks drumming comes across a lot better on all of these remasters, while I am praising the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most beautiful rock albums ever., 20 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
Wish You Were Here really has to be listened to all the way through from start to finish in one sitting. Any other way just doesn't do it justice. David Gilmour's opening guitar notes on Shine On You Crazy Diamond ring out like cathedral bells and this was the inspiration for Roger Waters' haunting lyrical tribute to lost band member Syd Barrett. Welcome to the Machine is a gutsy attack on the recording industry and has to be heard just for the clarity of the stereo acoustic guitars ringing out over the swooshing synthesizers and rolling tympanies. Have A Cigar features Roy Harper on vocals and funky guitars and continues the disillusioned rock star theme. The absolute classic Wish You Were Here follows, with one of the best openings of any rock song ever produced. Shine On You Crazy Diamond returns to conclude the album. If there is a better album from this era, I'd like to know what it is. The packaging of this album (designed by long-time Pink Floyd cohort, Storm Thorgerson) is as equally as impressive as the music itself and likewise deserves to be studied at length. Although released in 1975, this album has not aged or become dated with the passing of time at all. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, Disappointing Box, 7 Nov 2011
By 
There is no question that Wish You Were Here is a 5 star album, but this Immersion box set is over priced and a disappointment.

Firstly, at the time of writing, it costs the same as the Dark Side Of The Moon Immersion box, 84.99, but contains one less disc. At least the Dark Side box contained an extra CD of demos and alternate mixes, which made it a little more desirable.

Discs 1 & 2, the remastered original album and bonus tracks, can be bought for 12.93 as part of the Experience edition.
For your extra 70+, you get 2 DVDs and a Blu Ray disc, replicating the DVD contents. Therefore, if you have a Blu Ray player, the DVDs are redundant. There is no doubt, however, that this is where the holy grail is contained, with the release of the long awaited 5.1 mix of the album, in addition to the original 1975 Quadrophonic mix and concert screen films.

As with the Dark Side set, the rest of the box is filled with 'collectibles', most rather pointless and of 'cheap' quality. The two photo books are flimsy and lack much content, the scarf and marbles are pointless, & the print, collector's cards, replica ticket and backstage pass are interesting to look at once, but you won't need to return to them again. EMI could have left all these out and cut the price.

If you have an SACD player, I would recommend buying the SACD instead, which contains the 2011 remaster and 5.1 mix. Although it has to be imported, it is available from European online sites for around 30, including shipping. That way, you can still own the 5.1 mix and save yourself 50 odd quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELCOME TO THE 'NEW PRISTINE ' MACHINE, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Well what a day,you settle down to listen to this and Rush's Timeline 2011 cd pops thru the letterbox,god its great lovin' music.Like its predecesor DSOTM,this release is a 2 disc affair,complete with very poor flimsy packaging as per most of these reissues,the booklet lovingly stuck firmly in its jacket,just as well there's nothing of note contained as you wont take it out often,however as i said in DSOTM's review its the music that matters most of all,so....

Disc 1 the original album remastered,now this is my all time favourite Floyd disc so i was anxious as to how it would sound,i stand by my belief that DSOTM didnt sound that much different,this however i feel HAS been improved,'Shine On.. pts 1 & 2 both shimmer from the speakers,while 'Welcome to the Machine' reminds me more and more of Hawkwind,while the title track is just a beautiful piece in anyones collection and 'Have a Cigar' has its irresistible strut enhanced,the disc ,IMHO,sounds clearer with a bounce to the bass.It was class in '75 and its still class now,wonderful stuff.

Disc 2 opens with 50 plus min's of Floyd live, 20 minutes of 'Shine On...' plus 2 tracks that would end up on ANIMALS,i've never heard these nor any of the other unreleased tracks,so this was my main reason for purchase,the live tracks are superb,i just worry they'll release the wembley gig with 'Echoes as a bonus track!!.

The studio tracks are pretty good,an alternate, longer version of 'Have a Cigar',fine with me,its my favourite track on the original disc,while the Stefan Grappelli violin piece in 'Wish you were here' made the hairs on my neck stand up,leaving 'Wine Glasses' as a throwaway instrumental,the like of which hawkwind made a career out of,brilliant bonus tracks for the most part,well worth the purchase price.

You can buy with confidence this is a fantastic release(packaging not withstanding)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect., 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Wish You Were Here [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I bought this as my (much vaunted)original copy has seen better days being nearly 30 years old. The album came extremely well packaged by amazon, and housed in it own bin liner black poly bag, with a couple of cheapish WYWH stickers, how much more black could this be, I wondered. None, none more black, I concluded!

The record is housed in a very similar packaging to the original, but no inner poly bag, (eek!!) tho the inner sleeve has some handy cut out corners, so adding your own poly inner works well, and the 180g heavy weight vinyl itself is first rate quality. Tho the inner label is only black and white, as opposed to blue, black and white. No static clicks, or much surface noise at all. Other than at the start of the song 'wish you were here', where you'd expect it, as it's part of the recording. You get a free poster, the original postcard, and the 320kbps free digital download voucher, again on a card.

Now the master is new, from the digital remaster, which makes the listening experience rather different to the original. Identifying where individual tracks start is a lot easier on this version. The sound is crisper, but lacking none of the musicality and sonic flow that you expect from vinyl. The acid test of Dave's 'phlegm register' is a lot more audible, and clear, and the reproduction of his fret work is the best I've heard on vinyl or cd. The sound stage-ability of what is by now very old multi-track recording analogue tapes is better, and I suspect that the album sounds as good on this vinyl version, as it is ever going to using non D.S. Hi-Fi reproduction.

As my copy of the original CD, was also damaged I invested in the experience double CD, and I have to agree with all the comments that the re-master has added a great deal. But the cd version whilst a lot crisper than the vinyl still lacks the clarity of instrumentation and harmonics that the new vinyl version achieves.

The addition of an inner poly bag, would have made this perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yet another missed opportunity - shoddy, EMI!, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The music on "Wish You Were Here" - possibly the Floyd's best-ever album - is faultless and can be recommended without reservation, especially this remaster which offers the listener subtle but significant improvements on previous incarnations.

The bonus disc, likewise, sounds superb and contains some peerless music, from the three '74 live tracks; the eerily beautiful "Wine Glasses" from the aborted "Household Objects" project; a lengthy, more languid "Cigar" sung by Big Rog; to the album title track, complete with a sparkling contribution from Stefane Grappelli.

It's the rest of it that lets this set down. The AV DVD is very short and contains some de-contextualised screen films from '75 (boring after one viewing, TBH) and a pointless Thorgerson short film. That's it. The audio DVD has surround mixes, as does the DVD.

There's the usual tat (cheap scarf, marbles, un-memorabilia and cardboard coasters) and a couple of flimsy books which, while better than the DSOTM books could still have been more comprehensive - and in hardback too.

Unless you're absolutely desperate to own surround versions of the album, I can't really recommend this box, which represents very poor value for money.You'd be better off buying the Experience two-CD set which is about a fifth of the price.

Poor show, EMI! And the Floyd should show some interest and force their record company to do a better job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 Stars for packaging, 28 Nov 2011
I received my box in the mail today. The carton was crushed and all the discs were floating around in the box all scratched.
I was crazy enough to order this after the Dark Side Of The Moon set was also in a similar situation.
The sound is great on the discs even though they look like something from a DVD rental shop now.

I would recommend the music enclosed but I do not recommend the packaging and stupid marbles and scarfs etc.

I am absolutely furious that EMI have not listened to customers feedback and have given us the finger yet again.

How can we have any faith in such an expensive product.

A huge rip off.

Additional review:
Just sent my Wish You Were Here Immersion box back to Amazon UK for a refund, all the discs had come loose some won't play, it's that bad. The Blu Ray has serious faults, lots of clicking sounds. Apparently the first batch of Blu-Ray UK discs has a fault and I'm one who got them. Sometimes pre-orders are not good.

As a collection there is really only 1 CD with any unreleased tracks and 3 other discs with Wish You Were Here in various mixes in 5.1 & Quad. The booklets are nothing special and the marbles can't be described in this forum with out using several 4 letter words.

Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were Here Shines On!, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is about the Super Audio CD edition of this album "Wish You Were Here: 35th Anniversary Edition".

I was lucky enough to get a copy of this limited edition SA-CD via a Japanese pre-order back in November 2011 and I'm glad I did.Its a testament to the incredible work that James Guthrie and his collaborators have done remastering and remixing this landmark Pink Floyd album.There are a couple of different ways to purchase the new masters.There's the single disc "Wish You Were Here [Discovery Edition]",the double cd "Wish You Were Here Experience Edition",the ridiculously expensive box set "Wish You Were Here Immersion Edition" and of course,the SA-CD. All I was really interested in was the 5.1 mix and the original Quad mix and almost shelled out the money for the box set.I'm glad,after reading all the bad reviews for the box set,I decided the SA-CD was the best option.

Firstly the new stereo master which sounds much clearer than it's previous pressing back in 1994 with nice separation and rich bass tones.No doubt the advantage of SA-CD playback.But the real delight here is the 5.1 surround mix,originally prepared back in 2003 for release by EMI but shelved when they,like all of the major record labels,abandoned the SA-CD format.I thought I knew every note of this album as it's always been my favourite Floyd release.The surround mix allows you to hear such amazing detail that maybe until now,has only been heard by a select few who have the original Quad mix done by Alan Parsons.I could go on writing about all the new aural experiences this 5.1 mix allows you to pick out with the additional separation of surround sound but that would spoil it for potential listeners.The transition between "Have A Cigar" and the title track is awesome,that's all I'll say.

I hope everyone that was wanting a copy of this album on Super Audio got one on pre order(you'll be glad you did)and not too many third party sellers have picked up multiple copies for future selling at extortionate prices(as most SA-CD titles are currently being sold).It's the best SA-CD of rock music I've heard for many years.
Now all we need is "The Wall" on Super Audio,wouldn't that sound great in 5.1!

"Remember When You Were Young...???"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd Cardboard Cases !, 22 Jun 2012
Hi, I am disappointed in all these so called saving the environment cardboard cases that have taken over the plastic jewel CD cases, nowadays. They are so awkward to actually get your CD's out of, the discs are so tightly packed in them that you end up putting your fingers over the discs to try & get them out & end up marking the disc. I have given up & ended up ripping the cardboard case apart & putting the CD in a good old plastic jewel case. So ditch these rubbish cardboard cases & stick to plastic CD jewel cases.

A review of The Pink Floyd remastered CD's they are Great, much clearer to hear all the little details in the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wish You Were Here [VINYL]
Wish You Were Here [VINYL] by Pink Floyd (Vinyl - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews