Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quid Pro Quo
As a long-time Quo fan, I really like this album but this comes as no surprise to me. To me, Quid Pro Quo sounds like the culmination of Status Quo rediscovering their soul (their `Quoness' if you like) that started with Under the Influence in 1999, continued with Heavy Traffic in 2002 and was consolidated on The Party Ain't Over Yet (2005) and In Search of the Forth...
Published on 31 May 2011 by S. Hopkins

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better but not a classic
I would give this 3.5 stars if i could. I have been a Quo fan since the mid 70`s and in truth i am suprised to read some of the reviews saying some tracks would not be out of place on Hello, Quo etc...must have been listening with Quo tinted headphones. having said this, the Album is the best effort they have done in years but not to the standards of the 70`s early 80`s...
Published on 27 April 2012 by Swedgeman


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rock 'n roll!, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Ewan (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
Even though I like the Quo I bought this CD on a whim. And what a surprise - it definitely exceeded expectations. Quite simply there are no bad tracks and every one has the mighty Quo boogie and rocking sound. It's pure Status Quo and I play it in the car all the time. Very few bands of their (and my!) vintage can still produce new albums of this quality. They should be proud of this album and you should buy it if you like the Quo or like goodtime rock. The bonus track is okay but essentially unecessary however the bonus second live CD is all good containing the songs we know and love so well! Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST, AT LAST....!!, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
....after over 30 years and a couple of promising pointers on the last two albums, the Quo have finally got their mojo back!

Anyone who, like me, was a massive fan of 'classic' Quo from 1971 to 1977 and despaired at the anonymous, poppy turn they took at the end of the 70's (and continued with few exceptions through the 80's and 90's) will love this - a true return to the more rocking, upbeat, true Quo sound we all remember from this period - no disrespect to the current band, but I did check the credits looking for the early return of Alan Lancaster and John Coghlan!

I read some of the other reviews before listening to this with a touch of scepticism to be honest - lets face it, they have produced some really poor stuff which has still elicited blind devotion from some quarters, but as many have stated, there really are some tracks here which would not be out of place on Blue For You, On The Level or Quo, they are that good. Movin' On, Two Way Traffic, Dust To Gold and My Old Ways in particular are every bit as good as anything on these albums in my opinion.

The only downside is a remake of In The Army Now - sorry but this was always a turkey in my eyes and not worthy of Quo, and they could rehash it as many times as they want - still doesn't make it a Quo song to me - but it's at the end and that's what skip buttons are for anyway!

A must for fans of 'proper' Quo - not sure how the planned reunion with Lancaster and Coghlan could do much better to be honest...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every quid, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
Francis Rossi's recovery anthem Dust to Gold, track 3 on Quid Pro Quo, is a brilliant illumination on his struggle and triumph over his drug demon. It should be a hit single and will be inspirational to many. Alone, it is worth the price of this album but the rest of the tracks are typical rocking Quo genius, winding up with In The Army Now from 2010, another great classic anthem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Quo!, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
I have a massive soft spot for the Quo. I used to listen on a Saturday afternoon to the Alan "Fluff" Freeman radio show praying he would play a Quo track...and he did lots of them!
I go back as far as Ma Kellys Greasy Spoon & have seen them live in the earlier days at least half a dozen times or so, and like many a fan backed away when they went a little to mainstream but still kept one eye on them. Also these guys should have had there own TV/Chat show as they are a fantastic double act and very funny. At home with Rossi & Parfitt would be ace!
Ok here they are back with a really good album. They have done a great production job on this album and stand out tracks for me are:- Dust To Gold, It's all About You, Leave A Little Light On, Let's Rock, My Old Way's and Reality Cheque is a brilliant song with a great play on words.
So if like me you have ignored the Quo for a little while do not hesitate just go out and buy this cracking album.
Nice one Quo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Status Quo Lets Rock...., 16 Jan 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
Have too be honest here,i havent worked up much enthusiasm for a Quo disc in many a year,the day of release/instant purchase long gone,i generally pick them up for a bargain here and there,personally believe the '79's 'Whatever You Want' is the last 'classic',honourable mention to 2002's 'Heavy Traffic',although that felt like a blip considering the albums that followed...

So to this disc,this is actually really good,the opening quartet,as good an opening to an album from Quo in the last 30 years,with 'Dust To Gold' an absolute classic,a few tracks veer towards the mid to late 80's but Andy Bown manages to rein in the cheesy keyboards(which has always been my irritation with latter day Quo).So it contiues tracks such as 'Movin On','Frozen Hero' and 'Reality Cheque' all superb.

Only the new version of 'In The Army Now' blighting the disc.it was a turkey then its a turkey now,thankfully it tagged on at the end out of the way.
For a band in their 'Twilight' this is remarkably vibrant,its got the groove,its catchy,my foot tapped from start to finish,Rossi peels of those 'Simple' but effective solo's,whilst the rest of the band underpin everything,great album.

If you buy this version you get a bonus live disc,its excellent as well,a win win scenario then,I thoroughly recommend this to anyone who hasnt purchased(and i havent said that for years).Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - maintaining the Status Quo!, 28 Nov 2011
By 
The Earl Of Kimberley "Lord John" (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
The studio disc starts with Two way traffic and it is a great rocker with words you can easily learn and sing along with. and so it continues. The version of "The Army" is not the best, but SQ still sound good even as the years roll on.

The live bootleg is fun - the band still put the energy into the live gig that fans who go and see them know and love. Age does take its toll, but but SQ continue to Roll til they drop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again!, 9 Oct 2011
By 
AOD (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
Brilliant Quo! Still bringing out real Quo-style music, but not too samey. Although why they did a 2010 version of In the army now, beats me - in my opinion, it's not as good as the original version - but that's the only criticism I can make of this really great album. Keep on rocking Quo!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quid Pro Quo, 19 Jun 2011
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
'Quid Pro Quo' along with 'Heavy Traffic' are probably the best albums Quo have released in the past 25 years. Great sound, excellent CDs to have on in the car on a long journey - real driving music.

It definately grows on you the more you listen to it. The stand out tracks for me are 'Two Way Traffic' and 'Rock-n-roll-n you.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just gotta love a bit of Quo!!!!!!, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
You instantly know it's them, maybe a bit more mellow but hey nothing wrong with that. Still great live band as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better with age, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quid Pro Quo (Audio CD)
it's all been said before and i totally agree. Maybe one of the hottest Quo albums ever, and possibly their hardest rocking. Yet, all the fun is there, too and to me Quo feel ever more relaxed and enjoying themselves more the older they get. You can hear it on this album and even more so at their gigs. So enjoy the party and see you at the next Quofest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quid Pro Quo
Quid Pro Quo by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews