Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical wonder
The narration by Sir Peter Ustinov is absolutly fantastic, this is a true masterpiece, the musical score paints a thousand images as the story unfolds.
Highly recommended
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by Robert Fleming

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Narration too quiet
Nice selection of music for children, I find it's great for playing in the car. Only down side is that Peter Ustinov's narration on "Peter and the Wolf" is far too quiet compared to the music - a real shame, as it's then quite difficult to hear the story.
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Scottish Lass


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical wonder, 8 Sep 2009
By 
Robert Fleming (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The narration by Sir Peter Ustinov is absolutly fantastic, this is a true masterpiece, the musical score paints a thousand images as the story unfolds.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Narration too quiet, 12 Oct 2009
Nice selection of music for children, I find it's great for playing in the car. Only down side is that Peter Ustinov's narration on "Peter and the Wolf" is far too quiet compared to the music - a real shame, as it's then quite difficult to hear the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Naxos version, 28 Jun 2007
By 
M. Wren (Kent.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This version of Peter and the Wolf is much better than that in the usually excellent naxos collection. The narration by Peter Ustinov is far superior to that of the irritating Edna Everage in the naxos version, who talks over the orchestra at each opportunity and refers to listeners as "possums". If you want Peter and the Wolf, get this cd instead. The other naxos children's cds that I've heard are very good except for Peter and the Wolf. I haven't heard Carnival of the Animals in the naxos collection, but I don't need to now as it is also on here so you get 2 for 1 as well. The Toy Symphony by Leopold Mozart is also on here so excellent quality and excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter and the wolf, 27 Mar 2010
This is a lovely CD for imaginative dancing/miming with children. My daughter loves it and spends time listening and hiding from the wolf, however her little friend (a 3 year old boy) got quite scared by the cat and wolf music and we had to turn it off.
We are really pleased with it though - sparks the imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to classical music, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Child loved it, mum loved it.
A great introduction to classical music and instruments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to have hit the mark with my Granddaughter!, 6 April 2010
By 
Roger Fry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good reports so far. She is just 2 but already singing some of the tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter and the wolf., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (MP3 Download)
Have always loved Peter and wolf from childhood, decided to buy this to share with my 5yr old. Who loves it to.Its really well done and i would highly recommend this to all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
T
A great cd for music several classes used this and the scheme of work I planned to go with cd speedy delivery thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Heather Langford (UNLEY, South Australia Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the classic recording of Peter and the wolf. Peter Ustinov is a marvellous story teller whose voice enhances I the score by Perkofiev. The music enhances the beauty the animals, bringing them got life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars encouragement of imagination, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. Z. B. Maslin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The delightful playing of the different musical instrument encourages the imagination of the movements and emotions of the animals especially the instruments for the birds and the cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews