Customer Reviews


348 Reviews
5 star:
 (262)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
After watching Bear on TV and reading other stories I had to get this book. It's a truly aw Inspiring account of what fuels his passion for adventure. Starting with his remarkable family history through SAS(R) training whilst 'studying' at uni through his ferocious accent up everest and a personal heartfelt insight to his private life and what keeps him going through the...
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by Andy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather dull... Little depth.
Despite my great admiration of his personal fortitude and outstanding accomplishments, I was expecting a book that was something more than at a 4th or 5th-grade writing level from Bear. If his audience is his Boy Scout fans, I would have edited out mentions of alcohol use, masturbation, and his urine-soaked sleeping bag on Mt. Everest. This book (and his life) may be a...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Kindle Edition)
After watching Bear on TV and reading other stories I had to get this book. It's a truly aw Inspiring account of what fuels his passion for adventure. Starting with his remarkable family history through SAS(R) training whilst 'studying' at uni through his ferocious accent up everest and a personal heartfelt insight to his private life and what keeps him going through the rough times. This book will grab you from the beginning and won't let go it's an honest, inspiring and personal account of life and it's struggles that we all face in one way or another can be over come. It personally has helped me make some big decisions in my life as to follow your heart and your instinct and have self belief. If you want a true account of how life should be embraced or just want to learn more about the Bear then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mud, Sweat And Tears is a must read!, 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
Just could not put this book down! It arrived at 10am and I finished it that evening!
If you're a Bear Grylls fan and would like to know how he got to be the man he is today, or if you just appreciate a great success story of somebody who has worked really hard to achieve some amazing things, then I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable but duplicates his Everest book; only half his biography..., 25 Feb 2012
By 
D. J. Burton (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
For anyone who hasn't read any of Bear's other books - this is a 5 star book.

For people who have read the Everest book (link below) then it loses a star, or possibly two if you are harsh. I will expand on this below.

I've read both of his main adventure books, Facing Up: A Remarkable Journey to the Summit of Mount Everest and Facing the Frozen Ocean: One man's dream to lead a team across the treacherous North Atlantic and was inspired to read the rest of his story in this book. However I was left feeling a little cheated that only 20 pages or so detail his life after the Everest expedition - which was almost 15 years ago. It's clearly going to be a two part autobiography but it should say this on the foreward, in my opinion.

It's split roughly into a third SAS selection, a third Everest, a sixth on his childhood and a sixth on post Everest (Man vs Wild and so on). The SAS selection is an eye opener and shows just how dogged and determined the guy is - a real inspiration. He is religious but not set in religious ways, which I found was a nice change, describing his faith in a way I haven't heard before - but not ramming it down your throat. It's a really good heartwarming read, basically written, but puts you right in amongst the action.

Unfortunately, passages from his Everest book are literally (excuse the pun) ripped out and put into this book. That's a shame in my eyes. He could have re-written it in a better way from the original book, maybe spent less volume on it, and gone into more detail of his other amazing adventures instead. That's my opinion; crossing the Atlantic in a small inflatable boat is incredible, as are the Man vs Wild adventures.

I give a lot of respect to him admitting his faults (like he needs my respect!), and saying that the Man vs Wild team muck in to tie knots, fetch firewood and so on. Anyone who didn't think this was the case doesn't really get the point - it's a TV show, for entertainment after all.

Can't wait for the second installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic autobiography about man who has managed to achieve what was thought almost impossible, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Paperback)
"Mud, Sweat and Tears" written by Bear Grylls is an exciting autobiography of a man who has managed to do and achieve much of what was thought almost impossible - repeatedly.

Bear Grylls is a man who has always been different, while his passion for adventures started back in his early age when he left school and spent several months in India, hiking in the Himalayas. When he returned to UK, after the idea to join Indian army was left, he went to Special Air Service selection, successfully passed it and served there for three years.
During this period, due to free-fall parachuting accident he broke his back in three places and it was doubtful whether and when he will be able to stand on his own feet. He passed through long and difficult rehabilitation, especially motivated by his desire to climb Mount Everest, what has been his dream since childhood.

18 months after his parachuting accident Grylls entered the company of the world recorders when at the age of 23 he became the youngest British who succeeded to return alive after winning the world's highest peak. It was a new beginning of his adventure career that continued with numerous expeditions, adventures as well as TV shows in which he portrayed his ventures.

Grylls particularly became known due to his TV show "Man vs. Wild" on Discovery Channel, with general premise of each episode that Grylls and his crew are left alone in some region where is almost impossible to survive, finding their way back to civilized world.

"Mud, Sweat and Tears" is not work made in excellent literary style; if otherwise that would probably mean that he hired some ghost writers, so do not expect a masterpiece of literature. He made a book in numerous very short chapters demonstrating in this way his dynamism and addressing style as reader is standing in front of him, and not as if reading his book - but once you get used to his style, it's very easy and fun to read.

What is the highest value of the book is how the author managed to show a different picture than the one we might expect - besides his obsession with adventure and adrenaline, he is an ordinary man, devoted to his family.
The book does not have much detail regarding his SAS service, probably because of the information confidentiality, but the book part that describes the ascent of Mount Everest is excellent and describes in detail the physical and mental efforts needed to accomplish this feat and survive.

Therefore I can recommend this book for all the people who like adventures, have some unordinary dreams and goals believing that someday they'll be able to achieve them. The author showed by example that there are no limits to what you can do if you have a strong will and put a lot of effort...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White-knuckle stuff, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
A great read. Exciting, funny, honest - I was completely hooked from the start and could barely put the book down in order to eat or do anything else. A no holds barred account of what made Bear the crazed adrenalin junkie he is today, as well as the family man devoted to his wife and family. SAS training, climbing Everest, eating raw snakes. All life is here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bear-illiant, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
One of the most inspirational books I have read about an amazing example of a human being. Very similar to Ran Fiennes Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know. Honest, emotional, raw and you simply cannot put it down. From the gruelling account of SAS selection to Everest and everything before and after I loved the pace, little life lessons and the fact the Bear is such a massive chancer at all times.

Can't wait for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
As my boys and I are real fans of Bear's adventures, we were looking forward to this and it doesn't disappoint.

A very honest account of Bear's life to date and a real inspiration. Though he is very religious (he has to be in order to be the Chief Scout) he allows room in his book to pass on the views of his friends and colleagues who do not share his conviction which gives it a good balance.

The 'chapters' are extremely short but for younger readers this makes for easier reading in an anecdotal style. It was excellent when reading to my nine year old son when he had lost his nerve after an accident. One chapter of this and he was fine.

The SAS training also shows that even Bear is human and has limits.

Word to the wise, no-one 'signs' the Official Secrets Act. It is an act of legislation; so all of the UK are subject to it. The 'signing' is just a reminder of your duties.

No hesitation in giving these five stars. It does exactly what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good book which made me completely change my view of Bear. I'd seen the headlines at the time about how fake Bourne Survivor is, but this book gives a real insight into how hard he, and his team, work. You get to learn a lot about his background too and realise he does know what he's talking about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
Excelent read couldnt put it down from the early days messing around to the important stuff like SAS selection. This is a must read for all not just Bear fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keep focused and you can do whatever you want, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
This book tells the whole story of his life, his childhood, his time in the army, Mt. Everest and much more.

I really enjoyed the book because he walks you through his life in a nice and casual way. He let’s you know how much influence his father had on him. He doesn’t shy away from admitting to have failed it the first time out when he wanted to join the SAS as well as his problems, doubts and fears while climbing to the top of the world.

I love all his books and recommend them to anyone interested in adventure and give it a 10/10. I am sure this won’t be the last book I read from this extraordinary man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mud, Sweat and Tears
Mud, Sweat and Tears by Bear Grylls
£2.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews