Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 102 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Acting & Cinematography; Solid Writing
There is a great deal to admire in this series. Visually it is superb. The costuming and sets manage simultaneously to be both beautiful and realistic to the period; or at least, they seem so to my untutored eye. The actors uniformly do an extraordinarily good job. So much so that it is difficult to know whom to focus upon in this review, because whatever choices I make I...
Published on 30 Oct. 2011 by Theo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A huge let down for me sadly.... it doesn't help the way it was forced to end in season 3 giving us zero closure
Showtimes Borgias is a more polished version than the netflix offering as far as acting and budget goes, but for me although I preferred Jeremy Irons as Pope and most definitely the character of Guilia Farnese who in this version is more civil, I feel that is lacks the depth of Borgia Fear & Faith and as such misses the political intrigue. Also and sadly not its fault the...
Published 1 month ago by Naomi_B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the borgias season 1, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i throughly enjoyed season 1 i am looking forward to season2 which i hope to purchase as soon as possible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a present for my mum who hasn't got sky, we'd seen every episode and lapped it up, superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Season, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really Enjoyable Season, Lots of Exciting Story lines happening at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Naughty Jeremy Irons plays the role of his life in this, absolutely fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jeremy Irons... Just sayin'..., 7 Dec. 2013
By 
J. R. Bedford (Huddersfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this on TV, so bought the boxed set and galloped through it in a couple of days. Intricate, sexy, ruthless, well costumed, well written. And Jeremy Irons. Hard to see where it could go wrong, really. Yet I'm strangely unmoved to rush out and buy the second season. It's like a Chinese meal, lovely while you're eating it, but it doesn't stay with you for long. Perhaps i should watch it again because, well, Jeremy Irons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Borgais season 1 DVD, 23 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series, enthralling and exciting makes you wait in anticipation for each episode Superb casting especially Jeremy Irons. Lush costumes and settings Gory at times yet still mesmorising. Will definitely be purchasing series 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing visual trip to 1500s Italy, 2 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Conceived by Neil Jordan, this serie is a very ambitious reconstitution of the Italy of 1500. Visually, the season 1 is amazing (Blu-Ray is an obvious plus). The settings and costumes are absolutely admirable. The quality of the photography is outstanding (see for example the initial landscape of Rome, the episode between Lucrezia and Paolo along a stream, or the entrance of King Charles VIII in St Peter's). The script is good, though curiously the weakest element of the chain, and this could have been easily remedied. It suffers from small occasional weaknesses. Some of the characters seem to have absolutely no background at all (which is quite a paradox in the Italy of 1500, where background was more or less everything). The society seems to exist very modestly outside the castles. The casting is impeccable. Alexander VI is of course a perfect role for Irons. Arnaud is at least as good as Cesare Borgia. Both incarnate brightly all the spectrum of moral ambiguity. Generally, there are only strong interpretations. The soundtrack is very good, and the introduction credits deserve an artistic mention as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Borgias DVD Box Set Series 1, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is excellent - full of intrigue as you would expect due to the subject matter, but the costumes and lighting are exceptional - sumptuous to say the least. It really evokes a sense of what it might have been like to live during that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Borgias, 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The acting is great, the costumes wonderful but for a seemingly historical series, the absence of an historical consultant or even a source is appalling. I can only assume from this oversight that any resemblance between the characters and their historical counterparts is entirely coincidental and the work must be wholly attributed to the imagination of Neil Jordan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 7 Jun. 2012
By 
J. Marsden (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Since I bought this a couple of months ago, the price has come down by 15%. I'm not surprised. It's okay. That's about it really. The plot relies on you just knowing several things that you probably don't without prior research and I found it quite hard to follow - not because of the acting, but because it didn't really give me any reason to!

It is well acted and the costumes and sets are lavish. It tried to carry on where the success of the Tudors left off. Unfortunately it falls well short of that and it seems like a wasted opportunity. Give it another couple of months and this will be in the £9.99 category. Buy it then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD]
The Borgias - Season 1 [DVD] by Jeremy Irons (DVD - 2011)
£9.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews