Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in South Dakota
This is the second of the Liv Bergen mysteries & I hope there are more. This time it involves local residents, bikers at a rally, a previous unsolved murder & the F.B.I. There are many characters in this book ,& with some stories overlapping I had to concentrate quite a bit. It was fast paced, exciting & is told from the heroine & F.B.I. viewpoints alternately. There are...
Published on 13 July 2011 by Maria

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel
Book 1 in this series was a decent crime thriller. This sequel however, set just one month after the events of the first book, was quite painful at times to read.

It is told alternately from the point of view of the FBI and then the heroine. The FBI chapters are ok; decent narrative and dialogue. However the heroine p.o.v quickly becomes tedious - way too much...
Published on 8 Aug. 2011 by GregWhelan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in South Dakota, 13 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lot's Return to Sodom (A Liv Bergen Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second of the Liv Bergen mysteries & I hope there are more. This time it involves local residents, bikers at a rally, a previous unsolved murder & the F.B.I. There are many characters in this book ,& with some stories overlapping I had to concentrate quite a bit. It was fast paced, exciting & is told from the heroine & F.B.I. viewpoints alternately. There are some loose ends (to lead to further books maybe?) The recent killer came as a surprise & not all of the people were stereotypical to keep the suspense going & add to the realism. There is some reference to the previous book , but this just explains a couple of things & is not a RE-Read. I feel that this was better than the first book & glad I downloaded it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enoyable read, 5 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lot's Return to Sodom (A Liv Bergen Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy crime novel you will like this. A fast paced book, with lively and interesting characters and plot, that kept me up late turning the pages. I had not read the first novel in the series but found that was no problem as the story stands on its own without the need for any previous involvemnet with the characters. I will definately read more from this author, whose content I found engrossing and whose style was so easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lot's Return to Sodom, 16 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lot's Return to Sodom (A Liv Bergen Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Liv Bergen is back home in Strugis to recuperate having nearly died but for a sharp shooter FBI agent. She manages to see an incident with a young woman and Lucifers Lot (notorious bikers gang) and takes pictures on a mobile phone. Her brothers girlfriend is murdered and he is declared a person of interest. He asks her to see what she can find out and she has some close encounteres as she delves into the mystery. The FBI are on the scene and so is the FBI agent whose shot saved her life, she names him Agent Adonis aka Streeter Pierce. Primarily a murder investigation with the foundations for a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable - even the second time through., 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lot's Return to Sodom (A Liv Bergen Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book some time ago but a documentary on motorcycle gangs in the US I viewed recently got me interested in reading it again. I wasn't disappointed. It's a good story which is told through the use of some interesting techniques - especially the mixture of first and third person narration.

As a thriller this is a bit lightweight. As a murder mystery it's quite good. As a commentary on the traditions and behaviour of motorcycle gangs it's clearly well researched.

There are gaps, odd little omissions which leave the reader wondering but, overall, it's an excellent little book which I can promise readers of this genre will enjoy. Though it's clear that the obvious suspect is innocent from early on in the story, the real villain is kept hidden until the very end.

I'd recommend this book as enjoyable and quite well written though clearly not in the same league as James Grippando or Peter James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel, 8 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lot's Return to Sodom (A Liv Bergen Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Book 1 in this series was a decent crime thriller. This sequel however, set just one month after the events of the first book, was quite painful at times to read.

It is told alternately from the point of view of the FBI and then the heroine. The FBI chapters are ok; decent narrative and dialogue. However the heroine p.o.v quickly becomes tedious - way too much narrative, unrealistic actions/thoughts and just cringeworthy moments, especially when she is thinking about the FBI agent - there are some really corny lines in there.

Oveall, two stars as it is certainly not terrible, but as a sequely it is a major let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Seemed like a good solid story....., 13 Aug. 2011
By 
Patricia (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lot's Return to Sodom (A Liv Bergen Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
New to this author and the writing style was acceptable but the main character got tediously too stupid for me to suspend my disbelieve any longer and for the 1st time I have ditched a book after going 1/2 way through it. Normally if its that bad I can see it coming and ditch it after a few pages - so its not so much a bad book or author but just seemed flawed. Dont know what happened in the end and I couldnt care less and thats when the author lost my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm... gave up eventually, 6 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lot's Return to Sodom (A Liv Bergen Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I kept trying with this book ... but just couldn't get into it - reasonably well written but not one of those thrillers that grabs you by the throat and then you can't stop reading ... I probably got about halfway through but then gave up. Will keep it in the archive rather than deleting and may try again when I can't sleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews