Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2010
Ever found yourself wondering why philosophers are so scared of the full stop key? Ever wanted a few good stories to make sense of all those necessary conditions, instrumental values and moral statuses? Well look no further philosophy phans. (I'll stop now!) Mr Cave's latest is a great read. Short clause-less sentences, wonderfully memorable examples and as funny as it is thought provoking. Just buy it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
I've bought Peter Cave's previous '33 philosophy puzzle' books and this is just as good. Entertaining, witty, intelligent, accessible and thought provoking - with many a pun thrown into the mix for good measure. Mr Cave is fast doing for philosophy what Messers Dawkins/Cox et al are doing for science. Hugely reccommended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
Funny, thought provoking and absorbing... a must give Christmas present for all those who ask: What is this philosophy stuff anyway?
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
Brilliant book which is easy to pick up and read randomly - a chapter or 'puzzle' at a time! Although a thinking person's book, it seems to be written for everyone including the not so thinking person...
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
This is a complex book and takes a little time to adjust to the way of thinking. I am going to read the rest of it when I have uninterrupted time later in the year. Possibly should be on school list
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
This book must surely be a bestseller.
Its thoughts endure and so do its characters: who could resist the card sharping camel or the gappy goat?
It would be marvellous as an introduction to philosophy - but also as sheer fun for the more serious student. A truly excellent follow up to Robot and Eating People!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
I am part way through reading this book, puzzling over it, and anjoying the challange. It's a book anyone with an interest in philosophy should read. And others too!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Thought provoking - can't put down
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
very happy
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
The cover cartoon always cracks me up. But the book is quite good too. I have to own up. Peter was my Open University tutor. I was reluctant to read this book because i thought it better to spend my time on weightier matter, works of historical importance in the scheme of European philosophy. When I finally turned to this book, i realised that Peter has a talent. He is an imaginative, whimsical storyteller, an entertainer. What i like about the 'puzzles' is that each is like say a tale from Joyce's 'Dubliners'. It all starts straightforward enough and there are few obvious stunts. Yet you simply cannot predict where the tale will end up. I stress these are less like puzzles than little anecdotes. This seems like a light read and you can race through it, but there are a lot of strings being pulled behind the scenes and a lot of sophisticated philosophical puzzles are smuggled in. Aesop's fables spring to mind. You probably could read these puzzles to your children at bedtime!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)