Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
The item was delivered very promptly and was exactly as described by the seller. No nasty surprises - no need to enter a dialogues about returns etc. An excellent vendor with good merchandise
Published on 18 April 2012 by Paul R. Cook

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only good for CF absolute beginners otherwise save your money!
This book will only be good if you do not know much about the man, but if you are more of a fan it will not be much use to you. This book is basically made of quotes from various articles or interviews pieced together, the kind of stuff most of us could have done. You won't learn anything new, and Firth has not co-operated with this book in any way. I bought it because I...
Published on 1 Jun. 2011 by Eloise Varin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only good for CF absolute beginners otherwise save your money!, 1 Jun. 2011
This book will only be good if you do not know much about the man, but if you are more of a fan it will not be much use to you. This book is basically made of quotes from various articles or interviews pieced together, the kind of stuff most of us could have done. You won't learn anything new, and Firth has not co-operated with this book in any way. I bought it because I was curious but for me it was a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars save your money and go on Wikipedia!, 11 Aug. 2011
A lazy, sloppy book consisting of strung-together quotes from published articles ("As Colin told the Sunday Times ...") There is nothing new or original and she didn't actually interview anyone! It was irritating that she used the same quotes several times so she couldn't even be bothered to edit and neither could the publisher! Oh! And Yes, King Crimson et al are not part of the "Glam Rock" genre - a sloppy mistake. A shame she'll make loads of money selling it to the fans who are as obsessed with Colin as she obviously is! Don't waste your energy reading it let alone your money ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new for long standing CF fans, 8 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Colin Firth: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
The first book I downloaded when I got a Kindle for xmas since I am a HUGE Colin fan. However, to be blunt, it was a waste of money. Anyone who has followed Colin's work for years will know the entire content of this book and will see it for what it is.....a book put together made up of quotes, interviews and newspaper articles previously published which you have already read and most probably, also watched on youtube. Halfway through the book it was getting tiresome to read, to the point where I thought "I'm just reading one film critic review after another".
I would only recommend getting this book if you don't know a thing about Colin Firth - it's a good beginners book but there is nothing insightful at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!, 14 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Colin Firth: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
I read this out of curiosity, as we all remember Mr Darcy coming out of the lake! I was looking forward to finding out more about the man who played him. Felt the book was a bit of a white wash of his life really, felt it didn't give you a true insight into the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 18 April 2012
By 
Paul R. Cook (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin Firth: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
The item was delivered very promptly and was exactly as described by the seller. No nasty surprises - no need to enter a dialogues about returns etc. An excellent vendor with good merchandise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man of the moment, 22 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this a very enjoyable read. Written by someone who seriously appreciates Colin Firth, obviously. She seems to get to the heart of the man and prove what a nice chap Colin Firth really is. It is not an authorised biography and so most of it is taken from interviews over the years. It was a good read and there was not one disappointing moment when he was shown to be other than the gentleman he truly is. Lucky Livia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Firth!, 15 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin Firth: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Obviously being a complete nut about Colin Firth does help, but I learned loads more about this wonderful actor who probably only appeared on my radar as Mr Darcy (the first time!). No other actor has brought so much to the character of Mr Darcy as Colin has, and I now look forward to seeing films from his early days that until now have passed me by. I found the whole biography well written, amusing and interesting, and would certainly recommend it to anyone with a passing interest in Colin Firth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was not a biography, more a gathering of differents articles on Colin Firth, I was desappointed, it is a shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to read, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin Firth: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the insight to Colin's life and the life of making movies. Easy to read and enjoy the tales of the star, Colin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Biography of Colin Firth, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed it although I did not find anything new about Colin Firth in it. Worth Reading though I thought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colin Firth: The Biography
Colin Firth: The Biography by Alison Maloney
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews