Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD OPTION
I like this keyboard option by Logitech and Zagg cover combination but I'm not in love with it. I've provided the main points that stuck out for me:

1) It has a deep groove behind the keyboard for you to place the iPad 2 (original iPad works as well but the cover doesn't fit), which keeps it very secure as opposed to others that just have grooves. Although it...
Published on 21 Oct 2011 by Margaux Paschke

versus
58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works... But at a painful cost
On paper it seems like a great thing, a keyboard within a case for your ipad2, so lets talk about the good, the bad and the ugly

The good:

It works really well, it connects within seconds to your ipad via bluetooth and is a fully functioning keyboard. It even has arrow buttons - oh the joy! And of course you can still use the touchscreen as well, so...
Published on 21 Jan 2012 by James Walls


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD OPTION, 21 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
I like this keyboard option by Logitech and Zagg cover combination but I'm not in love with it. I've provided the main points that stuck out for me:

1) It has a deep groove behind the keyboard for you to place the iPad 2 (original iPad works as well but the cover doesn't fit), which keeps it very secure as opposed to others that just have grooves. Although it only allows for one standing position, I'm a big fan.

2) The keyboard doubles as a cover, simply place the Ipad 2 face down onto the keyboard; it has hard rubber corners that provide a small space between the iPad 2 screen and the keyboard. It presses together and pulls apart without issue. The silver hard case matches the iPad and looks sleek but it would not provide the same protection as a soft cover from impact damage.

3) The Bluetooth connection was a piece of cake to set up. The keyboard has worked for 2-3 hour stretches so far (new user). It slips into sleep mode if not used continuously but pressing any key brings it back to life.

4) The keyboard buttons and layout are fine and works much better than the pop up screen keyboard on the iPad 2. However, the protruding " metal trim on the bottom left and right side of the keyboard interfered with my typing flow because I had to hold my hands in a certain position to avoid hitting it. Not a huge issue.

5) Continued removal of the charging cord from the keyboard sometimes presents a connectivity issue which leaves you with two choices: leave it connected to the keyboard/case all the time or wiggle the cord until you get a connection. Neither choice is a good one. A built in or retractable cord would be perfect.

This keyboard would be good for students or anyone who does a lot of typing as long as you don't mind that hard cases won't provide as much impact protection as soft covers. The price might seem steep at first but when you factor in that keyboards do not usually come with a cover, this one is reasonable. The convenience of having a keyboard that doubles as an ultra sleek cover is nice. If only the charging cord issue was addressed, I'd be more impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works... But at a painful cost, 21 Jan 2012
By 
James Walls (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
On paper it seems like a great thing, a keyboard within a case for your ipad2, so lets talk about the good, the bad and the ugly

The good:

It works really well, it connects within seconds to your ipad via bluetooth and is a fully functioning keyboard. It even has arrow buttons - oh the joy! And of course you can still use the touchscreen as well, so once used to it you can very easily combine both for very effective productivity

Just above the keyboard is a groove to fit the ipad in and it fits in perfectly, both landscape and portrait mode whichever you prefer. When in landscape mode it really does feel like you are using a small netbook

It is (understandably) more Apple keyboard based with CMD function, however it does have some preset shortcut keys (cut, copy and paste etc) which are very easy to use.

The bad:

Because this keyboard doubles as a case (see more about this below) it has quite high, raised edges along the sides. This makes typing feel slightly awkward, it is a small keyboard anyway so I found my hands, just below the little fingers, were resting on these edges for the most part which then begins to feel uncomfortable, and for longer typing, it actually begun to hurt. Everyone types differently of course and shifting positions I found I wasn't relying quite so much on the edges, but in natural position they still rested there. This is the main reason I am taking stars off my review, everything else is down to aesthetics and personal taste, but these raised edges really let it down

It has 6 shortcut buttons dedicated to media (play, pause etc) which I can't really see the use of on ths keyboard. You might have music playing while you type but having the buttons dedicated to this seems a bit excessive

The ugly:

It doubles as a case, well, half a case. The ipad fits facedown onto the keys and fits very snuggly, however There is no back protection at all. This might not be a problem for you but ive been used to a case which protects both, so seeing my ipad look so vulnerable, so naked, was disconcerting.

Summary:

If you are using your ipad for a lot of typing, perhaps more so than just email and facebook then this keyboard is good, as i say, it works very well, and once you find a comfortable position and get used to the high edges you can type very fast on it, but these high edges are its downfall, as just typing this review i noticed i had to rub my left hand which had been leaning on the edge too long and too hard.
Perhaps you have a set place where you use your ipad more than anywhere else, then you can keep the keyboard there and use as needed.
However, if you are wanting a keyboard / case combo to use conveniently at your leisure then i dont think this case is for you. I have found myself using my old case for protection to carry my ipad around and bring the keyboard with me separately only when i know I will have a lot of typing to do in one place (at the moment im using it to great effect on the train)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alright but the sides of the case make typing uncomfortable, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Silverfrog (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
Zagg has impressed people with it's keyboard-case for the first IPad 1 (Zagg Mate) and have teamed up with Logitech to produce this keyboard case. In many ways i wouldn't really call this a case as it only protects the front of your ipad when travelling as the back of your Ipad is exposed to the elements. I think this is a big mistake. Some of you may feel that any case detracts from the Ipad's sleek feel and that a simple keyboard to accompany it would be useful. If you're one of these people then this may be the keyboard case for you. However it's still pretty expensive and there are cheaper keyboard cases out there. When the case is open the Ipad side of the case folds slightly to allow the Ipad to fit into a groove in the keyboard which is extremely clever. The keyboard was very easy to connect with my Ipad 2 - just switch your IPad on and ensure your Bluetooth is switched on and the Zagg Case comes up on the list as detected (whether your keyboard is turned on or not). Flip the on/off switch on your keyboard and an LED lights up and press the connect button. After selecting to connect to the keyboard on your Ipad it tells you to enter a code on the keyboard to link the two together and hey presto you're done. The keys are not indented in anyway and are hard plastic (unlike the rubber keys on the Apple wireless keyboard). I guess it's personal preference but I think they should have been rubber keys which would firstly ensure your IPad screen is safe from any possible scratches from the keyboard when the case is closed and also feels more comfortable when typing.
The case comes with a Micro USB to USB cable to charge your keyboard so bear in mind that you need a USB to 3 pin plug as well. When the ipad fits ontop of the keyboard for transit, there are some rubber blocks on all 4 corners of the keyboard to protect your screen from rubbing against the keys. The Ipad fits (screen down) onto the keyboard for transit and you need to push until you hear a click to secure it in place.
They keyboard has a number of shortcut keys at the top (similar to F1-F12 keys on a standard keyboard) that are dedicated to IPad functions and are as follows;
* Display Home screen
* Search
* Hide/show onscreen keyboard (although I'm not sure why you'd want this)
* Cut
* Paste
* Music track function keys (previous, play/pause, next)
* Volume function keys (up, down, mute)
* Lock to activate/deactivate sleep mode

I'm typing this review on the keyboard now and find that the sides of the case really do get in the way of my typing and feel very uncomfortable. The keys should have been rubber ones which would have been more comfortable to use as well as put my mind at rest regarding scratches when the case is closed. Although you can't currently get different colours and materials on Amazon you can on their own website (like leather) however they are based in the US. All in all quite an expensive case and it seems that you are partly paying for the Logitech name. It also has to be said that i've been typing this review on my bed and the Ipad has fallen out of it's groove several times which isn't good. If however you always type on a table, don't mind the casing (which also needs to be noted is not rounded in anyway so can be uncomfortable on the hands), don't mind the back of your ipad to be exposed while in transit, then this case is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 25 Jan 2013
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
I tried a few keyboard cases and this was the only one I didn't send back. I can't fault it really and for 40 or so it's very good value. The typing experience is good -- it's obviously a bit on the small side, but that's the form factor. The issue with the raised edges will depend on your typing style. I'm a touch typist and use the orthodox style with my wrists raised so it's not a problem. Build quality is very sturdy and the battery lasts for ages. It also has a standard keyboard layout, unlike some cheaper iPad keyboards.

A couple of minor niggles:

1. If you have it in portrait mode and you're using it on your lap, it feels a bit unstable (this is not an issue on a solid surface)
2. It's not an ideal case as the back of the iPad isn't protected. I also bought a neoprene sleeve so it doesn't get scratched in my bag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant keyboard cum case for iPad2, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
This keyboard doubles as a case to securely protect your iPad screen. The keyboard works excellent and turns the iPad into a very compact notebook computer. The keyboard doesn't add a lot weight or thickness and the iPad can be stood up in either portrait or landscape format. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logitech/Zagg keyboard, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Ps Dare "PaulD3689" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
I have recently bought this keyboard as a replacement for the cheaper version bought only the week before, generally I always read the reviews of products prior to purchase to give me an idea of the pro's & con's of items. Unfortunately though I didn't leave the cheaper version & go straight for this one. I have to say that so far I really can't fault this keyboard, the obvious difference between the 2 versions is that this keyboard stays connected to the Bluetooth even when you are not typing where as the cheaper version disconnects literally in seconds. Also you can safely have your ipad in both landscape and portrait with the LZ version where as particularly for the ipad 2 it is too top heavy for the other.
I have to admit though that I didn't buy my current LZ keyboard from Amazon but instead found it about 3 cheaper on ebay ironically from one of the retailers on Amazon based in Twickenham, so it is worth shopping around.
Clearly as with everything some people may not like this keyboard for the raised edges etc.. but in all honesty I can't fault it, its easy to use connects ( & more importantly stays connected via Bluetooth) and gives you all the buttons at your finger tips instead of having to constantly scroll through the ipad touch screens.
So in summary, if you are reading this review & are debating which keyboard to buy, give this one some serious consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Keyboard and Case for my iPad 2, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
I just received the case/keyboard as a Christmas gift and i'm very pleased with it. It looks and feels great - solidly built and also relatively light. Useful shortcut keys are an added bonus. I found it very easy to set up and twin with the iPad. A little on the expensive side however I do believe you get what you pay for - it seems to be a quality product. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend one to other iPad 2 owners looking for a keyboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Value, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
For the price this case is excellent doubling up as a case and keyboard. Its also good when you are watching a programme as it acts as a secure base. The battery is really long lasting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well made but flawed in design, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. W. G. Mckinney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
This was a much anticipated purchase, however when I put my ipad in the groove and then tilted the keyboard up at the front to retrieve a piece of paper, the ipad fell out ! A little more investigation revealed that the ipad could jump out even if the table was jolted. 10 mins later one of the keys that had felt a bit stiff fell off and then a second key went the same way. Back it went.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful case, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2 (Accessory)
Great idea, really useful keyboard. Good quality, bought in December and gets used regularly - I was a bit sceptical that it might be a bit flimsy but no problems on that front at all. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Logitech Keyboard Case for iPad 2
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews