Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2009
If you are fan of the tv series True Blood then these books will be a great treat! The story lines are slightly different to the show, especially Living Dead in Dallas, which season 2 is based on. The books are written from Sookie's perspective, so a lot of the characters that we have grown to love in the show are not as present in the books. If you are a fan of Bill Compton in the show be warned - Charlaine hasn't written Bill's character in the same way that he is portrayed on the screen, so from book 3 (Club Dead) onwards you will find a very different character! If you haven't seen True Blood then these books alone are a great read.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
I can't remember how I even got onto this page as nobody had recommended this book to me but I just ended up buying it one day. This is the first book I've been able to get into straight away, it usually takes me up to page 30 to get into a book but I was intrigued from the start of this. I especially like that this book contains the first 3 books because once I finished the first I was eager to continue reading. I've now finished the 10th book in this series and I can safely say it has not gotten boring yet.

I would/have recommended this book as its a good book to relax and read I'm very happy I decided to purchase it in the first place.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I loved the tv series and whilst waiting for the next season I decided to give this omnibus a go. I have to say it didn't disappoint. The books are not identical to the tv version and I loved the way it didn't get bogged down with all the additional characters the show had decided to give more story than was written for them.

The main focus is Sookie and her relationships with the vampires and other supernatural beings. For me the relationships made more sense in the books as they aren't created purely to pad out a number of episodes to make a whole tv series. You can recognise the theme of the stories from the series but they have slightly different outcomes in the books which I actually preferred.

I've had to buy the next book after finishing the omnibus and I'm nearly done with that. I am finding it hard to put down and so incredibly easy to keep buying more. It's just a shame there aren't more compilations/book sets available on kindle like they are in printed format.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Join Sookie Stackhouse as her weird and wonderful journey in Bon Temps and Louisiana as her adventures start here with the first True Blood Omnibus book.

Sookie has a secret and she must keep it that way - until she meets a ruggedly handsome vampire who also happens to be the only one interested in her (god knows why, she seems like a lovable character!). Mix this in with V (vampire blood that is used as a drug) and the other rogue-like characters in the story and you get a quality series that entertains and racks your brain all at the same time. As the story progresses through each of the books (there are 3 included in this omnibus) you get a real feel for the relationships and powers that people share.

The majority of people have seen the True Blood series on tv, but this is different; with most books, the tv series has been adapted from the book and events run in a different order - almost making them two sepreate adventures, but with same characters and settings. That doesn't mean the book is totally different, as parts do co-incide and are similar to each other - but the book provides alot of detail that the tv series could not. Even if you have seen the whole series, the books are still worth a read.

The cover and the storyline would mostly appeal to teens and women - at least you'd think, but to be honest, I know more men that have read this than women. This is an enjoyable ride whether your male, female, vampire or human.

5****

Incredibly entertaining and enjoyable, these books are really something you can sink your teeth into!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
I absolutley loved this series of books. I do believe that there should be a age limit on these books as some scenes are VERY explict. Being a fan of the show i thought i'd read the books because generally books are better. And i wasn't dissappointed. I prefere the books and i have read them very quickly 10 1/2 books in 12 days and i still did other stuff :) The characters are fab (much better than the series) and i think if you like the series you will like the books and vice verse. Enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
** spoiler alert ** I watched all of the TV series on DVD recently because Alexander Skarsgård is in it, that, the many other sexy men and because I love Lafyettes character are the only things that kept me watching. I do not like the show much.

I decided to read the books to see how different they would be. I LOVE the books (the story line in the first is almost the same as series 1 but after that it's something else completely)

The Characters are nothing like portrayed on TV for instance in the first book Tara doesn't feature, when she does come into it she is only a minor role, Andy Bellefleur is the same age as Jason and muscular, Lafyette is not Tara's cousin, Pam is younger and nicer, Jessica doesn't exist. It was difficult at first to disassociate it from the TV version for instance I was picturing the actors playing the characters even though their written descriptions are so far off (tara is white, Lafyette is scrawny, Sam is small in ginger, Pam younger)but once I got into it and forgot about the TV series (except of course sexy Eric and Alcide) and used my own imagination to see the characters I was hooked.

I can't wait to read the next 3 and see what happens. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
Love the series love this more, though sleightly different to the tv series stilll as good, worth a read and another good bookk to have on the bookcase
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
The TV series brought me to the books. A friend of mine with a mid-life crush on Alexander Skarsgard introduced me to the Trueblood series, one I found highly entertaining in a pulp fiction kind if way.

The first three books are your 14 day holiday beach books, easy on the mind, simple to get through and infinitely less pornographic than the series. The storyline is weak, the plot predictable and the language and grammar poor to fair (a decent proof reader would have helped here) which stops grating the nerves about half-way into book one.

If you like your vampires horny, your heroine "special" and your werewolves kind and decent, you've probably met these characters in a different story already. This story, unlike the 'other one' however is 18-rated instead of 12.

If you are looking for the goody-two-shoes romance of Twilight, don't bother. On the other hand, if you're looking for the blatant sex of the HBO TV series, don't bother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
I have already watched the True Blood series on the telly, so when I downloaded this book I figured I'd know it all. WRONG! there are loads of little twists in these books that are different from the storyline in the TV series. I am so glad I downloaded these, it's almost like True Blood in an alternate reality as you don't always know what's coming.

I love the way Charlaine writes, the books are easy to read, but they aren't dumbed down like some books that you find.

If you have watched the series and feel like there's no point reading the books, you will lose out. If you haven't seen the TV series and enjoy a good Sci fi or Vamp novel and want something a little more mature than the Twilight saga you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
Was interested to read these titles after seeing one or two episodes on TV. Not as raunchy, but an easy and enjoyable read. Characters are interesting and the concept is very clever. Would recommend to all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse