Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest stars of 1999 make house music worth the hype
Much has been said by this British duo that made probably the biggest noise in dance in 1999. And they've often pronounced Prince as their idols and inspirations for their music. So was this album worth the hype? For the most part, yes.
Like Prince, Jaxx manage to take all kinds of diverse stylings and mix it into their unique brand of house. It all coheres well,...
Published on 21 Nov. 2002 by R Diaz

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars First DUFF CD from Amazon
Bought for the track 'Being with You' but it did not play as it should and jumped. Could not see any surface damage. Only refund offered not replacement. Poor and I will consider not using Amazon for CDs again. Going back to China on Monday so no time to replace. Very disappointing
Published 10 months ago by G. R. Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest stars of 1999 make house music worth the hype, 21 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
Much has been said by this British duo that made probably the biggest noise in dance in 1999. And they've often pronounced Prince as their idols and inspirations for their music. So was this album worth the hype? For the most part, yes.
Like Prince, Jaxx manage to take all kinds of diverse stylings and mix it into their unique brand of house. It all coheres well, unlike other bands that just achieve a giant mess. Their diversity is shown in the vocoder and flamenco guitar hit "Rendez-vu," which amazingly garnered little attention in the mainstream press during the year of Cher's "Believe" and "Blue" by Eiffel 65. You also have the fun if unintelligible regga-rap of "Jump & Shout" and the funky attitude of the smash "Red Alert," as well as "U Can't Stop Me" and "Bingo Bango." The Jaxx even cool it down a bit with "Always Be There."

Sure there will be a couple of the 12 tracks that you'll skip- track 2 "Yo-Yo" is not only annoying but too similar to "Rendez-vu" while "Being With U" is surprisingly bland. Still, this has the most fun and attitude of a disc in a while, and brings a fresh sound to the world of house music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now .THE essential album of `99/2000, 14 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
All the tracks on this CD are brilliant , innovative and very , very catchy . Although they are all brilliant , there is , like all albums , the cream of the crop. On this album the really phat tunes are : "rendez-vu" "jump 'n' shout" "red alert" and "bingo bango" ( hopefully will be released as a single ). If you like "surrender" by the Chemical Brothers then this is for you . This is THE essential album of `99/2000 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 11 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
The radio stations seem to love Basement Jaxx - 'Red Alert', 'Rendez Vu' and now the fabulous 'Jump n' Shout' have been played to death! This is a good debut album, though; 'Rendez Vu' is a great first song, too - probably the best here. 'Jump n' Shout' gets you going - the rapping by Slarta John is incredible! Some of the songs are a bit odd, but many of the later tracks do grow on you - 'Same old show' and 'Bingo bango' especially. This CD will keep you up all night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best dance album ever, 6 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
There's a received opinion among pop cognoscenti that the album format doesn't very well suit the rigours of dance music. Either you get a slab of forgettable pop music set incongruously to a 4/4 beat (or, these days, perhaps a half-speed dubstep grind), or you get ten singles incongruously lumped together. The peculiar overvaluation of Daft Punk's albums is pretty confusing in this context - Homework included a whole series of chicago hard house bangers of negligible home listening interest that posterity has kindly elected to forget, and Discovery contains plenty of fairly interchangeable disco loop confections, fun as it is.

Not so with Basement Jaxx's remedy, which is a great sprawl of different electronic dance styles all the more remarkable for the fact that, at the time of release, most of them didn't even really exist. Red Alert and Yo-Yo see the electro-house crase of the mid-00s coming half a decade in advance. The emergence of pop-tastic variants of dubstep is trumped by U Can't Stop Me and Stop 4 Love, and the terrifying half speed bass noise extravaganza that is Don't Give Up is a salutary reminder to the ten million producers of interchangable brostep that their raw materials *could* have some kind of emotional impact, should they so desire. On top of that, you have the first future garage track in the unfairly beautiful Always Be There - before 'old' garage had even hit its stride.

It could have been a bit of a mess. In a way, it is - party bangers give way to deep, melodramatic cuts, and every track on offer here is smothered in edits and sweetener FX - a grab of vocal here and a weird squelchy thing there. It works better than it has any right to; quite apart from its uncanny foresight of almost every major trend in dance music in the subsequent decade (though, alas, we are missing minimal techno - not good enough, boys!), the record is knitted together by an obsessive attention to detail. It remains the dance album against which all others will be measured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how dance should be, then nobody would dislike it, 31 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
I had this album bought for me at Christmas and it hasn`t been off my stereo once. It is dance music at its absolute best. The variety within the album is amazing - from the sing-a-long `Red Alert`(which reminds me so much of Summer`99)that everyone likes to `U Can`t stop me` which is so darned funky and probably the best song on the LP.Everyone will find something on this album that they like and one partcular track that just says it all to them. Enjoy and don`t forget to put your funk shoes on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars, currently, 10 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
When I first bought the album, I would say 3 out of 5 stars. But everytime I listen, I like it more and more. I truly can't get enough of 6-7 tracks out of (approximately) 15. I suspect I might start liking the others soon enough, but they're just too odd right now--choppy. Slarta John on "Jump N' Shout" rocks the party! Thanks Jaxx!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jaxx impress with their first album, 2 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
A truly eclelctic mixture of different sounds and beats is combined on this album to give a fantastic listening experience. Totally unpredictable, the Jaxx prove their musical innovation in spectacular style. From the "Ibiza anthem" Rendez-Vu to the haunting "U Can't stop me", this album contains tracks to suit almost every mood and embraces many different cultures of music. Do not hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD is PHAT, 9 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
When I first bought this CD I didn't think it was all that but the more I listened to it the more I liked it. I think Felix and Simon have have got a great style of music which is different to everybody eles. All the songs are different, non are alike which is very good for a first album. Remedy includes R'n'B, dance and even rock and that's cool. Well done lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 27 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
Remedy by Basement Jaxx is a great CD, with many of the tracks to the same high quality of Bingo Bango. However, there are a couple of strange ones, but they won't alter your enjoyment of the CD, especially after you hear Jump 'n' Shout. And the final enjoyment comes from the amusing song lyrics printed in the booklet - yo, yo, yo, yo, yo yo yo yo, yo...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations Basement Jaxx!, 28 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
Well done to Basement Jaxx for Creating such a good album. I enjoyed their varied range of music but was disappointed with the rather pointless `mini songs` on the album such as `jazzalude` and `gemilude`. I was though struggling to find an album as good as `Surrender` by the Chemical Brothers and now I have found one. Thanks Basement Jaxx!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remedy (180 Gr) [VINYL]
Remedy (180 Gr) [VINYL] by Basement Jaxx (Vinyl - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews