Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2013
If you have and liked " The Brentford Trilogy" you will love this too. Nick has managed a follow up just as good, very rare in my experience. Every track is brilliantly performed by Nick. Have listened to it over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
Ah,Nick Lowe who has been about a while,and has captured what it means to be "maturing" ie like a fine wine,he improves with age.Nice mix of songs and emotions.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the mid - nineties Nick Lowe was a forty something rocker who, in the seventies, had been in the vanguard of punk and pub rock. But with middle age came a new Lowe starting with 1994s "The Impossible Bird", a country inflected album and a genre which he has mined with some success ever since.

After the disappointing "At My Age", Lowe makes a welcome return to form with this hook laden collection of eight originals plus three covers of songs by Elvis Costello. Tom T Hall and Jeff West.

It is a gentle reflective set drawing upon the experiences of being 61 with swaggering good nature and wit. The style is an affecting blend of country and pre - Beatles pop recalling a more gentle age and performed with some elegance by Lowe and his cracking band underpinned by the ever reliable Geraint Watkins on organ and keyboards. Production is by Neil Brockbank whose other production credits include albums by Alison Moyet, Heather Myles and Tres Chicas.

Of course, there's nothing new here except for another charming and playful collection of songs albeit that Nick has softened his acerbic wit a little.

Highlights include "Checkout Time", a reflection upon mortality of course, and a typical slice of Lowe mischief, " 'til The Real Thing Comes Along".
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
What can I say. A brilliant CD more of 'the magic' that Mr Lowe is so good at! Well worth a sin or ten!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
I bought this on the day of release and have played it more than any other release by any other artist since probably the 1980's. It's not very often now that an album gives that spine tingling shiver of enjoyment in the way this does. It's also not that often when you see an artist live that you want him to play the majority of his new album (which he did thankfully). There are so many highlights and three wonderful, but simple, videos for "Sensitive Man", "House For Sale" and "Stoplight Roses".

This is quite possibly in my top ten albums of all time, it's that good, honestly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 September 2011
I liked the first four tracks 'Spotlight roses', 'Checkout time', 'House for sale' and 'Sensitive man'- which are typical Nick Lowe - well-crafted, poignant country-tinged ballads. However, on 'Sensitive man' the warning bells begin to sound with some mawkish background vocals and 'I read a lot', 'Shame on the rain' and 'Restless feeling' are all very sickly, bland "lounge" with 'Poisioned rose' being a cross - a kind of "loungey-country". The final three tracks are sort of OK, with the 60s-sounding "Somebody cares for me" being the album's most uptempo song, 'You don't know me at all' has some nice brass and cheesy organ and the final track 'Til the real thing comes along' is more camp blandness.

I'm afraid that for me this album was a bit of a disappointment, I like Nick's lyrics and it is all well-played but I just found it very bland without any real hooks. Overall it does sound quite like 2009's "Dig my mind" but doesn't have the variety of that record or its good musical settings and there is nothing here to compare with that album's wonderful 'High on a hilltop'.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
So mellow it is almost entirely supine, this seemed to me at first to be a step too far into the lounge-core swing mood that Lowe has done so brilliantly of late. And slowly, slowly, it revealed itself to be a thing of true beauty with an even more confident, sustained mood than The Convincer or At My Age and with tunes every bit as good. Lowe has always seemed to be a tune-smith, with his personality hanging back a little from the songs, too arch, too knowing and too subtle to shoulder himself forward into the public conscience like Costello did, which is a shame really as for forty odd years he has been quietly assembling one of the eras great songbooks.

With this latest run of albums he has been experiencing what he described as 'an Indian summer' getting a rep, perhaps, as a sonic master producing static-free swing with perfect retro styling (i.e hipsters like him). This is fine an all, and must be doing his bank balance no harm at all, but I do feel it subtly misses the point. While this comes on as slightly twee Hoxton junk-shop friendly git music, in fact it's really just the latest annex of what Lowe's been doing his whole career.

Love, sex, melancholy, abandonment, despair, mortality, the themes have not changed, and while the tempo may be slowed it's very clear that the mind is just as intent and at times as anguished as it always has been. Wrapped up in each of these lovely songs is a serious meditation on the strains of life and humanity, he isn't shouting his pain but then he never did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I would never have dreamt of wearing a tartan bow tie, but with Burns night coming up, it seemed appropriate. It arrived in good time and is particularly good quality. Will compliment my tartan waistcoat. Superb transaction. I will recommend to my friends
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
Another example of musical craftsmanship of the highest order and a fine set of songs and lyrics moulded ever closer to the "boom chick-boom" sound of his ex Father in Law - Johnny Cash.

A true legend and the UK's greatest ever country music superstar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Disappointed with the music. Not to my taste.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)