Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid debut
With high quality production, well-written grunge/indie/glam rock songs too sing along to, Tribes' debut album 'Baby' is a mixture of these different styles, and was a sign of good things to come. It's an ambitious record, but an absolutely brilliant one. This young guitar band, with Johnny Lloyd as vocalist and guitar player, never made the big impact they should have...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You won't be let down by this.
I dig tribes I think this album is oki few quality tunes on it, production is of a high quality as you would expect. personally iv seen them live and thats were they really shine
Published 17 months ago by joseph niman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby (Audio CD)
The very first time I heard this album, I loved it. There was something about it that set it apart from so many albums I listen to which sound fairly good, but fail to leave a lasting impact. "Baby" is a big, brash, catchy, loud indie album with plenty of purposely written anthems which, like it or not, definitely stick in your mind. Thankfully, I like it. This Camden foursome have managed to produce a very strong début which, although not many people are going to list amongst the best first albums of all time, manages to stand out as one of the most enjoyable indie albums of the year. Not bad for your first attempt. There are a handful of stone-clad classics here as well - "Sappho" has a big Nirvana/Pixies sound, superb lyrics and could have been a guaranteed top ten hit in either the 70s or the 90s, "Himalaya" has a sound as big as its name suggests and "Bad Apple" packs a powerful punch to close the album on a very high note. I think Tribes have to raise their game to seriously become a major success, but this is an extremely promising start and an album I've enjoyed coming back to time and time again this year. I still love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Debut Album, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby (Audio CD)
I really like this debut from Tribes. If you are a fan of guitar based Indie tunes. You cant really fault this debut
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic from Start to Finish, 19 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Baby (MP3 Download)
Love it. Cannot stop listening to it. Grungy with heavy guitars but eminently listenable, all the songs are catchy without being too poppy! Strongly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars massive, 16 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Baby (Audio CD)
ive been listening to this over and over - had me singing along from the first play, the production is massive, it rocks and gets you in the guts and the words gets you thinking. its new and its retro and its a brilliant new arrival. i didnt expect anything less since I saw them at the electric ballroom last year but this is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow , old man sees that there is more to life than just Muse!, 25 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Baby (MP3 Download)
I bought this album last week ,knowing absolutely nothing about the band or their music.I have to say its the best punt i have made in many a day. I am of eclectic tastes in music and of a certain age. Ok I saw the Undertones live as a young boy! Yep that old. But to get back to the album. This is the best album i have heard in many a year ,with songs that just wont get out of your head. Of recent bands Muse are by far the best I have come across (Wembley Sept 2010)this group may very well have the talent to go all the way. Yes there's bit of Jarvis and Marc in the mix ,but what a mix (oh yes and Suede )! Going to see if i can get tickets to see them in Norwich in February. Hope that they dont go the same way as JJ72 . Another group that should still be up there with Muse and the rest.

Have just sent my 18 year old to listen to the album .Let's see what he thinks of it. Finding it difficult to chose a favourite track at the moment.

Great stuff , Thank you Tribes for making the musical blood run once more through my veins .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great group., 11 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby (Audio CD)
Loved this group. So very sorry they broke up. Modern but with a whisper of the 60s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kick ass, 14 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby (Audio CD)
This is kick ass rock/punk/pop/indie what ever you want to call it. A brilliant record. A good vibe to this, loads of energy, and no fillers it's just a shame that real instrument bands seem to be shunned by the mainstream media these days, ten fifteen years ago they would have been mega but who cares! I'm looking forward to seeing this lot kick ass at the festivals this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby (Audio CD)
Very good debut album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Begining, 17 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Baby (Audio CD)
Is this the start of an amazing career? Tribes first album Baby had me listening all day on release date (16/1/12)in a way that no other album has. I found that I had to listen right to the end, all the tracks are excellent but my personal favourites are "We Were Children" and "Corner of an English Field" A must for any collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Road kill, makes my guts spill", 24 Jan. 2012
By 
Michael Kaye (Holmfirth, Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baby (MP3 Download)
Without doubt the finest debut album in over a decade. The Stone Roses, The Clash, The Tribes are up there with the greatest - an intellectual trip with acerbic wit, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baby
Baby by Tribes (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews