Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good if you like traditional settings
I've read all three of these books (still waiting for books 4 and 5) and think this one is the best. But unlike the first one, this book does not stand alone. It leaves you hanging and needing to read the next one (Warrior Within) Probably a good thing for the publisher because you have to buy two books instead of just one.
A word on settings. This book and the...
Published on 12 April 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the characters seem to lose there way makeing the story ...
the characters seem to lose there way makeing the story a little disjointed
Published 19 days ago by g wynn-jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good if you like traditional settings, 12 April 2004
By A Customer
I've read all three of these books (still waiting for books 4 and 5) and think this one is the best. But unlike the first one, this book does not stand alone. It leaves you hanging and needing to read the next one (Warrior Within) Probably a good thing for the publisher because you have to buy two books instead of just one.
A word on settings. This book and the others in the series are set in Deva, a kingdom in an alternate reality. There are castles, sorcery, horses, swords, big battles... basically, everything I've come to expect from my fantasy fix. But that might be a problem for some, because their is nothing really new in here. If you like your fantasy set in what is basically a medieval time and place, go for it. I finsished this one in a couple of days and was satisfied with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical journey through Deva, 10 Sep 2003
By A Customer
The Power That Binds continues the story of Julia Morton's arrival in Deva. A year has passed since the events chronicled in The God Decrees, and Julia has settled into her new life with Keverin, but Lord Mortain is now ready to continue his campaign to conquer Deva.
When King Pergann is assassinated by a traitor, Julia and Keverin are summoned to a conclave of Lords to discuss the situation and raise a new king who might then defeat Mortain's ambitions, but upon entering the capital they find traitors and intrigue at almost every turn. With enemies surrounding her, Julia is forced once again to use her magic not to heal, but to kill.
The book shows a much deeper and richer view of Deva and its people. The first book concentrated on Julia and her decisions, this one shows us the consequences of those decisions and how they will likely effect not only her future, but the future of the entire world. The various kingdoms and empires are busy realigning themselves to either ally or oppose Julia and are blind to the threat that the Tamorshin empire poses.
I'm looking forward to the next book called The Warrrior Within. I'm hoping there might be more on the old ones mentioned in the first book and hinted at in the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the characters seem to lose there way makeing the story ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power That Binds: Devan Chronicles 2 (Kindle Edition)
the characters seem to lose there way makeing the story a little disjointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant escapism into a interesting world of colourful characters, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power That Binds: Devan Chronicles 2 (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Was a total escape from everything for a few hours (i had to read it all in one go). I like the plots and the twists and turns. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power That Binds: Devan Chronicles 2 (Kindle Edition)
By now you'll have read book 1 and if your like me you could not put the book down and looked forward to the next reading session. This author has certainly got me by the 'collar'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power That Binds: Devan Chronicles 2 (Kindle Edition)
Sorry but after a so-so first book, this is a clear step down. Some rather tedious, even implausible plotlines are introduced in places and nudged along, but we are hardly given any reason to care what happens. I got the impression that a sort of poor-man's Game of Thrones style was being attempted, but the writing and plotting are too weak for that. I won't be buying more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews