Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles tracks given unique arrangements
Magical Mystery Guitar tour is the follow up to Carlos Bonell's Queen Guitar Rhapsodies.Unlike it's predecessor though the album features purely solo guitar arrangements and forgoes the orchestral accompaniment.
Unlike the Queen album though which mainly sticks to the recognised arrangements of the Queen recordings, this album has some inventive and courageous...
Published on 14 Nov. 2011 by katyskomet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars magical mystery guitar tour
Bit disappointed with this CD Only played it once. Some of the tunes were a bit distorted I thought. Guitar players will love it anyway
Published 13 months ago by peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles tracks given unique arrangements, 14 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
Magical Mystery Guitar tour is the follow up to Carlos Bonell's Queen Guitar Rhapsodies.Unlike it's predecessor though the album features purely solo guitar arrangements and forgoes the orchestral accompaniment.
Unlike the Queen album though which mainly sticks to the recognised arrangements of the Queen recordings, this album has some inventive and courageous arranging by Carlos Bonell where he frequently takes his time to fully unveil which particular Lennon/McCartney or Harrison track is being performed.Most notable in this respect is "Penny Lane" which actually begins with "Kemp's jig" before rolling seamelessly into "Penny Lane"
The two George Harrison numbers here, "Here Comes the Sun" and "Something" are both among the highlights, HCTS because of it's up tempo drive and bravura and "Something" with it's calm and delicate re-harmonisation which acts as the centrepiece of the album.

The album is varied in style and goes from the aforementioned zest of "Here Comes the Sun" through the jazzy humour of "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" and frantic bass of "Eleanor Rigby" to the heavily adapted "Here There and Everywhere" and "Fool on the Hill" closing with the joyful "With a Little Helk from My Friends". For me however the standout tracks are "Strawberry Fields" and "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds".
There are fifteen tracks in all but what Bonell does so well is keep the core of these classic tracks while somehow embelishing them to bring something new to material that has been re-recorded so many times before.I am not a die hard fan of the Beatles but on this album Carlos Bonell certainly brings a refreshing twist to this enduring material which I am sure will be of interest to guitar players and Beatles fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 15 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
I bought this album last week and love it! If you like classical guitar this is a must have album. The arrangements are great and, as the title says, it does take you on a tour through various styles of guitar (not just flamenco as a previous reviewer had noted) and each piece really shows Carlos, who is without doubt one of the best players in the world currently, at his best.
If you play classical guitar you can pick up some great ideas for melodies and themes from listening to this album as it is very inspiring- it helped my playing.
Check out the videos on youtube too- this guy is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just magical, 14 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
Just bought this CD and I love it. A must have for Beatles and classical guitar lovers alike. The arrangements give the songs a new twist and still have the unique Beatles sound. Listen to 'Hear comes the sun' and you know what I mean. Another favourite of mine is 'Strawberry Fields'. There is a clip on youtube if you want to hear and see more. I'll be watching out for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 15 Nov. 2011
By 
DB Greene "Brian" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
I heard a couple of tracks on the radio a couple of months ago and loved the sound. It is a great album and listen to it often whilst working. Not generally my thing, but easy to recommend if you love the Beatles and if you are in the mood for some seriously chilled music. Well worth checking Carlos on the web in general, there are some really nice intimate videos of him playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars magical mystery guitar tour, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
Bit disappointed with this CD Only played it once. Some of the tunes were a bit distorted I thought. Guitar players will love it anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
Very good product and it is easy to use and I would not hesitate to recommend the product to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles by Carlos Bonell, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
For me his interpretation through the classical guitar of these Beatles hit was amazing. It was difficult to understand some relatively unflattering comments I read prior to purchase. How I would love to even begin to emulate the technical prowess and musicality of Carlos Bonell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. Simmons "Phil" (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
Great listen and I will show it to my mates. I sure will buy more like this with no worries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
Played and enjoyed by my Dad. If you like their music, what's not to like? It's brill, fab, groovy man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour (Audio CD)
Bought for my husband he loves the cd - not my thing but he blasts it out of his car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour
Beatles: Magical Mystery Guitar Tour by Carlos Bonell (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews