Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Looking Product Does What It Was Made To Do
I have used this a few times now and it works quite well, very happy with it so far!

I think a couple of reviewers did say that it does require someone with a bit of strength as it can be hard to force the potato through.

Its really easy to clean and makes perfect chips :).

I did find that larger potatos needed slimming down before they...
Published 16 months ago by christoff1512

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak blades
The body is mainly made of metal, so it might be able to last a long time. I can't say the same of the blades though. Just after a couple of uses, one of the blades popped out from the frame and another one is bent badly. I'm sending it back for a refund.

Unfortunately, the alternatives within the price range seem to as bad or worse, many with the body and...
Published 17 months ago by Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Looking Product Does What It Was Made To Do, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
I have used this a few times now and it works quite well, very happy with it so far!

I think a couple of reviewers did say that it does require someone with a bit of strength as it can be hard to force the potato through.

Its really easy to clean and makes perfect chips :).

I did find that larger potatos needed slimming down before they would fit in the tray that slides forward to chip the chips. But all in all most potatos will fit.

Pros

+ Easy to use
+ Easy to clean
+ Perfect chips each time

Cons

- Large potatos need trimming down
- Can require some force to get the potato through the blade.

Conclusion

If you enjoy home cooked chips and want a quick and easy way to cut them into the perfect shape then you definately must get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-made, 25 Feb 2013
By 
James (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
The first thing that struck me that this was a quality product; looks as if it's made to last, which isn't normal these days, unfortunately.

It's easy to use but does require a bit of strength to force the potatoes through.

The only reason for not giving it 5 stars is that it does not accept very long potatoes. (I like long chips)

But apart from that, I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak blades, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
The body is mainly made of metal, so it might be able to last a long time. I can't say the same of the blades though. Just after a couple of uses, one of the blades popped out from the frame and another one is bent badly. I'm sending it back for a refund.

Unfortunately, the alternatives within the price range seem to as bad or worse, many with the body and handle made of plastic.

I don't know why manufactures don't forget about trying to get chips in one go. These things should only have a few parallel blades, instead of a grid. That would reduce friction and also allow for stronger blades to be used, as they would not need to be interweaved. Yeah, you'd have to chip the potatoes in two steps: one to get slices, and again, after turning the slices 90 degrees, to get chips. So twice the movements, but with less force needed and a more durable product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible - went rusty immediately, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
The potato sticks to the chipping blade, and the handle isn't strong enough to unstick it. Plus, the screws are made of mild steel so e item rusted immediately (after hand washing). Avoid. I didn't realise it was possible to make a simple product so badly until I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Size controlled chips, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Ms Linda V. Paton "gardening gal" (Weymouth Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
Delivers what it says on the tin, choice of two thicknesses of chips/fries. At times can require some brute force, though with more practise a better technique may evolve. A little faster to use than just a knife. Would not recommend for those with arthritic hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potato chipper, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
cuts potatoes quite efficiently and neatly, and also cuts fingers with equal efficiency, not the safest product when it comes to cleaning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chippy chips, real quick..., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
Why didn't I get one of these ages ago? Brilliant... Teamed up with the new Philips Airfryer I am in chippy heaven...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars broken after three uses, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
The potato chipper was used only three times and broke apart at the hinge. Obviously the hinge was not strong enough to take a hard object such as a potato. But as it is a POTATO chipper, it should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tala chipper opinion, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
ace product,easy clean ,just what i wanted at the right price, and complete with two different size cutting plates, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tala Potato Chipper with 2 Blades for Making Chips and French Fries (Kitchen & Home)
great and easy to use! makes cutting chips a lot easier and quicker would recommend to anyone with a family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews