Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
A typical James Patterson thriller, fast-paced, action-filled adventure filled with handsome heroes and gorgeous women. Don't get me wrong, that's not a complaint, in fact I read the book in one sitting and thoroughly enjoyed every paragraph, but don't expect a literary masterpiece because you're not going to get one.

If you want to take your brain off the...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by chloeparrot

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming back to form
The Private series is relatively new. It follows the same formula as all James Patterson books, short chapters, easy prose and fast moving action. With each series you are dependent upon the co-author and Mark Pearson seems one of the better ones.

The basic storyline is nothing new: rich girl gets killed, several years later daughter is in danger, (or is...
Published on 25 April 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 16 Jun 2011
A typical James Patterson thriller, fast-paced, action-filled adventure filled with handsome heroes and gorgeous women. Don't get me wrong, that's not a complaint, in fact I read the book in one sitting and thoroughly enjoyed every paragraph, but don't expect a literary masterpiece because you're not going to get one.

If you want to take your brain off the hook for a few hours and visit a world full of beautiful, rich people and nasty villians then this is the book for you.

The story is not overly complicated, but JP's style of writing (short chapters, some no more than 1 page) makes it easy reading and the plot is good enough for the ending not to be too obvious.

I suppose if I had one minor criticism it would be that though the book is set in London, the English characters still speak like Americans i.e. elevator and not lift, but at least JP has done his homework unlike one American author who, much to my annoyance, referred to a £100 note!

Apart from that negligible complaint, JP, as always, is a safe bet and I eagerly wait for his next book to be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming back to form, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private London: (Private 2) (Kindle Edition)
The Private series is relatively new. It follows the same formula as all James Patterson books, short chapters, easy prose and fast moving action. With each series you are dependent upon the co-author and Mark Pearson seems one of the better ones.

The basic storyline is nothing new: rich girl gets killed, several years later daughter is in danger, (or is she?) exclusive detective agency led by rugged, attractive former war hero is engaged to sort it out? But the plot moves swiftly and there are enough plot twists - personal connections, unsure allegiances, regular murders or war stories - to keep the mind engaged.

The main characters are not especially deeply sketched and all are unfeasibly attractive and indestructable but it doesn't really matter. When you read a James Patterson novel you are not going to confuse it with reality

So for a pleasant book you can read in a couple of sessions on the train, or an afternoon on the beach, this is a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just awful, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Private London: (Private 2) (Kindle Edition)
There are so many things wrong with this dreadful, unimaginative book that I barely know where to start, but here goes:

The characters are woefully thin, making any empathy with them impossible. There are constant attempts to impress the reader with pointless materialistic references to how new, shiny and expensive things are, and the plot is risible.

However, by far the most irritating aspect is the entirely american vocabulary used by supposedly british characters. This occurs throughout, and is frequently applied to slang expressions (a woman is described as a "cooze" at one point - a word only heard in the UK when watching the Sopranos). The most toe-curling example is the main character's mental calculation of the cost of something (see pointless materialism, above) which he thinks of in "bucks," as no Londoner has ever done in recorded history.

Note to Messrs Patterson & Pearson: if you can't be bothered to reflect even the basic vernacular of a foreign country, please stick to US-based plots in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was a silly book which was unbelievable. I did read it to the end. I have already sent for Private Berlin, which I now regret. I know these are only stories and not based on real life, but this does stretch the bounds of possibilites I think. I have read loads of James Patterson books and enjoyed many of them, but these collaborations with other authors vary in quality and I won't read any more when there are so many better authors to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could tell from the beggining that this was going to be a good read, and it was. Brilliant story line.Action all the way through,. Although always a bit dubious when James Patterson has a co-writer i was pleasantly suprised by their technique. Look forward to more similar reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Private London, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. Mb Coleman "bookworm1" (Ammanford Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant read yet again from James Patterson, holds your attention, and its not who you think it is (if like me you get an idea of who the nasty is), I have found it difficult to put down long enough to put the washing machine on!! well done Mr Patterson!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 17 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite authors. Reading begins and ends the same evening, showing I am unable to put the book down until I reach the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes! He's back!, 12 Jun 2011
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private London: (Private 2) (Kindle Edition)
James Patterson is back!

He's finally found a co~writer who can really write and the result is an intriguing book with all the twists and turns in the plot that you would have hoped for in an earlier Patterson title.

Having quite enjoyed Private, I gave this book a try and was not disappointed. In fact, I really enjoyed it and found it hard to put down. Although no great work of fiction, there is a lot going on in it and it is the sort of book which is hard to put down.

Highly recommended; particularly for holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't read it if you are English., 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private London: (Private 2) (Kindle Edition)
It's really annoying as it keeps stating the obvious if you are Emglish I think the main audience must be American, I read it on Holiday and had to force myself to finish it so I could go onto something much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dire plot, 26 Aug 2013
By 
D. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cant believe so many people thought this was good. Talk about a dire plot - this would win the gold medal. I have read 30 of JP's books and this is the worst ever. I hope that he drops Mark Pearson the co-writer, whoever he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Private London: (Private 2)
Private London: (Private 2) by James Patterson
£3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews